Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

87 People found this comment helpful

In general, this was an easy to use and effective treatment. Although it goes in as a clear gel, I did notice some white cream-like residue when I wiped in the mornings and throughout the day following the bedtime treatment. Surprisingly, I did not experience a lot of moisture and drainage from the gel during the day, but I did wear a mini pad for general protection during the treatment.

Most voted negative review

17 People found this comment helpful

I have been dealing with reaccurrant BV for over a decade. The BV starts after having a new sex partner or your partner being a lady. One thing I know for sure is the pills are better but taste terrible and takes your taste buds and flips them and thereâ??s a metallic after taste. The gel on the other hand is more irritating and completely wipes out good vaginal flora so your left with a nasty yea...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | Patient
1/9/2022
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Oh my goodness…can’t even begin to describe how terrible this medication has made me feel. My NP prescribed this and diflucan to treat my BV and yeast infection (I took the diflucan first and then started this one). The first couple of days were fine and I had no side effects. By day 3, I had extreme nausea, a rapid heart rate (Even the slightest movements would cause my rate to jump up to almost 115) and acid reflux symptoms (I ended up feeling a burning sensation/heavy feeling throughout my chest, esophagus, and stomach). I also had difficulty breathing— I was so scared I was having a heart attack. I’ve also been lightheaded and having a hard time falling asleep because of how anxious I’ve been. The other night I was up until 5 am because I couldn’t fall asleep laying down, the burning was too much to handle. Thankfully my dad is a nurse and told me I was fine—but the whole experience has been traumatic. I’ve never had a reaction like this to ANY type of medication—I had one treatment left but couldn’t bring myself to take it because of how insufferable my symptoms have been. And now on top of everything else I’m almost 99% positive I have a yeast infection AGAIN after I just got done treating it. It just feels like a constant cycle that I’m not able to win. I will be calling my NP to see what else I can do, but I can promise I won’t be trying the pill form of this medication either (I’ve heard that people have a hard time with that one too). I will say the gel was easy to use, and it seems to have cleared up the BV symptoms for the most part. But like I said, it’s not worth it with everything I’ve experienced and it causing another yeast infection. Please warn your family and friends about the side effects of this medication!!!!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ari2000 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/2/2021
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this 1 time and because of how severe my symptoms are, my doc said to stop taking it. When I woke up the next day, I couldn't walk, I was extremely dizzy and nauseous the whole day. Even just laying down I was dizzy. Wish it worked well for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chu chu | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/23/2021
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from reoccurring bv and yeast infections. One day it became very itchy extremely. I went to a new obgyn because my doctor was booked out all the way until next year. She diagnosed me with bv which had no smell it was just very very itchy. So she asked if i wanted to try a gel i take 5 days nighly, My previous treatments has been the pill (which is very nasty, but no taste if you take it with yogurt) 2 times a day for 7 days works wonders. The cream (very messy, but worth it) nightly supository for 7 days, symptoms gone within the first use. So i agreed to try the gel. The first night i noticed burning sensation after i inserted my first tube, in the morning there were fat chunks of white stuff in my underwear, my symptoms was still there very much itchy. The 2nd night i noticed my lips were tingly and i look in the mirror and there all swollen so i take some benadryl. In the morning my tounge had swoll up too. So i look up this medication and i read all the reviews and they’re mostly good and some bad reviews but all the bad reviews were all saying the same thing. I have very sensitive Skin and they were saying that the ingredients ised to make this product are harsh. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lees | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2021
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Personally this gwl seemed to be easy and painless to administer, BUT my only thing is that I put the applicator in as far as I could, without it being uncomfortable, and after I lay down for bed about 20 mins go by and it starts to seep/leak out. I feel like I've looked online to see how common it is for it to leak out after using and im not seeing anything! I want to know if I'm still getting the use out of it?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
InfoGirl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/1/2021
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would recommend this gel over the pills. I’ve had reoccurring BV for about 2 years. It happens around the end of my periods every couple months. The gel is actually a smooth feeling if taken correctly and has little to no side effects. Make sure to shower at night then insert gel before bed. The following day a panty liner is necessary because a little bit of the gel will leak throughout the day. The Pills made me nauseas and dizzy and even when you swallow, skipping your tongue, you taste the horrible metallic taste. The clumpy discharge is because the medicine cleaned out also the good bacteria so YES LADIES YOU HAVE A YEAST INFECTION DO NOT IGNORE. It’s Normal to happen when all bacteria is stripped, But not normal enough to ignore. I was prescribed fluconazole also For the yeast infection that I will be receiving after the metroGel. I’m shocked your Gynecologists haven’t prescribed them both together KNOWING This medicine Strips everything. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2021
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am not yet done with this medication but can share my experience so far. I just got bv for the first time. my symptoms were itchy, swollen and just overall pain. I also noticed a cyst like bump that they thought was a bartholin cyst. After.a week of symptoms getting worse and I started to notice a smell and discharge I went in for an appointment. At time of apppointment I also ran a fever of 100.2. Results were consistent with bv and i was given the 5 day metro gel at bed time. The first 3 nights I felt cramping and just overall uncomfortable. I am now on day 5 of the gel and I have noticed the white chunky discharge which my dr told me is normal and to not worry. They told me it may last a few days after my last dose. I am no longer swollen but am extremely tired and crampy. my boobs are also tender... but I am also expecting my period any day now. I do not have any yeast symptoms although I am more prone to these. I was given medication just incase. I also started a probiotic which was recommended to help balance my bacteria to help prevent further bv. I also try to eat one yogurt everyday to help prevent yeast infections. After treatment is almost done my bump is also almost completely gone. fingers crossed it stays away. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous2319 | 19-24 | Female | Patient
7/7/2021
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had BV maybe 3x in my life. I’m 24 with 1 kid and while it’s a natural thing, it makes you feel grody. I was prescribed Falgyl the very 1st time I got BV at 15. I violently threw up due to the taste and didn’t finish the treatment.. thankfully it went away on its own that time. The 2nd time was after the birth of my child, which I was prescribed the gel. The BV went away with the treatment and because I was still healing from the birth, I was bleeding so I didn’t have any chunky discharge. Now this 3rd time, I was prescribed the gel again after telling them I can’t do pills and so far, the only side affects I’ve noticed is that I can taste the medication (yes, even though it’s inserted thru the vagina) ONLY if I don’t eat right before or during the medication AND the white, chunky discharge. I no longer have the odor or anything negative like that. I don’t seem to have a yeast infection (which are recurrent for me) and my vagina is extremely sensitive. All in all, if you can stomach those pills, more power to you and good luck! But I’d suggest the gel before anything. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Becca | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2021
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had no problem with this medication. I was surprised it wasn’t painful or I had no burning sensation. I’ve used OTC for yeast infections before and it was so painful it felt like something was eating my insides. With this medication I was skeptical but it was so gentle no pain or burning. I would definitely recommend this medication. Like the other reviews I did had some discharge.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Im | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/17/2020
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this as a stronger method to clear up bv after testing positive results, the treatment is 5 nights inserting gel into vagina with the provided inserts, easy to use and follow instructions, Iâ??ve had some deep abdominal pain but I suspect this may not be linked to the treatment, however bad smell disappears after first treatment. I have had thick clumpy discharge whilst running the 5 day course, advised you must use at night otherwise clumpy white discharge will leak out of vagina with the gel, well worth using, good treatment, not sure how safe it is though. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2020
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for bacterial vaginitis. I was skeptical after reading reviews and am very sensitive to most medications. I had no side effects but not sure yet if it got rid of the infection. Just happy I had no side effects as I had terrible side effect from Flagyl pill and had to stop it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2020
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was really nervous to use the medication because of all the other reviews on it. But now I am very glad I did use it. I had some slight cramping and the white chunky discharge after but that's it. It took away the smell on the first day. And all my other symptoms cleared up by the time I was finished the 5 days. I am so so so thankful for this medication. The pills did nothing but make me sick. I would definitely use this again if I had to.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Britt | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/20/2019
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Okay so it worked fine. However, on the last night I made the mistake of having sex and thank goodness it was someone I have been with for years because the white discharge that came out was chunky and smelly and it was a lot. I was very grossed out. After reading these comments I see that it is normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ylaracuente | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/12/2019
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used for 5 days as recommended , the bacteria is gone. this happens two years a go, I haven't go it back since then.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/8/2019
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

went for a routine female exam, 47 was told I have BV no symptoms,anyway, I took two doses of the insert and I have pain way inside, disgusting white clumpy discharge, and at times tons of white and clear when I go to the bathroom,feeling nauseous. This medication is dangerous after reading different studies and talking to my obgyn who did not prescribe it was my family doctor, there are safe and effective ways to treat, this medication is sooooo bad, targeting women when none of the harsh chemicals are needed. Shame on the manufacturer and I talked to other women who had no symptoms either but were told that they had BV, it's a pharmaciutical companies giving kickbacks to labs and doctors.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drowzy | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/10/2019
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 5 yrs menopausal .went for pap because of yellow sticky, no smell discharge. I had the 5 day treatment. Had chills, flushing, very fatigued, breast pain. Cramping...mild. after 5th day discharge was clear, slimy,a lot of it. 2nd day after, yellowish tinge. 3rd,4th and 5th day thick, clumpy,no smell,clear,light yellow, moderate itching, feel have to urinate constantly, but nothing there. achyness around vaginal area and above the public bone area . very sore when even gently wiping after peeing. Tenderness to sit or walk in vag,area. Fatigue still. Depressed mood constant from 2nd day of treatment til now even 5 days later. Suspect yeast infection. Calling my doctor tomorrow. I'm feeling not so well having all these symptoms. Their very uncomfortable.I was advised during treatment too not use my cerve,lotion or my topical antibiotic for acne. I also avoided using my deoderant, and used baby shampoo instead of my usual and conditioner. All containing forms of alcohol or propylene glycol . I was stressed about getting any bad side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Md2 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/8/2019
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tend to have BV after my period and once I take this product im fine. This has worked the best for me after trying many other drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Need_advice04 | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2019
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first time getting bv and Iâ??m struggling with this gel. Before I knew I had bv I thought it may have been a yeast infection since Iâ??ve had that once so I took monistat. A week later I got the discharge and odor back but without the itching and irritation. I go get checked out at the doctor and they told me I had bv and prescribed the gel Iâ??ve used it for 5 days every night as recommended and for a few days after the discharge stopped but now then came back along with the odor. I then got another monistat treatment since I had read the gel causes yeast infections. It stopped the symptoms for about a week now right back to the discharge and odor I even used the gel a few more days and i still have that nasty smell and discharge I have no idea what I should do Iâ??m thinking Iâ??d better try the pill. Iâ??ve been with the same person for 5 years havenâ??t changed partners not sure why it keeps coming back !Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
QueenK | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2019
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been dealing with reaccurrant BV for over a decade. The BV starts after having a new sex partner or your partner being a lady. One thing I know for sure is the pills are better but taste terrible and takes your taste buds and flips them and thereâ??s a metallic after taste. The gel on the other hand is more irritating and completely wipes out good vaginal flora so your left with a nasty yeast infection. Also, my doctor told me to use when needed without using the full daily dose and that seems ineffective. My biggest concern about this gel is the paraben preservatives added. The vagina is a mucous membrane that quickly absorbs anything inserted. I found boric acid to be affective but also irritating with long use. This bacteria imbalance is monstrous and will have you thinking you have a STD! The only prevention is a monogamous relationship or condoms because somewhere in the circle where you have 4 people having sex basically together(man,woman,man,woman) or a cheating spouse or boyfriend; the vagina will not be happy. So, I hope this helps somebody understand why it happens and how to prevent it. Homemade suppositories help if used immediately after sex.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JOURNEY | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/12/2019
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It seemed to work for the BV but two days after a heavy cottage cheese like discharge that is extremely uncomfortable and annoying. Gets rid of the BV only to turn around and give you a yeast infection that requires more treatment so the 5days turns to 7-8 days waiting for it to clear. It is effective but its like trading one evil for another. Clindamycin def works a lot better HIGHLY RECOMEND but who has almost $200 laying around

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cmp8191 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/12/2019
Condition: Vaginosis caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

About a month ago, I started experiencing pain in my ovaries and pelvic area. Couldn't get in to my gyno for about a week, so I went to urgent care-it was BV and it was pretty bad. I was first prescribed Metronidazole pill, took the full dose and did it religiously. After about 2 days, I was feeling better, but made sure to finish the prescription as directed. Did not have sex, nothing. After the 4th or 5th day, the pain started again. I didn't have the discharge like other people reported, so I went back to the doctor and I still had bv. She prescribed me metro gel and I used as directed for the full time. I'm about 4 days past my last use, and I'm still experiencing pain. I've been taking Oregano oil for yeast, just in case (this has been a miracle solution for my recurring yeast infections-haven't had one for over a year since I started those). I have no idea what's going on, and I'm so beyond frustrated. I also have no visible discharge in my underwear at the end of the day like I normally would. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More