Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

9 People found this comment helpful

Suffer from constant anxiety and panic attacks. 1mg 3 times a day - eliminates fear component. Am able to think and function clearly although more drowsey and slow. Helps me to relax after a bad set of nightmares. Yes it does get addictive - been on it 1 year. Have to come off very slowly otherwise tremors and severe agitation - nothing I was not warned about!

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

made me disorientated, confused and combative. I thought I was a child again and went a through confusing time. I became very paranoid with the care I received in the hospital. I will not have it given to me again!

Shared reviews and ratings

Stephanie | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/11/2017
Condition: Symptoms from Alcohol Withdrawal
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unexecusiable reaction, hallucinations and being restrained and put in Psyc Care Unit at Fairfax Hospital. Did not know who I was, where I was and needed a walker and nurse to assist. 47 female with Adenomyosis, and drink too much. Adenomyosis is the reason for this visit. Extreme abdominal pain and bleeding. Because I am a heavy drinker, they CHOSE to treat that. This drug NEVER should have been part of their protocol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
11/5/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication caused severe side effects. Severely sleepy, agitation, confusion. It was given in the ER.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
caregiver | 45-54 | Male | Patient
4/19/2012
Condition: Calming of Intubated Patient by Administration of Sedative
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug caused extreme sweating, belligerence, extreme anxiety, and the more injections they gave to calm him down, the worse he got until he had a cardiac arrest.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ERIN | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/10/2011
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was in the ER due to extreme abdomen pain from colon and bowels, as I suffer from severe irritable bowel syndrome. I was so badly in pain, that I was hyperventilating and my hands were numbing up and tingling. The ER dr had the nurse give 2 doses of Ativan in my IV, and after about 5 mins or so, I begain to calm down. (IT DOES NOT TAKE PAIN AWAY, BUT JUST CALMS YOU SO THEY CAN SEE HOW MUCH PAIN RELIEF MEDS TO GIVE YOU). My breathing slowed, and my hands resumed normal feelings. I was then given a dose of Dilaudid for pain. The fact that they had to do 2 doses is because I was severly freaking out over the pain. Maybe others require less Ativan, nonetheless, effective enough. Made me want to go to sleep and had blurred vision as well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rcarp_smrl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/13/2011
Condition: Calming of Intubated Patient by Administration of Sedative
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was perscribed this medicine after a serious automobile accident where he was on a ventilator for 7 days. Once the ventilator was removed the doctor continued using this drug. My husband began telling me about his hallucinations, and I realized that whenever he would be injected with the drug in his IV he would begin to hallucinate, become confused and agitated, and forget where he was and why he was in the hospital. After 3 more days he refused the drug. The hallucinations, confusion and agitation went away. This is a serious drug and the side effects should be carefully monitored. Caregivers be aware of the side effects and monitor your loved ones carefully while on this drug. A patient exhibiting hallucinations, severe agitation, confusion and forgetfulness should IMMEDIATELY stop this medicine! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
darlene | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this drug by hospital after car accident, had no care giver, wore medical alert necklace, ignored. lost 2 and half days very bad drug ,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
countrygirl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2011
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given an injection of this medicine for anxiety. I was having a major panic attack due to a different medication. This put me at ease and I was able to sleep off the anxiety. All in all it worked great for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2010
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not work as prescribed by dR

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
berryj | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2009
Condition: Additional Local Anesthesia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel this drug as any drug reacts differenly with each person. I recently had a Lower Lumbar puncture and I can not stand needles..I was so relaxed i didnt even know what they where doing! Which was great for me!! I did not experience any of the horrible side effects that many of these reviews are stating. I was diagnosis with pneumonia and now when i really think about it this drug helped calm my breathing also. So once again I feel each person reacts differently to drugs but for me this was a great choice!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
UK Patient | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/19/2009
Condition: Additional Medication for Calming
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Suffer from constant anxiety and panic attacks. 1mg 3 times a day - eliminates fear component. Am able to think and function clearly although more drowsey and slow. Helps me to relax after a bad set of nightmares. Yes it does get addictive - been on it 1 year. Have to come off very slowly otherwise tremors and severe agitation - nothing I was not warned about!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mother nature | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/26/2009
Condition: Delirium
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this medication was given to my mother, 87 year old while in a state of confusion and paranoia. she was given one dose on a thursday and a friday. on saturday we went into unconsciousness when attempting to walk and has been in and out of awareness since. today is sunday and she is still knocked out! very dangerous medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HOWLANDS | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
3/13/2009
Condition: Additional Medication for Calming
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

very good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vonte | 7-12 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/14/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If the hospital offer this drug to your child do not take it! My 8 year old had a servere reaction, he immediatly began to have hallusenations, his eyes began to roll to the back of his head, his pain increased, he saw himself jumping out of the window on the eigth floor, his head was hurting him and his pain caused him to screamed along with the fear his hallusenations caused. Do not let them give you or your child this drug, please.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
billsdaughter2 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/22/2008
Condition: Calming of Intubated Patient by Administration of Sedative
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 88 year old father was given 2 mg of ativan to calm him to ensure that he could rest and not pull a feeding tube out of his nose. He suffers from vascular (tia's) disease and it took him 4 days before he was responsive again. Now his age, history of vascular disease and an underlying infection may have very well contributed to his lethargy, however in hindsight I think our family should have discussed another alternative. It takes the elderly a long time to recover from sedatives especially if there are other complications being treated.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/7/2008
Condition: Calming of Intubated Patient by Administration of Sedative
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I stopped breathing, had to be on ventilator for 4 days - I will forever refuse this drug, wear a tag, and have it on my medical records

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
natiebear | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2008
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have bad panic attacks to the point i feel like im going to die. I went to the ER thinking i was going to die. They gave me a shot in my IV and i only remember a few stupid things i asked the nurse. I loved this drug and would get it again if i had that bad of an attack. The only thig is you say really embassing things and can't remember much for about a good 6 hours for me anyway. I would recomend this for panic attacks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fear surgery | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/25/2008
Condition: Additional Agent to Induce General Anesthesia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great for relaxing you before a surgery. usually 4 mg into iv.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
noni | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
8/28/2008
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Disatified | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2008
Condition: Additional Agent to Induce General Anesthesia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

made me disorientated, confused and combative. I thought I was a child again and went a through confusing time. I became very paranoid with the care I received in the hospital. I will not have it given to me again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cherrywood59 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/9/2008
Condition: Symptoms from Alcohol Withdrawal
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was actually a "heroin" wthdrawl; not alcohol withdrawl symptoms. It took the person completely out of their misery (flipping, flopping, kicking legs & arms, muscles cramping and balling up, severe pain & agitation). They were then able to sleep and not destroy their room, possessions, or self because of extreme withdrawls where you don't know what you're doing because you're in such pain and agony and your body is literaly flipping out. You must have relief for that kind of withdrawls and Ativan seemed to be the drug that gave this person the much-needed relief.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More