Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

I was put on this because I couldn't sleep due to remembering my past. I have PTSD. I am re-experiencing and remembering everything NOW w/ feeling all the abuse by two monstors. They were not parents. This drug has helped me sleep most of the time, unfortunately I also have to take it to calm down after a very hard setion w/ my therapist or reliving something in my own home. Anyone who has PTSD is...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I took this med as directed, I slept for 15 minutes and was up all night again, it has not done a thing for me, I am at my wits end, nothing has helped me and I seem to have my days and nights mixed up. Ready to pull the old hair out, sick of this situation and the life I am in right now due to my sleeping habits. Any help would surely be appreciated. Have taken other sleeping meds, the newer ones...

Shared reviews and ratings

none | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/7/2015
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking chloral hydrate for 14 yrs. for severe chronic insomnia. It has been very helpful but I caution that a person can develop a tolerance so do not overdo it. I am usually able to sleep 5 hours straight after a teaspoon before bed. It is most useful in helping me fall asleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robo? | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2013
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was not able sleep period, my Dr. prescribed two years ago and I sleep 8 hrs. a night now. There is not an other drug that will do the same

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
8/22/2012
Condition: Inducing of a Relaxed Easy State
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/3/2012
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kitnb | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/9/2012
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Chloral Hydrate for the past 14? Years now. It has been THE only medication for my severe insomnia, that helps. I have a heart condition, so the older antidepressants that the doctor prescribe have been bad for me. I don't respond to you atypical sleepins meds. Have been to the sleep clinic twice. The doctor there refers back to my psychiatrist. My psychiatrist agrees that mine is NOT psychological, like the sleep doctor thinks. If you ever have a problem with a doctor, saying it is all mental, question him, or her! I did & they don't like it, haha. I worked in the medical field for some time. Read up on the latest. Hope you all can find something & have sweet dream, wakeing up well rested!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rlouis | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/28/2011
Condition: Calming of Pediatric Patient by Administration of Sedative
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My child has not been able to use her legs for more than a few hours a day for six days since taking this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DoctorGirl | 45-54 | Female | Caregiver
8/26/2011
Condition: Calming of Pediatric Patient by Administration of Sedative
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this medication before performing procedures on pediatric patients that would otherwise induce pain or anxiety. Both the parents and children are grately. The medications wen used appropriately is very safe.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amberar68 | 3-6 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/27/2011
Condition: Calming of Pediatric Patient by Administration of Sedative
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 4 year old daughter was given chloral hydrate as a sedative before a voiding cystourethrogram. When it first started to take effect we thought it was kinda funny. She was loopy and a little drunk acting. We figured she would be that way for a few minutes then slip into a real sleepy state. WRONG! Within probably 10 minutes, she went from silly, to so dizzy she couldn't walk, her head was practically spinning around uncontrollably, arms and legs flailing around. She became very agitated, angry and combatative. This normally very loving child started screaming, crying and talking very mean and ugly to everyone. She told a nurse she was going to beat her up and tear her into little pieces. She bit me (her mother)numerous times, she pinched a nurse so hard it left a mark. Needless to say, this all scared me to death. They ended up giving her a big dose of benadryl to knock her out while the chloral hydrate wore off. She finally went completely out and they put us in a room in the ER so she could sleep it off. Then finally we were able to do the procedure, because she had to be awake enough to go pee pee. That was terrible in itself because she was too awake and didnt have the right amount of sedation to make it comfortable for her. Overall the experience was horrible and absolutely no one will be giving any of my children chloral hydrate ever again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/1/2010
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 1 Gel-cap (500mg) with full glasss water. It takes about 15-30 minutes to fall asleep. I get fll 8 hrs. of sleep, and wake up refreshed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
barry | 65-74 | Male | Patient
7/12/2010
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

u8se for chronic insomnia, the physician told me this would work, it has not. i will get tired but my anxiety justs bols over this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/9/2010
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/4/2010
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have chronic insomnia. For 2 years, I never slept more than 2 hours a night, and my quality of life was awful. I have been taking chloral hydrate now for nearly 2 years and it has been a godsend. I can't take sleeping pills because they leave me too groggy. CH is strong enough to put me to sleep and I can get a good 5-7 hours of sleep a night. My life is so much better with this stuff and I anticipate taking it for the rest of my life and that's ok - I'm sleeping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 0-2 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/17/2009
Condition: Calming of Pediatric Patient by Administration of Sedative
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 2yr old daughter was given this to calm her and try to put her to sleep before a test. It made her loopy and very floppy but very upset and she never did go to sleep. it was a very frustrating experence.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tjsmummy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
5/30/2009
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 10 year old son with special needs takes Chloral, he has been on it for approx 1 year this time, to help him sleep of late he is having a side effect that I can not find any information on: He is very sedated by Chloral and all of the other medications that he takes and now he is having psycotic out bursts while sedated and has now hurt himself by flailing his body all over his bed and we need to hold him down until he does go sleep around 15 minutes, has anyone else found this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aaron383 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/17/2008
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been taking chloral hydrate for about 2 years now in liquid form with about a cup of gingerale every evening before bed, having chronic insomnia the chloral alone gets me about 4-5 undisturbed hours of sleep, i am now on a combination of 30mg dalmane and 2 teaspoons of chloral a night and am sleeping a solid 6, dalmane alone doing very little, so overall i think its a very good drug for those with chronic insomnia, though measuring it can be a pain and the liquid form can cause quite a mess.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katyinc | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/18/2008
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this med as directed, I slept for 15 minutes and was up all night again, it has not done a thing for me, I am at my wits end, nothing has helped me and I seem to have my days and nights mixed up. Ready to pull the old hair out, sick of this situation and the life I am in right now due to my sleeping habits. Any help would surely be appreciated. Have taken other sleeping meds, the newer ones, were useless. Oh well, just not good with meds....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Milo | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2008
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was my (former) doctor's last stab at a sleep aid for me (he seemed really dead set against benzodiazepines). It worked OK at first but stopped working very quickly. Also, I was not able to take it with a full glass of water as directed, because tat would waken me in the night, going to the bathroom. I can't remember now if it irritated my stomach or if my doctor just warned me that could happen. I would gladly give this medicine another try.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
up all nite | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/10/2008
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Chloral hydrate is a old timer drug that works with me since I dont want to take barbituates. I have Mania bi polar I,with anxiety. New meds like lumina and sonata dont work nor do benzodiazapines. If a sleeper doesnt work I recommend this to you.There is no physical withdrawl I have found,used it 4 years, went without it ,never had withdrawl of any kind.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/1/2008
Condition: Calming of Pediatric Patient by Administration of Sedative
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter was having an EEG and this medication did work to sedate her. She was playing and told us she felt funny, we made her sit and presto she was asleep. The only negative comment I have is that she was out cold. We could not get her to walk and she is 7 yrs. old and weighs about 65 lbs. I had a hard time carrying her, I recommend recruiting the help of a strong male to carry the child after the procedure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
11/11/2007
Condition: Calming of Pediatric Patient by Administration of Sedative
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THe doctors told us it was suppose to work in 15 minutes it took 45 minutes and seeing our 2 year old act like she was intoxicated and then knocked completly out was terrifing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More