Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with depression/panic & anxiety disorder several years ago. After trying all the new age products my doctor put me on Impramine and it was a life saver for me.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

My husband took this medication at the age of 10-12. He started having auditory and visual halusinations. Tremors of the hands and legs. And many other problems. He was taken off the medication. He is 29 now. But after this medication, he never lost the "voices and visuals" nor the tremors. Because of the voices and visuals. He is now "schizophrenic". His doctor said these will never go away. Plea...

Shared reviews and ratings

kmck01 | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/20/2018
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son was prescribed this in Oct'16. He has been wetting the bed 90% of nights since birth. He took it for 16 months - he started at 25mg for about 6-8 months, then increased to 50mg when he had the occasional wet night. This had completely changed his life. Since starting imipramine, he has had maybe 5 or 6 wet nights. That's in the last year and a half. He is DDAVP resistant and this was the answer for him. I didn't find it changed his personality much. If anything, he seemed a bit more focused and calm but nothing substantial.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kristin | 3-6 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/27/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 5 year old daughter is taking this medication for about 2 months now. I don't think its working she is hitting herself pulling out her hair and more what can I do please help...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/21/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/5/2015
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JennnnCR | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/21/2015
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took my first dose and felt a bit dizzy, felt totally disoriented, just didn't feel like myself. I was drawn out, and restless. And when it came to sleep, just forget about it! I did not even get a solid hour of sleep! Doctor told me this could most likely help with my sleeping, definitely made it worse! So disappointed. I'm so desperate to find a medicine that actually works for me ):

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BESTTEACHER | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/26/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WAS PRESCRIBED THIS MED FOR IBS, CROHNS & CELIACS. LANDED IN THE ER, WITH HALLUCINATIONS, NIGHT TERRORS, PERFUSE SWEATING, COULDNT CONCENTRATE, ENDLESS LIST. MAKE SURE YOUR DR EXPLAINS THOROUGHLY THE SIDE EFFECTS BEFORE TAKING. THIS DRUG MADE ME LOSE 12 WEEKS OF MY LIFE.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashok | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/5/2015
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No dreams post medications at night so you kinda wake up blanked out - helps control asthma while sleeping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Working Man | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/10/2014
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

By far imipramine has the harshest side effect profile of all the tricyclic antidepressants (trimipramine runs a close second). It's a shame because imipramine works very well. I took it only at bedtime, as an adjunct to my 3x/day Xanax for panic attacks, but man -- throughout the following day dizziness, blurred vision, heart flutters & sticky mouth was, oh man, strong. Also had this other weird side effect, felt like my penis was being pinched & strangulated. Very harsh side effects. Yes, all the tricyclics have the same set of side effects, but it's usually not so noticeable at low, therapeutic doses. I much prefer nortryptiline (Pamelor) which works every bit as good for anxiety, preventing panic attacks and general depression, but the side effects aren't nearly as prominent as imipramine's. In fact I'd be surprised if imipramine is even prescribed anymore.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jay | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/6/2014
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed 2 weeks ago for incontinence after radical prostate surgery 10 months ago. Side effect include dry mouth,mild constipation,loss of sexual appetite and decreased desire to eat. It has been effective in reducing urine amounts. Original dose 25 mg daily increasing to 50 mg after two weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
noname | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/16/2014
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

if your not sure about a med not working and feel indangerment of your child getting worse listen to what she is telling you and report it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more |
6/17/2014
Condition: Recurring Sleep Episodes During the Day
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cay | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/13/2014
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Imipramine has given me long term relief from depression, having taken it for 18 years. I started treatment with SSRI's then later my dr. added imipramine, then did SSRI's alone, but it only worked for only about 5 years, making depression worse at the end. Took imipramine along and had better results with tri-cyclic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yankee07MVP | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
2/9/2014
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed to reduce urgency of urination due to enlarge prostate. Was suppose to take three 10mg tablets a day. Wrongly took one 10mg tablet a day for over a month. No help what-so-ever with my problem. I did however, experience an a pronounced decrease in the ability to sleep at night. When dosing error was discovered, I had stopped taking this drug for about a week. Resumed at recommended dosage, (10mg tablet three times a day). Immediately felt dizziness and anxiety taking this drug and just as quickly stopped taking it again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy Old Man | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In my 74th year I have suffered for over 35 years with epigastric pain. I formerly had a resection of lower colon for diverticulosis in 1994. I suffered from debilitation abdominal pain almost ecvery day. By chance, a friend was taking this drug for depression and offered me a pill at bed time and said it will make "Me sleep better." Why not? I thought it was a sleeping pill. I went to bed and the next day my epgastric pain was gone, bowel sounds galore and things started to move in digestion. No longer have constipation or the opposite or abdominal pain. Funny, I am not depressed at all, have a great life as a retired professional, have a boat, many homes, cars and doing just fine. I had MRIs cat scans, barium swallows etc. etc. and they found nothing. I short, I have my life back. The only down side is that I wake up early (4AM)sometimes and feel a tad tired in the late afternoon. This help may be anecdotal as to me, but it cured a problem no doctor could cure and it was just by chance. I notice no side effects other then an earlier rise then usual which is 5:30 AM.I take 10 mg and sometimes cut them in half (5mg) or skip a day or two. Amazing luck . As an aside, i got a warning letter in the mail about this drug. As a old cynic watching the money cycle in drug companies, I think the drug companies sent this out to get you on a more expensive anti-depressent. (that is its primary use I am told). This drug is cheap and I guess their monopoly on it has expired. Big Pharma's motto is "Make as much as you can as fast as you can." You be the judge.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/27/2013
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
11/6/2013
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

all i can see that this medicine does is keep the patient drugged up so that caregivers don't have to"put up" with taking care of the patients all they do is sleep and stay confused not knowing where they are or even what day it is.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/28/2013
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jere | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/10/2013
Condition: Problems with Bladder Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had too many trips to the bathroom at night and was not responding to normal meds for that. Urologist perscribed 75 mg at bedtime and it really works for me. Hard to urinate at first in the morning. I think I have more vivid, sometimes crazy dreams now. I'm going to stay on it, but talk to the doctor at my annual checkup this month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2013
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PTSD symptoms have markedly decreased.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/9/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a bad depression after my 1st son was born. Went on Imipramine for 1 year, then went off when wanted to have 2nd baby. Developed Irritable Bowel Syndrome. Went back on Imipramine as it is constipating and doctor thought I should try this pill again as I was better on it. Now 21 years later I still take a very low dosage 20 mg for my IBS. Everytime I have tried to go right off, my IBS systems flare up (chronic diarrahea, naseau, cramping). Imipramine has been a life saver for me. Although I do worry about what the long term effects are, being on this drug for so long. Like what harm is it doing to internal organs, kidneys etc., if any? I guess if I didnt worry about stuff like that I wouldnt have IBS!! Have to take good care of my teeth because of the dry mouth side effect. I am definitely better on this pill then off!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More