Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

36 People found this comment helpful

I took two tablets per day for several years. Whenever I tried to stop, my heartburn was much worse than when I first started the treatment. I also had a lot of bloating, but did not make the connection. When I started noticing that my hair was thinning considerably, I went on line to find out the causes of hair loss. Imagine my surprise to find that acid inhibitors can cause hair loss. I hav...

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

I have just started. What time of the day should it be taken? morning noon or night

Shared reviews and ratings

Terri | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/23/2020
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Acquired chronic kidney disease after about 10 years of use.would not recommend this.had Helio cobactor pylori bacteria from bad drinking watee until I was a n my 50s

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
XGuilt | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/26/2018
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken 14-day doses for years but have been on it continuously for months now. It eliminates my swallowing problem, but have just developed very dry mouth and throat. Manufacturer told me the 14-day advertised limit is only because that's the extent of its clininical trials. My doctor advises 'permanent' dosing no problem. We'll see, as eliminating swallowing problem is worth some side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Webmd | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/18/2017
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/9/2017
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for 20 years. Everything gives me heartburn and indigestion, even water. It starts to work on me within 30 minutes, unlike what the commercials say.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DRL | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/3/2017
Condition: Inflammation of the Stomach Lining caused by H. Pylori
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking it for nearly two weeks for gastritis caused by a stomach flu... It's slowly getting better but that's the key word: slow. I can FEEL a mild improvement but some days its almost gone and some days I m back to square one. Hopefully by the month they told me to take it for it'll be better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Honeybunny | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/9/2017
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have GERD and a hiatal hernia, Prilosec worked very well and I could eat or drink anything. After a year or so, I developed muscle spasams in my legs. After a couple months of the spasams I read that Prilosec could cause these, when I stopped taking the Prilosec the spasams eventually went away. I now only drink water and are trying to eat things that do not bother me which is very limited and a huge challenge, but when needed I take either a Galviscon or Pepcid AC which does help. Sleeping on a wedge pillow is also helpful. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lori | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/1/2016
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Until recently I have developed continual diareah, Been on it for 6 months and in the last month I have lost 15 pounds and no matter what I eat comes out??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
blueskys | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/19/2016
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taking 20 mg. of Prilosec when needed for the past 6 months. (no more than than 15 in a month. Dr. increased to 40 mg/day, took for 2 weeks. Had headache every day and lump feeling in throat. By the end of 2 weeks, felt someone was choking me, throat was swelling. Also my Gerd symptoms got much worse. Couldn't eat or drink anything without getting phlegm with bubbles in my mouth.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jake | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/18/2015
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Heartburn
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2015
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Heartburn
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just started. What time of the day should it be taken? morning noon or night

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2014
Condition: Stomach Ulcer from Aspirin or Ibuprofen-Like Drugs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I always wondered what heart burn felt like and boy is it painful! I'm 26 years old and have never dealt with this. I've been feeling mildly the past three days pain and finally realized omg it's from all those NSAIDS I've been taking. This week my menstrual cramps have been so terrible I've been in tears! So I've been taking ibuprofen 800mg to help. When I realized the drugs were causing this i stopped taking them! Today I have had the most painful heartburn. I've seen people with heart burn but not hunched over in pain like me. Ginger ale has been helping me especially all week but today it was so severe that wasn't enough to make it go away. I took Roland's helped a little. Then to PRILOSEC! A miracle. It states it can take 1-4 days to show results. I got my results immediately! And have been pain free since I took it. I hope it last the full 24 hours! How I feel I'm sure it will. This is a miracle.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/3/2014
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have been prescribed this med for over 5 years. Does not help me anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
liesle | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more |
5/25/2014
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had severe severe barrets esphogas, 8 - 10 endoscapy with oblation and am no barrets cell free. I still take 40 mg twice a day. Is it safe?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bethy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Prilosec for a chronic cough, which developed into atelectasis. I have a tremor and have difficulty writing. Is there a substitute????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maquis | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/2/2014
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my first episode of acid reflux due to another drug I was taking for Cholesterol, Lipitor. I stopped Lipitor and started taking Prilosec, as I felt I had something stuck in my throat and was swallowing a lot, became gasey and had burps and hiccups. After taking omeprazole for two days, the acid reflux symtoms went away but the prescription was for 14 days, so I continued taking the drug. After 5 days, my hands feet lips and tongue were swollen. I stopped taking the omeprazole and on day two of no drug, my lips and tongue swelling have gone down but my hands and feet are swollen and itch like crazy. I am hoping that in the next day or so, off the drug, my hands and feet will go back to normal. My acid reflux has not returned.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
egginn | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more |
11/28/2013
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for ten years 1 pill per day also, possible Gerd. This works for me, but wonder how long can one take the medication safely.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sczyfi | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/6/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hospitalized with interstitial nephritis

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
red | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/18/2013
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have severe heartburn, since i have no medical insurance my dr has had me take 2 prilosec in am 2 in pm until medicare kicks in. he says 2 prilosec are equal to 1 nexium minus one molecule, so far so good and have been doing this for years!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynne | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/28/2013
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Heartburn
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused blurred vision and headache!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
missy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/14/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill has saved me from daily bouts of heartburn, nausea, vomiting. But I have recently been diagnosed with Osteoporosis. I don't know if it is from taking Prilosec as I have been told by a relative, happens when taking the pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More