Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

119 People found this comment helpful

I started taking Celexa 20mg (generic citalopram, its a lot cheaper) The first week of August this year. I was diagnosed with Major Depression and Generalized Anxiety Disorder. I take it once a day at night (with food to diminish any possible gastrointestinal side effects). I am feeling 100% better than I did just a few months ago. I could not be more satisfied with the outcome. Before, I could no...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

I have only taken 2 pills so far

Shared reviews and ratings

abs22531 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Let me start off by saying my experience was one of the extremely rare ones, but I still want to share my experience to let others know. I was prescribed 10mg Celexa daily for anxiety, and started off by taking 5mg for 8 days to start. On the 9th day, I took 10 mg (keep in mind this is the minimum dosage) and I had a complete overdose and nervous system reaction. It started with what felt like my skin burning, I had emptied my guts from diarrhea in about 20 minutes, my legs were stiff, my anxiety was through the roof, my heart was racing, and I had insane shivers. The worst symptom was the skin burning and I felt like my skin was on fire while I was shivering. I went to the hospital and turns out my blood pressure was dangerously high, being 171 over 110. They gave me 2mg of lorazepam and within 10 minutes I was knocked out, and after a little bit of sleeping myself and my blood pressure were back to normal. It was definitely scary, but I do not regret taking it. I don't know if the Celexa truly helped me or not, but shortly after that incident my anxiety started to go away, and I rarely have anxiety attacks anymore. When I do I just take .5 mg of lorazepam. Through this I found something that worked, so I am grateful for that.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/14/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I noticed that a side effect was increased sweating but I was already dealing with major menopausal hot flashes so I don't know if Celexa caused increased sweating, or not. I had just retired and experienced the loss of a close family member so my doctor prescribed this medication as more of a deterrent for depression, I believe, since I've been treated for depression in the past. Not sure how it helped, or even if it did, but my doctor is great so I followed her advice. I took it for a little over a year. I knew it was time to stop when I realized that I literally couldn't cry. It basically totally numbed my emotions and I'd rather feel things now and then even if they're sometimes unpleasant. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cassandra | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/26/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a medication that your dont feel any fast results from. it takes a couple weeks to build up maybe even a month to fully benefit from. At 1st i didnt think it was working because i swear i was more anxious for a cple of weeks. i had a lot of anxiety but wasnt having full on panic attacks. I was just constantly in that limbo stage. But before i started taking it i was having panic attacks daily just driving the car would trigger one. going out to eat i would have to go in the bathroom to try and calm down. then started getting them in my safe place at home. thats when i seeked help because i wasnt able to control when the panic attacks would trigger. i knew the stress and depression is what orginally started the anxiety . But having full on panic attacks that come out of nowhere makes u wanna die. well i should say it makes u feel like ur dying ! so ive been on celxa going on 3 months now and im starting to feel back to my normal self . i thought i was going to permantly be like that and i was just losing my self along with reality. so to sum all this up im really thankful i seeked help and was giving this medication to balance all this out.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
YellowMellowOrWhatever | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/22/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I loved celexa so much, I was originally on Lexapro but after taking it for a week I was having severe panic attacks and more depression, so my doctor switched me to celexa. I loved it I was only on it for 4 months before finding out I was pregnant. Within 2 weeks I wasn't having panic attacks, I wasn't looking for something to be wrong and was the happiest I had been since I was an early teen. I can't wait to be done breastfeeding to get back on this medicine, I will say after stopping it I did have more anxiety than before but I'm able to manage it better after learning to go without medication BUT would be way better to have no anxiety than having to deal with it on my own.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alex | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/27/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I always struggled with anxiety and depression, but I lived with it for years. During the spring of 2021 I began having horrible panic attacks every time I left my house. I couldn’t sleep, I couldn’t eat, and I cried nonstop. Nothing really triggered this but it might have been a result of the pandemic. Before this, I had a job where I traveled across the country months on end and was fine but then my anxiety completely changed me. I couldn’t leave my bed room without having a panic attack. I stopped seeing friends, going out…I couldn’t even work or go see the doctor. I finally ended up at urgent care after a bad episode where they gave me hydroxozine but that made it worse. FINALLY I got in to see a doctor and he prescribed me 10mg Celexa. I’m going to honest, at first it was awful. I would say the first 2-3 weeks I didn’t sleep, I couldn’t eat so I lost a ton of weight, and I felt jittery and anxious 24/7. My doctor encouraged me to stick with it and give it a month or two. He also gave me trazadone to help with sleeping. I remember coming on here and reading all the reviews and feeling defeated because I thought it wasn’t going to work. After around a month I started to notice a difference. I wasn’t waking up in a panic, my brain fog went away, I wasn’t feeling jittery or anxious 24/7. It was gradual, I didn’t just wake up and feel better one day. I also went to therapy which helped a lot. And around month 3 they moved me to 20mg. I’ve been on it for over a year now and it truly has changed my life. I feel like myself again. I go out, I have fun, and I rarely if ever have panic attacks. Things that would make me anxious before my panic disorder don’t bother me anymore. I feel levelheaded and more myself than ever. So if you’re worried about starting or have started and feel bad, stick with it!!!! Work with your doctors and don’t stay up late in the night like I did reading every negative review you can find. Celexa has really really helped me and I’m so happy to be on it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/15/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have struggled on and off through adulthood with anxiety and obsessive thoughts. I had a major episode after the birth of my child 20 years ago. My doctor at that time put me on Prozac, which helped, but took a long time to start working and had some undesirable side-effects. When I had another major episode 5 years ago, my new doctor prescribed Celexa (Citalopram) 40mg and it was a miracle for me! It started to work very quickly - within the first 2 weeks (much faster than Prozac) and had far fewer side-effects. I have been slowly decreasing my dosage over the years and now take 10mg per day, and that is enough to keep the trouble at bay. I haven't had a single episode since starting Celexa. I also exercise daily to keep the stress low and eat a healthy diet. I know not every medicine works well for every person, but Celexa is certainly one worth trying if your doctor recommends it. Please don't give up hope. Keep trying, and you will find something that is right for you!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JGonzalez | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/24/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I noticed this medicine helped with my bad temper. I no longer get irritated or lose my patience with people or myself. It’s helped with my anxiety and depression. The only side effects I experienced at the beginning was diarrhea and mild nausea. Overall it’s pretty effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
esmia | 13-18 | Female | Patient
5/13/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helped so much in the beginning but then it just “stopped” on me, It made me feel really worse so I had to stop. One of the most best medications I’ve been on though

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
max121 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

didn't really work for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/10/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Celexa for 17 years. My quality of life improved after about 6 weeks and I have never looked back. I wish I had been given thus drug as a teenager. My life would have been so much better then.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Reba | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/28/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking celexa for about 3 months for depression. I didn’t notice a difference until the second month and I really have felt different by this month. I had no motivation at all. Since I’ve started a lot has changed. I would recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ruinedbycelexa | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/27/2022
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

38 yr old female. Initially I started taking celexa for depression and mild ocd. Been on celexa about 8 yrs now. During these 8 years I have developed extreme anxiety, worse depression, worse ocd, hair pulling, head shaving, skin picking, social phobias, psychotic episodes... I went from being able to hold a job to now being on psychiatric disability. I have tried weaning off this medication and all these effects become 100x worse. Shaving my head turns into cutting into my scalp. This medication has ruined me. I literally cannot function on this medication and I cannot get off it. Celexa has ruined me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
10/18/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I keep forgetting simple words or use the wrong ones (completely out of my character)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2021
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having uncontrollable anxiety attacks. Started taking Celexa and it stopped my anxiety attacks, calmed down my heart palpitations, and improved my mood! Been taking it several months now. Would recommend!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nate | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/29/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

at first, Celexa was my saving grace. It pulled me out of a very dark point in my life. slowly after 6 months, it stopped working, and then began working against me. it intensified my symptoms of depression. I went from feeling full of life to more suicidal than I'd ever been before. I started sleeping for upwards of 16 hours a day. I stopped attending school and when I did I slept in class. I slept, not because I was fatigued, but because I didn't want to be awake. Sleep was the closest I could get to death without hurting anyone. I'd wake up angry that I didn't die in my sleep. I dreamt about killing myself. I'd never before wanted to die so badly. this effect made me not want to take it at all. I'd talk to my doctor and he'd up my dose and contact me 2 weeks later to check in. Usually I was doing better. but after a month, I was back in the same pattern of living without wanting to live. this happened 3 times, and after the third time, my doctor had to take me off of it because I was so miserable and depressed that I didn't even realize it was the fault of the medication and instead blamed myself for being too depressed to be helped. Personally, I would not recommend Celexa to anyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/15/2020
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will never take Celexa again, not only was it totally ineffective, but I even had major side effects one of them being self-harm when I had never before I started taking it and never after I stopped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Erica | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/20/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Celexa 10 mg. for depression for 2 weeks. I've experienced Terrible headaches, Nausea...(Bad stomach aches

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emroever | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/7/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt like the depression was at bay, but it made my anxiety skyrocket. The side effects were extreme—either not enough sleep or I’d sleep the entire day, always felt unwell and nauseous, horrible headaches. I’m currently on week three of coming off of 20mg, and I keep forgetting simple words or use the wrong ones (completely out of my character)..!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/16/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was switched to Celexa after Cipralex started not working for me. Celexa makes me sweat and cannot get a full nights sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MGA | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/12/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Celexa since it was first available. Previously, I had taken Zoloft for many years. The Zoloft began giving me severe heartburn, so I had to stop taking it. Celexa controls my clinical depression. Without the medication, I am angry and unable to interact with others without being abrupt and hurtful. I really like that it doesnâ??t take a great length of time to get back into your system if you are without it for a few days. I am pleased with this medication as it allows me to function in my daily life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More