Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

95 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this drug for apprx 11 yrs now for my REM sleep related to my Fibromyalgia. It works wonders, I can't sleep without it! And it helps with the nighttime pain. BUT, since I have been on it all these years it has put 30lbs on me! Seriously, I used to be 120lbs with never a weight issue in my life. And I am a "clean" eater. Almost a vegetarian. I've just been considering talking with m...

Most voted negative review

65 People found this comment helpful

I am shocked how many different "diagnosis" doctors treat with this drug! This is exactly why I do NOT see doctors. I refuse to be a lab rat. If you are depressed...change your lifestyle. DON'T Take mind altering drugs.

Shared reviews and ratings

Patient | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/14/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ok , so i have Anxiety with on and off episodes of Depression But also Ibs and gerd symptoms as well as chronic fatigue I take this 25 mg at night after eating and before going to bed For people with these issues like me , it will work from day one I dont know how but this medicine clearly effects your brain and/or body aside from antidepressant I took it for my digestive issues and anxiety (either can cause the other) Please talk to your doctor about this if those are your three main symptoms as very few other antidepressants deal with all three and people that those work for usually dont have digeative issues and/or chronic fatigue Also take Rabeperazol for my GERD , neither have sideeffects , nor do they take time to relieve physical issues Been 2 Months , my health is still recovering whole on them but as i said they start working from day one (for fatigue and digestive issues) while anxiety takes 2 or so weeks to show changes (Remember though : I started taking both together so i dont know what relieves what exactlRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Inception2000 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/9/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great antidepressant which helps with multiple different conditions like nerve pain, headaches, depression, sleep, hyperactivity etc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ricz7 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/3/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Amitriptyline 10 mg daily has been highly effective in reducing neuropathic pain. Two mild side effects: 1. Feel drowsy for the first hour after waking 2. Occasional dry mouth.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/6/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Amitriptyline in combination with other supplements and birth control pill have helped change my life! I had tried many other antidepressants, birth control pills and pain medications before Amitriptyline, that weren’t the right fit for me. Amitriptyline has helped removed pelvic pain, mood swings and depression. I take them along with my birth control pill (Zoely), as well as other supplements like Pcositol, Inositol, KIKO Vitals Hormone balance, Primeve Plus, Source naturals Theanine Serene with Relora which I think have all played apart to help balance my hormones. I changed my eating to a more regular balanced diet that is high in fibre and protein and started walking and doing strength training 3 times a week. I have battled with weight loss due to Insulin resistance levels, but since following the above I have lost weight and not gained weight from the medication. I must add at first I didn’t see changes and actually felt worse, but my doctor asked me to give the medication and birth control pill three months and I’m so glad I did. Wasn’t easy while my body was adjusting in those three months, but life is so much sweeter now! So thankful ????Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sleepy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/29/2022
Condition: Nerve Pain after Herpes
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had so much trouble with vulvodynia, almost at the point of giving up and getting really depressed because of it. My doctor prescribed 25mg dose of Amitriptyline and it has been a miracle! My nerve pains are 90% gone and honestly, I can deal with that 10%. Life changing, wish I did this years ago.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/17/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In 1 year of taking this medication I gained over 40 pounds! I finally saw my doctor and got weaned off this medication. After just 4 months of being off of this medication I have lost 25lbs! I had a hard time sleeping at night, exercising, breathing, etc on this medication due to the weight gain. For anybody interested in this medication it will make you gain significant weight. For warning!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TaraKd | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed 25mg for the severe migraines I get from taking another medication. Took a week for it to start working. No migraines since however it feels like I take a sedative every night. I went from being able to hear my newborn sneeze to not waking up to him screaming top his lungs in the very next room. I stay completely knocked out what feels I slept for an hour or 2 waking up to 8 hours passed. If I have to get up before 8 hours I feel so groggy almost drunk like and even when I do get up for the day it takes so long now to actually feel awake. I take it and within an hour you can’t even fight if you tried it will 100% knock you out cold. It’s been a few weeks that symptom hasn’t got any better. It’s also seemed to suppress my appetite I go 24 hours not feeling the least bit hungry. I also went from having all the patience in the world to being extremely irritable. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
So Much Better | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/14/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been living with debilitating excruciating pain for almost a year. I could not even stand for very long due to the pain, let alone walk. Received an injection into my spine and began taking this. Absolutely no pain. I have been on it for two months now and I do not have one bit of pain. For me, it was a miracle drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PillPopper | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/15/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed Amitriptyline for migraines and associated health anxiety. Not going to lie, the first week wasn't fun. I felt dizzy, and jittery pretty much all day. After one week I started to feel really good. Migraines gone and health anxiety became tolerable. I am on it for about 6-7 months and at this point I'd be happy to take this for the rest of my life. This med will make you feel worse at first but please do yourself a favour and stick with it for at least 10 days. It really works and made me normal again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nmsiegel | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/11/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just wanted to say I say a comment telling people to not take meds and change lifestyle. That is SO bad to tell people, for some people, just changing something on their live isn’t going to help. Sometimes, some of us need meds to function. If I wasn’t out on meds last year, I would still be so depressed, in mental and physical pain and not have the mental energy to do anything , stay in bed and let my world continue to fall apart, and I would prob actually unalived myself. Please do not tell people to not do something for their health Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dmgjgg | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being on several antidepressants including Buspar, Wellbutrin, Clonodine, Cymbalta, and Prozac, Amitriptyline was the only one that helped me feel like myself again after depression and anxiety lasting almost a whole year. Stick with the medicine at least for 6 weeks, which is when I finally felt better. The dosage I was on of 100 mg made me even more depressed, so I finally convinced my psychiatrist to try a lower dose of 75 mg. This worked perfectly and helped with my insomnia. Aside from the constipation and dry mouth, I now have my life back. I am also on secondary antidepressants of Trintellix and Seroquel.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/5/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for IBS. But I have a history of PTSD, migraines, and eating disorder. Prior to taking this med. I had a traumatic life experience where my PTSD, IBS, anxiety where gosh daily activity were impossible and eating disorder flared up. I am seriously not a believer for psyche meds. I refused for years until I was desperate and gave it a try. I started with lowest dose and truly migraines gone, ptsd is slightly controlled of course with therapy, eating: able eating is at its peak in the morning (if taken at night). Anxiety controlled and noticed at day one. The only down call I would say is that if not taken at the same time or not allowing your body to get the needed sleep 8 hrs. Drowsiness kicks in. Other then that. It’s helpful med ! I sleep a full night sleep uninterrupted! Not planning to stay on it forever but for the moment it’s been a positive life changer ! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gecbie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/28/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed for cystitis. Really helped. Have anxiety and depression really helped first few week. Wss 100% happy. Now not working so good. Will try the 25mg at night. Do not wa t to go back adderall and xanax. Hope it works. It us helping g with the cystitis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
My2Cents | 25-34 | Female | Patient
6/15/2022
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Amitriptyline is fantastic. It helps in so many pays, to sleep all night, my migraines, my mood, and pain with Ehlers Danlos. I've been on it for 5+ years and gone off a few times. It also helps my lucid dreams/nightmares. It does make me hungry and slightly more drowsy in the morning but the benefits are substantial.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gechie | 65-74 | Other | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/24/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Actually prescribed for urinary incontinence. But it has really helped my anxiety and depression. I am on 10 mg but will need a little bit more. Can get off adderall and xanax. Went thru 8 ssri with no help and ended up with cystitis and was prescribed this that solved all my problems after suffering for over 2 yrs. Few side effects was tired first few weeks. Got my happiness and life back. I thank God.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ellen | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have put on about 5 kg in the 6 weeks I’ve used this product. As a motorised wheelchair user, weight gain is the last thing I need or want. I was on the lowest dose and stopped it last night once I figured out it was the cause of my weight gain. I monitor everything I eat so I know the drug was the issue. I’m on two other drugs for the pain so will chat to my pain doc and see if just those two are enough. I definitely don’t want the pain back but I’m not willing to be overweight either.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charlotte | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/25/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am already on depression medication I take in the morning. I was given this to take at night to help me sleep because nothing else worked. Started off on a low dose with little help so doctor doubled it and now I sleep, plus I have better days, not so sad all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/20/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been prescribed Amitriptyline 10 mg for Functional Dyspepsia. I have Chronic Esophagitis and a small Hiatal Hernia. My main problem was severe stomach ache which I discovered was worse after eating anything with wheat or dairy. A dietitian put me on the FODMAP diet, but by week three into it, it was clear to me that the pain would no go by diet alone. I am waiting for the Hydrogen Test to establish if I am lactose intolerant. A previous Fructose Hydrogen Test already showed that I have "delayed fructose intolerance" (that is, pain and gas start after an hour and last for days). Being sensitive to any kind of PPI (which made the pain much worse, in my case), my gastroenterologist suggested Amitriptyline as a last resort. I hate medicines and their side effects, so I was reluctant; until a slice of bread knocked me down with pain for three days! On Amitriptyline, I was drowsy for the first two days; by day five I was "mentally" ok. The very good thing is that from day three I had no more stomach pain. I am writing on the 11th day and I am ok. The only downside is that my belly is a bit swollen, which is a problem many users of Amitriptyline have (I checked online). My GP told me that I could double the dose after a week from starting it, but I have no pain and I don't want to get fat! If I become really large, I'll try and stop it to see if the pain returns; otherwise, I am happy to continue with it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charlotte | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking the initial dose seemed to work, but my body became adjusted very quickly, needing me to take higher doses (which I wasn't keen on doing). I have been taking the medication for over a month and I am on the lowest dose that I can bare (50mg). I am in agony all day and all night and will be looking into another avenues to see what else I can do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
not4me | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/12/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will NEVER use this drug again! I had nerve pain after a procedure, so I was prescribed Amitriptyline. It was HELL coming off it with brain freeze headaches, crying, short term memory loss , confusion and sleepless nights was nothing compared the other mind warping stuff! From what I have heard about the hippie LSD, well , it could have been that!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More