Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

52 People found this comment helpful

I was originally put on this for severe insomnia related to anxiety/depression due to a health issue I was dealing well with. I was put up to 150 mgs and stayed on it for a couple years. Yes, you are really tired at first but after a week or so and with a little caffiene you don't notice it anymore. It saved my life. I was hospitalized and the first night I took it I slept like a baby after 6 ...

Most voted negative review

31 People found this comment helpful

My doctor gave me 10 mg of this drug for sleep. Does it cause weight gain at this low dose?

Shared reviews and ratings

R.G.B. | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/23/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Excellent for anxiety. Feels like valium without the euphoria. 50mg twice. Also help curb my Psychopathic motivations -without the need for anti psychotics.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/23/2022
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this for eczema in both hands. It did gradually beat the eczema over the course of a few months, and in those months, I discovered a pleasant side effect: It caused a good solid 8-9 hours of sleep about 90 minutes after ingestion. I did have a few days where I was late for work, but once I realized that the doxepin was making me sleep that deeply, I simply timed my dose so that I'd crash around 10 pm, and wake up at 7 pm fully rested. I feel a tiny bit guilty saying this, but after the eczema was fully gone, I continued to take a doxepin pill any night when I felt the need to get a good night's sleep. I know side effects can vary from person to person, so YMMW; but for me, doxepin has been a total net positive.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Manic Insomniac | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/30/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sorry ahead of time for a novel length review, but I think all following aspects are important to take into account with this medication as I take many medications and have many disorders. I also have never written a review for a medication, but after reading these scary reviews before taking Doxepin I felt the need to throw my two cents in to maybe encourage people to at least try it before flat out saying no to their doctor. A bit of my background: I have bipolar, insomnia, general anxiety, panic disorder, and ADHD which of course all of those, and the corresponding medications taken for each disorder, make getting a good nights sleep a nightmare (no pun intended). I've had difficulty sleeping since I was a teenager, and after being diagnosed in my early 20s with all those issues it made sense why I have so much trouble sleeping. I have also been incredibly tired during the day every single day of my life (even while using stimulants in the daytime for my ADHD) since I can remember, and I started thinking I had a type of narcolepsy because I just felt like a zombie every day (hypochondriac much???). I have taken so many different sleep aids over the years: Ambien, Lunesta, Hydroxyzine, Trazodone, you name it. All of which made me incredibly groggy the next day, or just gave me unwanted side effects (thank you Ambien for the four hour hallucinations that I didn't ask for of fairies flying around a forest that grew on my walls keeping me up which completely defeated the purpose of Ambien). I had brought up my sleep issues to my psychiatrist before, but never the chronic daytime sleepiness. I finally brought it up to her, and she thought that I may be constantly tired due to poor sleep. I didn't believe it at first because I rarely remember waking up during the night. Now to the medication: She mentioned Silenor aka Doxepin this go around, and how at high doses it is used for depression, but in very low doses it is used to help people to sleep. I was very interested as it's not habit forming (I don't need or want more addictive medications than I already take), and at the low doses for sleep it has pretty minimal side effects. For reference, I currently take the lowest 3mg dose as that is enough for me, and I have not found the need to double up to 6mg. However, I was incredibly worried about taking this medication because of one of the more scary side effects: sleep driving, walking, eating, etc. just like Ambien can potentially cause. For the first five days taking this medication I gave my car keys to my mom to hide at night, had potentially dangerous items stored away by my family where I wouldn't find them if I did sleep walk, and had my family keep an eye on me for any signs of sleep "doing" things. When I woke up the following mornings there were absolutely no signs of sleep "doing" things, thank goodness. My doctor was right about why I was so tired during the day because I have even better news; I felt the most well rested I ever have, and I can't even remember the last time I woke up feeling this great. I woke up feeling weirdly amazing even before my alarm went off when I usually press snooze 10 times, no grogginess at all, had enough energy all day to get everything done that needed to be done. I have now been taking this medication for about two months with no issues, and still wake up feeling great and well rested. I really hope this one doesn't stop randomly working for me like other medications have in the past. Some nights I will forget to take it, and I definitely notice a major difference the next day where I'm tired and groggy compared to when I do take it. I rated "ease of use" a four only due to having to take it on an empty stomach (at least 3 hours since you've last eaten), but sometimes I forget that I ate recently and haven't noticed a difference in efficacy of sleep. Not sure why you have to take it on an empty stomach, but that's a question to ask your doctor. I highly recommend at least TRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TJ | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/30/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used doxepin for insomnia for quite a few years. It helps me tremendously with getting enough sleep. I do take a 2-day "vacation" each week from the med, which seems to help avoid a build up of tolerance to the sedative effect. Side effects have been minimal for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gazebo Gal | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/1/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed Doxepin 27 years ago for fibromyalgia and insomnia. This med allows me to sleep past 4 AM and wake up at my usual 7 AM. When the fibromyalgia was complicated by CFIDS and new insomnia the Dr upped my dose. This was a mistake. It was hellish, but I weaned myself from his unnecessarily high dose of 175 mg to 50 mg and have been stable on 50 mg for the past decade. This medication is a godsend for me. To please other doctors I have tried to get off of it several times with no success. It works; it works at a low dose; I am staying on it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LRod | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
6/20/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was using Sertraline for 2 years , i couldn’t sleep well. I only try 1 week this drug and i woke up around 2am, back to sleep around 4am and I couldn’t wake up for work and i slept until 3pm, and feel very asleep. During that week i gained 4lbs. My anxiety went worst. Please don’t use this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grizz | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/31/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on Doxepin almost 30 years ago for a sleep disorder and it did work but as the years roll by , the dosage is less effective and you always have to increase it. Well unannouced to me I was at 200 mg per night and according to my doctor, that's the maximum you can take and at that level there are risks of a heart attack. So if you are at this level of dosage, you may want to consider other options. I, choose after 30 years of being on it to stop taking it all together. To tell the truth here, I feel a lot better now, losing weight and not so jittery any more. I quit cold turkey nd those who try will experience sleeplessness rebound. For awhile you wont sleep but if you adjust your sleep habits, all will be fine. Honestly here when i quit Doxepin, I tried to remember back 30 years why I was put on it in the first place and my memory failed me. Although I quit the drug not telling my doctor of my plan as in the past , he always told me not to quit it cold turkey, to slowly go off it with the help of a withdrawal program. My pills were costly me $140.00 for a month supply and for a drug that in my opinion wasn't working anymore. Remember, this is only my experience with Doxepin, everyone is different. Am I glad I quit Doxepin, "Oh you better beleive it" Do I ever need another sleep pill?," Never". Life is too short to be drugged up all the time. I choose to live life to the fullest , the way I was born to!! Take care everyone and God BlessRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pammela | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2022
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 75mg at bedtime. it messed me up I have done nothing but sleep! I can't thing straight and it's 7pm the next day and & I still can't function! Yes it may help you sleep but not worth it side effects of next day I got from it. Be cautious of this drug

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kenny | 13-18 | Other | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/8/2022
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been on this medication for around a year now, before this i was on trazadone which did nothing for me. i got put on this medication when i was 12 and i had been on 150 mgs for 3 months to which they put it back down to 100 mgs because it was making me too tired all the time. i got put on doxepin when i went to the horsham clinic at 12 years old. everything has just been a shitshow with my meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/15/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

prior to use I was okay with depression. Since being on it my mood has crashed!! My doctor also knows about my epilepsy and he put me on it anyways when a side effect is possible seizures. Dumb doc!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amanda | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/26/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Make sure you have the next day to sleep if your side effects are like mine. I took it and about 30 minutes later I was out like a light. I woke up at 2 am trying to catch my breath like I had quit breathing. Went back to sleep and woke up for work at 3am. It was hard getting moving but once I got to work I was fine. After 3 hours at work I came home literally fell on my bed and passed out for 6 hours. Didn't hear the phone..nothing. Got up for about an hour and went back to bed for the night. Never again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
skywlf | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/4/2020
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is an old med but it helps me for sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Prissy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/10/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 10mg.at bedtime and it has helped me stay asleep but takes about 2 hours to feel the effects. I always take it two hours before I plan on going to bed.Helps a little with anxiety but not much, more for sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tinkerbell | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have major depression with anxiety and fibromyalgia. I'm using it for help sleeping. It works great most nights but sometimes I wake up off and on. I definitely sleep more with using it so any help is better than mine at all!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mojave | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/22/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Perhaps the 25mg is ineffective for a very large man. Perhaps 'tis ineffective as I have a natural resistance to anesthesia that may be reflected by this drug. I continue to be sleep deprived.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/16/2018
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

used to reduce anxiousness and to induce sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dardejak g mail.com | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/26/2018
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this drug about 3 or 4 years ago, I have gained 35-40 pounds. I am taking 25mg. And I am stopping it as of yesterday. I hope I will lose this weight. I started taking it because my son passed away and I had a lot of anxiety. But I am stopping, I hope I am ok.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lalaa | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I take this for pain because my pain is so bad from fibro, lupus and arthritis, I can't fall asleep or stay asleep and since starting it a week ago, I have been able to fall asleep without tossing and turning into, but I have had nausea, headaches, random dizzy spells and a strange rush feeling that makes my head feels cold and hot, detached and like I'm going to throw up. I have been on this for a week and a half at 10mg. While I like the sleep... I'm not certain I am going to continue this treatment. My heart does not feel right, it feels fluttery and I feel woozy. I'm also getting a very stiff neck and not sure if this is a symptom or not.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
donttakethis | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2017
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for trouble sleeping and depression to try to replace Klonipin in the long run. READ WARNINGS & DO NOT TAKE! Got severe abnormal heartbeats, had to go to the hospital and monitor overnight to make sure no damage was done. And that was on the very lowest dose! Very scary experience, do not recommend. I feel much better now that I'm off of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sadie09 | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/10/2017
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Doxepin for over a year now to help with sleep. I get migraines and lack of sleep was a trigger. It has done wonders as far as that is concerned! Whenever I wake up in the middle of the night now, I'm able to just roll over and fall right back to sleep. BUT, unfortunately, I believe it's also contributed to hair loss... as in chunks of hair coming out! Now I take another medicine, too, and if Doxepin is the sole reason, or if it's the combination of the two medicines, I don't know, but I DO believe it is a contributing factor. I'm afraid I'm going to have to retire this one and seek another sleep aid for awhile. It was nice while it lasted! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More