Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

47 People found this comment helpful

I requested this medication after previous use of synthroid with no alleviation of symptoms. I no longer have to take naps to get through the day, my skin is no longer too dry and my antidepressant med is working better. My menstrual cycle is not as severe as before. It did take several weeks for me to see consistent improvement, but that is to be expected.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

Weight gain, increased and on constant depression, sleep problems and tired most of the time. Been on Med for 3 weeks. Going to get another blood test to see what is going on.

Shared reviews and ratings

reptilian | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/30/2018
Condition: Mild Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Liothyronine works for me. Feel better. No side effects. Good lab results. (so much better than lexothyroxine.) My only complaint is - I'd swear some of the generic versions have little to no active ingredient. I never knkow what I'm going to get. The generics I was given have an actual dosage that is lower than marked. I can feel the difference. I'm back to 2 hour naps and a body that doesnt want to move.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa M | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/30/2018
Condition: Serious Decrease in Thyroid Function
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is a lifesaver! I originally started on t3 alone to augment my depression but it turned out to be my thyroid all along. I now take it in addition to natural dessicated thyroid. To people that have had bad reactions, please note that you may have a cortisol issue and/or iron deficiency and/or other vitamin deficiencies that are made more apparent while stating this medication. Please make sure all your vitamin/minerals are checked along with saliva cortisol to see if they are in good range before starting this medication. I guarantee this will rid you of 98% of all hypo symptoms. I’m no longer extremely fatigued, no deprsssion, no anxiety, no insomnia, no cold, have lost weight and kept it off, no more coldness, hair is full and shiny, eyebrows cake back, etc. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deb | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2017
Condition: Mild Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 5 MCG of Liothyronine and 25MCG of Levothyroxine for my underactive thyroid for 3 months. I have had extreme hair loss, am very fatigued, have had brain fog, stomach bloat and brittle nails. My blood pressure has gone up 20 points. I just had another blood test to check my levels and am waiting for the results. I am not sure if these symptoms are supposed to level out but I feel so much worse since taking this medication. I cannot wait to talk to my doctor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/11/2017
Condition: Mild Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amj | 45-54 | Female | Patient
2/13/2017
Condition: Mild Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's working to a degree. More energy. But I can't sleep and then I feel exhausted in the morning. I have little to no appetite which is good except I almost forget to eat now. Hair loss is out of control. Pulling my hair off of everything and everyone. Not sure sure if the pros are worth the cons. I miss good sleep the most. I could sleep like a baby now it's so hard. ;(

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/22/2016
Condition: Mild Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am gaining weight, loseing hair, can not sleep at night, pressure like a balloon in my chest when walking and feeling bloated. I stopped taking it for a couple weeks but went back on it today because my test results came back and the numbers went the wrong way. Will see my regular dr. Monday and making an appointment with an enterologist for Nov.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/11/2015
Condition: T3 Suppression for Thyroid Function Test
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

allergic , I broke out in hives from head to toe after taking for 12 days! ugg!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kk | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/21/2015
Condition: Thyroid Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just began taking this medication - one week. I had my thyroid removed due to cancer and have been struggling with the T4 meds. I was exhausted, to the point of not being able to function. My joints hurt. Brain fog, and I had heart palpitations. Also struggling with weight issues. My Endo lowered my T4 meds and added 5 mcg of Liothyronine. So far so good. Way more energy - brain fog is much better. I am up a pound, but still hoping that it is not due to the meds. To early to tell. I will continue to update on here. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ParryOtter | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/8/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been on for a month. I take 5 mcg two times a day (around 8am and 3pm) and 175 mcg Synthroid. I skip Sunday's Synthroid rather than having my dose decreased. Synthroid and Vitamin D alone were not doing the trick so I asked the Dr. for this. My free t3 levels were in the normal range but she said yes. So far I have more energy and my mood is much more stable. I am also sleeping like a log and can easily go back to sleep when needed. I don't feel "normal" but I am SO much closer than I have been for the last 4 years. Initial side effects- body aches, a few heart palps and occasional upper chest pressure/sharpness on both sides. This all subsided in about a week and a half. Definitely worth a try!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
moosette6 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/4/2015
Condition: Serious Decrease in Thyroid Function
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has helped a little with my energy level. Having to wait 6 weeks for a retest is the hardest part. I feel it could be increased. No weight loss, in fact I feel more hungry.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
irishkate | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/29/2014
Condition: Mild Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 75 mcg for the past 3 years. No bad side effects at all, in fact I lost 65# in two months. Last July I had to stop it when I was in the hospital. I put back on almost all of the weight. In December I started taking it again, same dose. I lost 15# the first week, then 5# a week thereafter. However, this time I am hot all the time, my blood pressure is up, my pulse is racing, and worst of all, my hair is coming out in hand fulls. BIG hand fulls. My formally very, very thick hair is now thin. I went to my PCP today and the lab results were off the charts. Normal is up to 5.1. Mine was 15.3. My TSH was off the chart negative. He said it barely registered. He told me to immediately cut the dose to 25 mcg and retest blood in 6 weeks. If the count doesn't come down and the side effects disappear, he's going to take me off completely. Which I agree with. I don't understand why I'm having the problems this time. That's my story.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MJones | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/17/2014
Condition: Decreased Thyroid Function existing from Birth
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great to help with energy, have not seen any weight loss since starting. Have had severe high blood pressure since starting this medication though. Going to try to go off of it for a week or two and see if my BP regulates back to normal. If so I'll be staying off this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
angelworld213 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
7/27/2014
Condition: T3 Suppression for Thyroid Function Test
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 66 years and I had been on Synthroid 75mg for 35 years but I always had to take a nap and was depressed and did not have enough energy. My T4 levels were in the normal range but my T3 levels were in the very low normal range and eventually went below normal. I asked my pharmacist what would raise my T3 levels and she suggested liothyronine oral, the generic brand of Cytomel. I have been taking it now for 4 months. I started out taking 1/4 table of a 5MCG tablet each day because I could not take the whole tablet without feeling nervous. After a few months I began taking 1/2 tablet plus 1/4 of a Synthyroid. Today I just took one whole tablet of the liothyronine and will see how I feel. I had been on the Armour thyroid medication also but I didn't feel well on it. Perhaps I was taking too much of that to begin with. I read a doctor's report that older people should start out only taking 1/4 tablet of Armour thyroid. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yogaKate | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/19/2014
Condition: T3 Suppression for Thyroid Function Test
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My thyroid tests were still slightly awry after taking levothyroxin for several years.. I couldn't lose weight but I wasn't overweight either. Since starting this drug 4 months ago,I am incredibly fatigued and my test levels are really messed up. My sleep is easily disrupted and I've noticed my hair and skin are becoming dry. Fortunately, I've never been sensitive to cold. Discussing with my new doctor what to do.. ( she did not prescribe it..)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cricket | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/7/2014
Condition: Serious Decrease in Thyroid Function
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible itching rash on my upper body. Give me the sense everything was going to fast. Hard rate, pulse and BP were increased. Slight feeling I couldn't take a deep breath.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hank2216 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2014
Condition: Mild Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Weight gain, increased and on constant depression, sleep problems and tired most of the time. Been on Med for 3 weeks. Going to get another blood test to see what is going on.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
patternmaker | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/5/2014
Condition: T3 Suppression for Thyroid Function Test
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

headaches, dizziness, palpatations, lack of sleep

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sally1 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/15/2013
Condition: Mild Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with an Underactive Thyroid 20 Years ago!! Going to the doctor because I just couldn't loose weight & was loosing my hair by the bucket full.... I was put on thyroxin, I have yo yoed with weight in all those years loosing 1 stone in total, by taking fat pills, I've put on 4 stones & to date the 4 stones is still here! The tablets are no use whatsoever, I only have 4 hours sleep per night, I've got no appetite, sometimes I have to be told to eat! Hair still falls out, skin dry, constipated, but don't feel the cold! Am just wondering if I actually have got Underactive thyroid at all.. I went for 2 years without taking any tablets at all.. Felt better for it..... Any advice??? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cheryllynn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/3/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not having any experience at all. My psychiatrist gave it to me to help with my concentration and tiredness throughout the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anansi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2013
Condition: Mild Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt great before taking this drug and had no symptoms besides weight gain. Since taking I have rapidly gained 9 more pounds have become fatigued. Feel nausea, have no appetite, having digestive problem and not sleeping well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More