Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

25 People found this comment helpful

For a long time i have tried different medications for my insomina,but this really did help.My doctor wanted me to try it for two weeks it made such a difference.No side effects for me yet.This is a great alternative for help with sleeping.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

STILL IS THE WORST SLEEP MEDICATION I HAVE EVER TAKEN IT MADE ME SLEEPWALK I HAD HORRIFIC NIGHT TERRORS MY HEART WOULDN'T STOP POUNDING I STARTED SEEING STUFF I THOUGHT I WAS GOING CRAZY AND I ALMOST TRIED TO KILL ME SELF

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/21/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For a long time i have tried different medications for my insomina,but this really did help.My doctor wanted me to try it for two weeks it made such a difference.No side effects for me yet.This is a great alternative for help with sleeping. I know that it is difficult to find a store online, so I will advise where I bought https://tlabc.tech/6cb595a837

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michael Tyson | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/16/2021
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Teva Zolpidem 10mg when I always wake in middle of the night and can not get back off to sleep. Usually about 2-3 in morning. I the n sleep until about 9am. This suits me fine as I am retired from work ???

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/13/2021
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has put me to sleep for years. I would like to get off them but,I don't sleep a wink if I don't take it. ED is a big problem over long term use for me and have started to notice other symptoms such as anxiety, mood swings, unfocused thoughts. I've just started antidepressants to relieve some of f that but there are side effects that add to the ED problem. How do you just give on sex????? sleep!???

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ian | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/30/2021
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take zolipdem. Asleep within 20mins and normally can sleep 8 hrs. Helps me sleep doesn't keep me asleep. Prior, 4 hrs was a great sleep. No ill effects next day, no other issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ElPolloDiablo | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/11/2021
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

10mg for almost 20 years now. If I was reviewing brand name Ambien, then it gets ten stars across the board. I used to be able to take that. When I did, I would have about 15 minutes to get to where I was sleeping for the night. Since being switched to generic it has been considerably less effective. I'm a firm believer that generics are not always equivalent, and my experience here bears that out. I can sometimes take one orally and have zero effect. Different generic manufacturers produce different effects, too. At one point my insurance allowed me to get Edluar (sub-lingual), and it was wonderful. 10 minutes and I was asleep. Since they disallowed it, I decided to try dissolving the ordinary immediate release under my tongue to varying success. For the most part it works great. It isn't really all that bad in terms of taste, so long as I keep it trapped tightly with my tongue. If you try it, place it under your tongue just as you are turning out your light to go to sleep. It takes a bit to dissolve completely, but probably 70% of the time I'm asleep before it has finished. I rarely get an amnesiac effect using this method. That said, there are still times where I feel no effect, and may have to take a second. Bear in mind that this is designed to put you to sleep, not keep you asleep. Half-life is ~3 hours. However, I've found that if I am able to fall asleep initially, I am almost always able to get back to sleep if I do wake in the night. I would estimate an average of 7-8 hours of decent sleep. My insomnia is related to deeper mental health issues, so your experience may be better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SamO | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/7/2020
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall good experience. However, about 30 minutes after taking Zolpidem I have and urge to eat snacks. Sometimes like there is no tomorrow.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
malik9 | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/23/2020
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm from UK and i usually take 10mg zolpidem before go to sleep. It still helps me a lot even i've been already on it for about 1 year from now so I don't know if I'm addicted or not but for sure i sleep like a baby ! I order it online like most of those that don't have a medical prescription and i get it from freepharmacy.net in about 5/6 days anonymously and without Customs issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sleeplessintheus | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2020
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have to cut pill in half, sometimes thirds, because full pill turns me into a useless zombie following day. I take 15 minutes before laying down, gets me to sleep and only wake 2-3 times during sleep, mainly to readjust position. Dream well. However, even with just half a pill, I can't get myself out of bed for about 10-12 hours, I experience severe vertigo for 1-3 hours accompanied by 4-5 hours of dopiness, and experience a near total loss of meaningful cognitive function and any motivation to get anything done. Zolpidem (generic) is NOT to be compared to Ambien, as Ambien has none of these awful side effects. Sadly, the existence of Zolpidem and price-gouging in the US has prevented insurance coverage for Ambien and purchase of Ambien for the millions of us without insurance. Zolpidem is not safe, for hours after waking up I am still unable to drive without being under the influence. FDA should take this drug off the US market. In the meantime, it would be much safer and productive, sadly, to live with chronic insomnia.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SleeplessInAZ | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2020
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have to cut pill in half, sometimes thirds, because full pill turns me into a useless zombie following day. I take 15 minutes before laying down, gets me to sleep and only wake 2-3 times during sleep, mainly to readjust position. Dream well. However, even with just half a pill, I can't get myself out of bed for about 10-12 hours, I experience severe vertigo for 1-3 hours accompanied by 4-5 hours of dopiness, and experience a near total loss of meaningful cognitive function and any motivation to get anything done. Zolpidem (I take TEVA's generic) is NOT to be compared to Ambien, as Ambien has none of these awful side effects. Sadly, the existence of Zolpidem and price-gouging of Ambien in the US has prevented insurance coverage for Ambien and purchase of Ambien for the millions of us without insurance. Zolpidem is not a safe drugâ??â??for hours after waking up I am still unable to drive without being under the influence. FDA should take this drug off the US market. In the meantime, it would be much safer, sadly, to live with chronic insomnia.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KHinAZ | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2020
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have to cut pull in half, sometimes thirds, because full pill turns me into a useless zombie following day. I take 15 minutes before laying down, gets me to sleep and only wake 2-3 times during sleep, mainly to readjust position. Dream well. However, I can't get myself out of bed for about 10-12 hours, I experience severe vertigo for 1-3 hours accompanied by 4-5 hours of dopiness, and experience a near total loss of any cognitive function and motivation to get anything done. Zolpidem is NOT and should NOT be compared to Ambien, as Ambien has none of these awful side effects. Sadly, the existence of Zolpidem (so-called "generic for Ambien") and the US government's allowance of price-gouging of prescription drugs such as Ambien has prevented insurance coverage for Ambien, as well as the purchase of Ambien for the millions of us now without insurance since Obamacare. Zolpidem is not Ambien. Zolpidem is not a safe drugâ??â??for hours after waking up I am still unable to drive without being under the influence. FDA should take this drug off the US market. In the meantime, it would be much safer, sadly, to live with chronic insomnia. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WannaSleep | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/14/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The peach colored Zolpidem my pharmacy just used to fill my prescription is absolutely NOT real Ambien and is completely ineffective! What a waste of a couple nights with zero sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/8/2019
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Causes unpleasant dreams on a nightly basis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mckay | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/17/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since starting my pre-menopause years, I have had trouble sleeping. I believe it is mostly hormonal. The doctor put me on this drug. I did get more sleep but did still wakeup several times a night. I would have liked to keep taking it. However, I found that a few days after taking it, I became severely anxious and depressed. I am typically not like that. I then went off the drug for a while. Desperate again for sleep, I went back on it. Again, I found myself in a deep depression and anxiety. I repeated this cycle several times so I am now sure it is the drug. I really wanted to keep taking this because I did get more sleep. I have to say, though, my husband is also on it and does very well on it. So, it likely depends on your genetics and how this drug will personally impact you. I believe it is worth trying because it did improve sleep quality. Just for me, the resulting severe anxiety was far too difficult as a side effect. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
moth | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/17/2018
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For the most part this medicine is a lifesaver. But, like with a lot of other medicines, I don't always get the same (generic) brand every month from the pharmacy. I usually get small white pills but lately I've been getting oblong orange pills, and as other people here have stated, these ones DO NOT WORK! I've also had some (I don't remember what they looked like) that work but take hours to kick in. It doesn't seem safe to take pills that are obviously not the same medicine from month to month. I called my doctor today to request non-generic. I'm just hoping my insurance approves it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ZACHARY SUSS | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/20/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works great with bud or adderall

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cathy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Too long ago. Relaxed me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shanenc14 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/20/2018
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Bipolar disorder which comes with horrible insomnia on some nights. This med, when taken with all of my regular meds allows me to get a decent night's sleep instead of being awake literally 2-4 days straight with NO sleep. Zolpidem has been a lifesaver

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/29/2018
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This works great! But like it says, make sure you take it right before you go to bed. Kicks in fast!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ginas | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/10/2018
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Ambien CR for several years. Due to Medicare, I was put on Zolpidem (5 mg). Everything was fine for a while. About 1 month ago developed severe hives. Two nights ago woke up with rapid heart rate. Needed to take Benedryl. Also got hives from Valarian root for the first time ever. Will go back and retry Belsomra. Am so upset. Even tried 2 different generics thinking it was due to the purple coating.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
donthaveone | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/9/2018
Condition: Difficulty Falling Asleep
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Usually had very hard time falling asleep, often went to work after sleeping an hour or two. Began taking 10 mg Zolpidem after retirement. It nearly always works. But often I sleep 3 hours or less, and getting back to sleep is hit-or-miss. (I do not take another pill.) There are no side effects that I'm aware of. I feel no different after taking the pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More