Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

36 People found this comment helpful

Haldol is a miracle drug. I take it for schizoaffective disorder so it works for schizophrenia, bipolar, and anxiety. I thought I was the savior of planet earth. I saw snipers and other gun men follow me. I also heard the CIA talk to me through a tiny microphone in my coat. Folks I was completely out of my mind thinking that the government could read my thoughts. Then the radio discussed what was...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

i felt like a zombie

Shared reviews and ratings

India Star | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/21/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A Hospice nurse who was called prescribed this to my mother in law because she was having anxiety attack and seemed delirious, that’s what the hospice nurse said, so she gave us these drops and she said to give it to her with a double dose of lorazepam which made it 1mg. When we gave it to her she began to look calm but when night hit she began to have this blank stare like a mask face, she was stiff especially in the mouth she would bring her bottom teeth outward and tighten her teeth, she was unable to speak, drink, eat, it was as if she had forgotten how to do all of these things, she was taking short breaths and pausing in between each breath sort of like she was pushing, and she was frightened to take her other meds and to have the oxygen tube on her nose. From one minute to another she would yank everything off her covers her clothes everything. By 2:00am she began to have a fever and sweat she couldn’t keep her eyes open not for a second. My mother in law looked like she was in a hell cell with no way to communicate and I couldn’t do anything to help her. We made the decision to stop giving her this medication since she only had it twice. This was all happening in the last 48 hours, Her last dose was yesterday at 2:00pm then we chose to stop.This morning I asked her if she could her me and she nodded yes then I asked her if she wanted to eat and have some coffee and she nodded desperately like she had been trying to say she was hungry but couldn’t. I can’t even imagine what she must have been feeling. And for the record this hospice nurse didn’t give us any warnings about this medication she just said to give it Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Screech | 55-64 | Female | Patient
8/5/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unless you have schizophrenia please do not take this antipsychotic. It has one of the highest rates for causing the adverse effect of Akathisia. If you start to feel increasingly anxious that often develops into feeling like terror or you suddenly develop restless leg syndrome or feel a need to move and pace...that's Akathisia. And it often leads to suicide due to misdiagnosis and increases or changes in medication. For people without schizophrenia, upto 70% of people will develop this extrapyramidal damage. Never take any antipsychotic if you have any condition with low dopamine such as ADHD. This med blocks dopamine receptors and it feels like the 7th level of hell. Do not give to elderly patients or anyone who cannot vocalize their symptoms. Monitor yours and others symptoms. Its extremely serious. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thutchens | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/20/2021
Condition: Mental Disorder with Loss of Normal Personality & Reality
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a negative reaction to this drug. Sent me into anaphylactic shock and sent me back to the hospital.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
saintdlee | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/30/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have schizoaffective disorder and the positive results of taking this drug are definitely apparent and for the most part helpful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
oldladyblue | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
1/6/2020
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug was like a miracle for my daughter (age 34 at time) after 5 hospitalizations and other anti-psychotics. Once on Haldol dec shot, over the past year she has been on it, almost all delusions and hallucination have lessened or stopped. Occasionally now she talks to her "people" when alone or when she thinks no one is looking, but this is so minor, and is almost unnoticeable, compared to how psychotic she used to be. For a year now, she goes out: shopping, to movies, on vacation, etc. She works part time. She did gain about 30 lbs, and has occasional muscle pain that a dose or two of over the counter Benadryl has always handled. Prior to the dec shot, while unmedicated or on other medications, she was on and off psychotic for 2.5 years talking to invisible people almost 24/7, or screaming until her voice was gone, staying in her room for days, if she did go out, she would yell at strangers thinking she could read their minds, she was paranoid and delusional about her step father and called the police on him 100 times in one year. She didn't want to work, and if she tried, she would get fired when the psychosis kicked into high gear. That all changed on Haldol, the weird behavior stopped, with continued improvement over the past year until she seems pretty normal almost 100% of the time. She has held two successful part time jobs. She does NOT know she is mentally ill (anosognosia), but she doesn't question why she is getting the shot, if she hadn't been arrested and force hospitalized, she probably would never have agreed to the medicine, but she continues to take it now monthly. Life went almost back to normal in my house because of this medicine and my daughter is her sweet self again. The years of psychosis that almost destroyed our family are over. I really do think the Haldol is a miracle for her. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ahmed Nasreldin | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/1/2014
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Haldol is very good drug , worked for me very well but i have many side-effect restless and i have pain in my leg i dont know if haldol the main reason of this side effect or not

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/28/2013
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works ok for me... Don't really have any side effects except for some akithisia. Not sure if I spelled that right.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TOM | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/7/2013
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Haldol is a miracle drug. I take it for schizoaffective disorder so it works for schizophrenia, bipolar, and anxiety. I thought I was the savior of planet earth. I saw snipers and other gun men follow me. I also heard the CIA talk to me through a tiny microphone in my coat. Folks I was completely out of my mind thinking that the government could read my thoughts. Then the radio discussed what was on my mind. After being taken to the mental ward by the police which intercepted me on my way to the CIA they gave me haldol. Like magic the tv and radio stoped talking to me. There were no more voices and thank GOD no more gun men hallucinations. So for the cons. Restlessness was the main side effect. I deal with this by walking around town or pacing. This drug does not make you lazy and I would recommend this for anyone hearing voices and seeing things.I took risperdone for a couple weeks because of the restless side effects from haldol. Risperdone gave this other guy I know boobs and it makes you fat. Worse than that the tv and radio started sending me messages again. Risperdone did not work at all for me. I take 10mg haldol. 1200mg lithium (control mania). 120mg inderal (restlessness of haldol/blood pressure) 2mg artane for other side effects of haldol. I do not feel high or in a stoop-er. I feel normal.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cardiac Survivor III | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/5/2013
Condition: Delirium
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was used in a cardiac ICU setting to control delirium and unrulyness, yet the side affects (tremors,acute anxiety and elevated blood pressure) outweighed it's benefit. They took me off the haldol and ativan seemed to due the trick better for my condition. i still didn't like either drug though-was a prisoner from having any direct control of events.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jyotithakkarj | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/5/2012
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

generic is not working for me haldol is the wrigh one

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
david | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/23/2012
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i felt like a zombie

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
helpme help me | 55-64 | Female | Caregiver
7/30/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

90 year mother took .5mg of haloperidol for 3 week and 2mg of same for 4 days to aid in sleep woke up one morning high anxiety, "I'm freightened" "Please help me" Complained about vision, drooled, mask face, unable to walk alone. Constipated, sweats, poor sleeping. Been off drug 3 weeks, still has most side effects, when will they stop? also takes aricept, namenda, lipitor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frarac9 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/1/2012
Condition: Tourette's
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First of all, I really having trouble and very BAD Tourette's I'm 33 yrs deaf and have HIV postive since almost 17 years The most I am worried about my Tourette's Well I tired many many many different medication for Tourette's its does not working correctly and also some has very bad side effect reaction... for two years ago Doctor gave me shot of haloperidol its helps so SO much but i can't get it anymore because that side effect really terrilbe its not good for me have it so i stopped for 1 year now so The Dr. prescription me for Vicodin its helps alot but its not good drug then change to Percocot for few years its helps about 50 percent so then change to Oxycodone 30 mg for one and half years It's really HELPFUL but Dr. is afraid for me take that drug because its very very very addiction so Now, I got new Dr.David Ross gave me prescription for Methadone its help alot but not all the time ALL I want to let you guys with Tourette's should try haloperidol shot or oral because alot of different people have different bad side effect reaction Just try for few months if getting serious side effect then talk with Doctor for Pain medication its helps about 70 percent.... Okay they have DBS surgery to have less with tourette In Gainville, FL So, i went there Gainville twice but bad news i cant have the surgery because i have HIV postive its could not able to mixing with that its might very risky for me Dont worry there's will some more news for Tourette's coming up soon as I HOPE SO...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mom2boys29 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2012
Condition: Mental Disorder with Loss of Normal Personality & Reality
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Haldol for severe mania. It reeled me in but I had drooling, the "Haldol shuffle" and my legs would jerk upon waking. That was four years ago. Now I am back on it and not having ANY EPS. Strange, it does sedate me some but none of htose other symptoms came back. Weird!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/31/2011
Condition: Problem Behavior
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

aggression

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sos | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
12/28/2011
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting caused by Cancer Drugs
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/10/2011
Condition: Schizophrenia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NEEDHELPSOON | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
10/9/2011
Condition: Psychosis caused by a Disease
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My father was prescribed this drug for Alzheimers. It does not seem to work. Is this drug for people with Alzheimers?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
laverne | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2011
Condition: Nausea and Vomiting caused by Cancer Drugs
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

easy to take and effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/24/2011
Condition: Psychosis caused by a Disease
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i get leg and back pain in my joints

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More