Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

31 People found this comment helpful

I have lost 5 pounds in two weeks and notice an over-all (needed) calmness, not jittery or excitability which has been an added bonus. This may need to be looked at for other methods of treatment, not just weight loss.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I eat in response to stress. This has caused me to feel stressful. My doctor recommended that I cut the pill in half and take it twice a day. I have gained weight and developed TMJ.

Shared reviews and ratings

BW | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2021
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 3 days and have lost 7.3lbs. I have followed a low carb, low fat, reduced dairy diet. Other than that, my routine has not changed. I had headaches for the first two days and a little sleeplessness, however I am not jittery at all. No other side effects so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/12/2020
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using diethylpropion for a while now and have had a lot of success with it! The only problem I have had with it is that I have slight constipation. I try to remember to drink lots of water and eat a lot of fiber though. I noticed some of you mentioned getting headaches. That probably is from dehydration I think.. Good luck to all of you out there trying to lose weight. It's hard but you can do it if you keep your good habits going after you stop taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Very Satisfied | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/15/2019
Condition: Weight Gain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this med for a few years. I started out taking it 5 days a week for about 6 months and I lost 30 lbs. Since then I weigh daily, try to eat healthy and exercise. If I gain a few pounds Iâ??ll start back on the med until I get back to my goal. I take it in the mornings before 10AM, if I forget and have not taken it by then I skip that day, otherwise I would have trouble sleeping. I only work two days a week 12-14 hr shifts, and do not take it on days that I work. At work I am usually very busy and a little stressed, I found that if I took it when at work I was a little jittery. It keeps my energy level up and decreases my appetite, I do get hungry and eat but I fill up faster. If I do get hungry in the evenings I try to eat a small snack that is low calorie (100 or less) and high fiber. Very happy with it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/8/2019
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken a very low dose (25mg) in morning and have had increased energy, less depression and lost 20 lbs. I have had depression for years, gaining weight during that time. Question is...do they use this med to treat depression? For me, it has helped more than any antidepressant I’ve ever tried!?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/16/2019
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug for 2 1/2 weeks and lost 7lbs. Really stops me snacking as much. You can still snack but certainly not as much as before. I am able to eat much smaller food portions too which is helpful. Only downfall is I can�t pop lol, when on the tablet but before you take the next tablet you can lol. Seems to work well I have still smacked and had a meal out once a week as a treat. But this pill makes you think differently which helps with weight loss. Good luck

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tcraw | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
1/25/2019
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have only been taking 75mg for 1 week. I do notice I'm not snacking and am eating less. I have high blood pressure so this med was recommended. I have noticed a few side effects: insomnia, so I take it early in morning, dry mouth, I drink a lot of water, I noticed I have a cough, which I was going to ask the doctor about, I've also been having a ringing in my ears I notice at night when I lay down.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thickvixxen | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/21/2017
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Dr prescribed this for me last year I was Hesitant to take the first Rx written for me and let the Rx expire. Went to Dr office Monday He asked me to try it again and give it a chance. I agreed. This is Day 2, What I have noticed is it does give me a boost of energy and I don't excessively eat and munch as much. I had to make myself eat. It was hard to complete the small portions....Only side effect is Dry Mouth and insomnia...Hopefully the insomnia will go away.. Looking forward to good results Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tysons | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/9/2017
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking 75mg once daily. Have lost 15 lbs in three months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sugar | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/3/2016
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor lets me keep my prescription filled and has for 20yrs. I am 62yrs. old. I use it around special occasions and holidays to help curb my appetite. It helps me maintain a consistent weight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chris3282 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/25/2015
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took only 25mg once per day and had increased energy, more focus and decreased appetite. My only complaint was that I lost sleep. I would get sleepy on time, but be wide awake within 5 or 6 hours. As a temporary treatment, the lack of sleep was worth the benefit. I lost almost 20 lbs in 2 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allie423 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/28/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been taking this medication for about a week. I am also limiting my calorie intake to 1200-1400 per day (tracking on MFP) and getting at least 30 mins of cardio each day. I am incredibly sensitive to medication. I tried phentermine, but even half of a 37.5mg pill was too much for my system. I couldn't sleep and by the fifth night, I thought I was going to lose my mind. Right now, I am limiting myself to one 25mg tab per day. I take it after breakfast and 30 minutes before my morning protein snack shake. If I take more, I get nauseous (like morning sickness). I do notice that it does curb my appetite a bit. I still get hungry, but am satisfied with less food at meal time and the craving for sweets is a bit diminished. It helps to keep that stuff OUT of the house. I also have dry mouth. I only have about 25 lbs to lose and have lost almost three pounds since starting the pill. I have never had an issue losing weight until middle age---and being menopausal. I really think the calorie limitation and exercise are the key to long lasting weight loss. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pw | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/20/2014
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug for 6 momths back in 1986. I lost 40 lbs. I felt great. I had more energy than I ever had in my life. I looked and felt fabulous. The moment I stopped taking the drug I began putting the weight back on. I not only put the 40 lbs back on ,but put on an additional 20 lbs. works wonders while on it. Awful let down when you stop taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/17/2014
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this pill for 6 months and have lost 50lbs. No side effects. Helps me make wise choices when it comes to eating. But how long can I continue with this diet pill? Has anyone taken it more than a year straight?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ABooker | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
7/31/2013
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take one 75mg pill per day. It gives me extra energy, suppress my appetite and helped me lose 35lbs in 4 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
7/18/2013
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bumper | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/18/2013
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for 3 months and have lost 40lbs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm taking this to help with my asthma. The great side effect for me is the weight loss. I started this brand on Thursday Here it is Saturday morning lost 5.4 lbs. and I can breath fine in this humid weather. I don't have all the bad side effect because I'm use to caffeine (Cola soda/coffee black). That the problem for most people They're not use to the feeling(like drinking Red Bull). If you eat a good diet and walk around ,you should get The result you want. Then again if this is your last resort for dieting maybe it's you. Just maybe.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
golfer | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2012
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this drug for about 6 weeks along with a protein diet and exercise. I have only lost 5 lbs and now I have an extreme sensitivity to sunlight (outbreak of severe hives covering 60% of my body.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
greatful | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
4/24/2012
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medicine has realy helped alot i have tried many over the counter diet pills with no results

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
overweight | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/13/2011
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking tenuate several years ago under a doctors supervison. I lost 75 lbs the first year. Once I stopped taking the pills I gained even more weight , developed colitis, high blood pressure, vision problems ,and excessive weight gain . I stayed off the med for aprox 2 yrs. Frustrated with the 100 lbs I had gained back I began taking tenuate once again. However this timeI broke out in hives all over my body , my throat was swollen and itchy . I went to an emergency clinic I was having severe allergic reaction to the tenuate. Currently I am still 100lbs over weight and have several medical conditions all from this diet pill . I have tried countless efforts to loose the weight but have been unsucessful. I do not recommend this diet pill to anyone . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More