Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

114 People found this comment helpful

I took 80mg Lipitor once a day for 6 months and then the doctor reduced it to 40mg. At around 4 month into taking Lipitor muscle pain developed in my calves. It is difficult to go down stairs, and my calves ache most of the time. A month ago, started taking 300mg CoQ10 daily (after reading that it is a good supplement for people to take who experience muscle pain from statin drugs) and the musc...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

My wife took atorvastatin for two years, and stopped about two months ago due to muscle pain in her knees. Perhaps coincidentally, she had developed an increasing sensitivity to gluten which gave her consistent stomach problems whenever she ate a gluten-containing product. Since she stopped taking the atorvastatin (with no other changes to her medicines or diet), she can now eat gluten. This chang...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anon | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/4/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nosebleed. First time in my life I’ve ever had my nosebleed and started after being on this drug one month. Headache and muscle aches. Insomnia and vivid dreams. It’s a devil drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/24/2022
Condition: Stroke Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Atorvastatin for years, I'm now 71. After reading the adverse side effects and learning that these statin drugs DO NOT prevent heart attacks!!!! But they do cause many problems for the body, including liver damage..........I lost my mother and twin from liver cancer. I threw these drugs in the garbage. Please do your research on these killer drugs!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Atorvastatin | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
3/20/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was told he had to wait 4 weeks for an urgent CT scan and thought he had liver cancer. Went to A & E today as he felt so I’ll. After a CT scan and numerous tests he’s just been told that these statins are the culprit. He is having another CT scan now (today) to see how much damage they have caused to his liver. Orange pee with blood, fatigue and feeling very poorly. THROW THEM AWAY!!!!! He is 70

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/12/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking it for 2 years now and no side effects and my cholesterol level went from high to low

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/20/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On 20 my atorvastatin for 3 weeks. 2 trips to ED. Stopped taking meds now for 2 days. Major headaches, tinnitus and echo feeling in ears. Bloated and pain in right hip. After 2 days ears much better but still bloated. Got the impression ED and GP think I am making this up and being hypochondriac! Well looking at these reviews I am not the only one!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A Brown | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/10/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

put on 80mg of Atorvastatin a week later started itching 2 weeks later stopped taking them now three weeks and want to rip my skin off please please please somebody tell me what I can take to stop this i'm at my wits end my doctor put me on Fexolenadine 180mg but there doing sod all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2022
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Heart Attack
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed Atorvastatin due to having high cholesterol levels and previously had heart attack at 51. They caused severe pain in joints and muscles which is a known side effect. Felt like I was trapped in a 80 year olds body. Awful every morning every joint in my body hurt. Was advised by GP to stop taking

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caskski | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/14/2021
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Heart Attack
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Anyone get a feeling of tightening in the throat Almost like a angina but i can take a few Tylenols and walk and the feeling seems to subside. Exercise doesn't make it worse. I know i might have muscle damage. Heart attack on oct 17th. Stress test on Wednesday of this week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Atorvastatin | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/7/2021
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gave someone i know type 2 diabetes which caused peripheral neuropathy and then death, the oerson was constantly restless and reported severally to doctors who didnt see reason to withdrawal patient nasty drugs and doctors who know they wont monitor their patients for side effects shouldnt be allowed to prescribe such horrible drugs to patients when there are better options, the increased triglyceride was caused as a result of overdose on some other drugs instead of withdrawal and monitoring before prescribing such a hugh risk drug doctor with no explanation to his patient gave this drug without taking notes of patients complains. Send the patient home multiple times and on some occasions told nurses to inform patient he wasnt available patient died shortly. It should be withdrawn from the counters. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FTE | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/25/2021
Condition: Slow Progression of Disease of the Arteries of the Heart
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have arteriosclerosis but low cholesterol. This drug has produced extremely low lipids and side effects that the doctor ignores. Started at 80mg dose and my hands felt like they were burning. Cut to 40mg, still problems with memory, brain fog, balance, numb hands. I cut it to 20mg, and still having same side effects. Doctor wants to move it back to 80mg and refuses to do anything else. Time for a new cardiologist,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Érica | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
9/7/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PLEASE DO NOT TAKE THIS MEDICATION, have doctor change it , it will mess your liver and kidney, my friend needed dialysis. She passed away last year! Some doctors don’t care !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mar | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/4/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I ceased taking 10mg generic atorvastatin after 24 days. A bit over a week into taking it I had a never before experienced spasm almost like a semi-paralysis/extreme muscle weakness, travel down both legs to my feet. The spasm passed, and I attributed it to possibly the result of a poor sleeping posture. Then a few days later it happened twice again . . .same scenario. I also now was left with a lingering feeling of weak muscles in my thighs and mild pain in both buttocks. At this point it occurred to me to look up possible statin side effects. This confirmed my spasms were in some way connected to the statin, and I immediately stopped. My doctor agreed. I am convinced my reaction was Statin Induced Piriformis Myopathy/Syndrome. I had used "Lipitor" over ten years ago, and took COQ10 too, with no side effects at all. So, I assumed beginning again would be no different. I am now age 78 and female. This could have been a negative for going back on a statin. However, I will never go near any kind of statin again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Diana | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication sent me to the ER by ambulance with severe right side and back pain....bladder infection symptons,headache,feverish and chills...The worst pain I have ever experienced...after blood work,CT scan, and urine testing all came back negative...They could not find anything wrong with me..Sent me home with no treatment..I have a history of bladder infections so that's what I thought it was...Ruling that out I thought of the new cholesterol medicine my doctor put me on 8 days prior...Knew that I had some of these symptoms with a drug years before so bingo! it's the new med Lipitor Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ysfw29 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/25/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on 10 mg daily and had been using for years. The last six months I experienced "flushing" in medical term and my doctor told me to stop this for 28 days. The first 14 days I experienced "flushing" 2- 3 times the following 14 days I experienced maybe once. My Triglycerides, HDL and LDL are all below the average and show normal from laboratory report. I was told to stop taking this and want me to try me on 5 mg Crestor but always have more side effects. Debating on taking a different statin drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anthracite | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/23/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Poison! Not worth trying to lower cholesterol. I apparently tolerated Atorvastatin at 40mg for years. Then in November, 2020 doctor increased it to 80mg. Within a week I began burping constantly and developed GERD as never before. Feel awful and without conversation even doctor discontinued the Atorvastatin. Will never take another Statin. Recommend you read about these drugs before taking them. Foolishly, I never realized the side effects and adverse reaction risks with these drugs before ingesting them. I felt fine before being treated! Month later and still burping constantly. Real attractive! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mart | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/22/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m 30 been on this stuff a year I’m probably not got long left already have the heart of a 60 year old smoker lol

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peter Z | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/3/2021
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very High LDL and HDL(good). Dr. prescribed 40 mg every day. No side effects so far after 1 month. Have changed my diet to a plan based whole food to see if this can work instead of Rx. Still some cream in my coffee but no other dairy. Hoping to heal my body naturally and get off this Rx.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dianar | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/29/2020
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well, it did lower my cholesterol, but within a couple of weeks of starting it I began seeing hair all over my pillow in the AM. Now I have a crappy bald hairline and thinning hair. Within a couple of weeks of discontinuing it my hair seems to have stopped falling out. The best I can determine is that it MAY start growing back within 6 months and that it MAY come back on its own. How nice! Sorry, NO ONE will ever talk me into taking statins again. I am a 72 yo female with NO family history of stroke or heart attack. I will take my chances in the future. Throw this garbage out!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mar | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/20/2020
Condition: Treatment to Prevent a Heart Attack
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm on 20mg QD and since I began taking this, I have had joint pain every day. I couldn't figure out why it started (especially during summer months). Never had joint pain before. Also, I wake up to leg cramps almost every other night. Insomnia real bad. My doctor put me on it for prevention of heart attack or stroke. I don't like to the side effects. I have been losing weight (not from the meds) I started Keto way before this medication. So, I do excercise regularly. This stuff is not good will ask for lower dose, or get off completely. It's not worth the joint pain, from a scale 1-10 joint pain is an "8".Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hay-Field | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/26/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor doesn't like the ratio between my HDL and LDL. Even though my overall cholesteral is not high, the LDL level is. I've had no issues with this drug and have been taking it for many years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More