Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

Was prescribed valproic acid after a psychotic break arrested with lithium and prozac. Initially diagnosed with depression, subsequently altered to bipolar disorder. Have been on 750 mg divided dose for several years, no significant side effects. Went off medication for 3 months, had a manic episode characterized by wild overspending and other dangerous behaviors. Resumed medication regimen an...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

NOT SURE HAVEN'T TAKEN IT LONG ENOUGH FIRST TIME ON THIS MEDS.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/9/2017
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

at daily max dosage recommended for an adult, when taken properly seizures have ceased, have been on this medication for 28+ years, and weight gain as well as hair loss was evident early on in treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anonymous, healthy, male | 19-24 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/13/2016
Condition: Tonic-Clonic Epilepsy
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used 2000mg, daily for about 7-8 years (15 years old-23 years old). depression, mood swings and slight bi-polarism was common. i learnt to adapt and change accordingly. now im free, and i feel normal, although i went though a lot. iv managed to stay healthy, competitive and active, maybe it motivated me even more.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Olive | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/14/2015
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication by my psychiatrist along with Cipralex (escitalopram) for anti-depression. I have since stopped taking both but while I was on them both I was very uncomfortable and I was far more mentally unstable. I was very aggressive and lethargic. While escitalopram isn't listed as one of the drugs it can react with I would still say to be careful with it. At the time I was under 18 and I'd approximate about 130lbs, and 5'2" if that helps. Sex is female.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jespicable | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/24/2014
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed Bipolar. Weight gain is obvious. I had to take it daily, and I was getting used to that. Manic state is more controlled now, but I hated the weight gain... I'm having difficulty losing it now. Anyway, for its primary use, it's effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
8/14/2014
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I could write a novel on Rx Bi-polar meds after dealing with bi-polar for over 20 yrs. The true issue is preventing manic episodes. Valproic is one of only 3 meds that do that well, and also stop them during a manic phase. The meds work great for both! I have been on and off them due to side effect concerns. They are NOT good for your liver. Your liver is a super organ that does so many things for you. I have been off this med for over a year now. I have no depression and no manic episodes. Getting ALL nutrients, exercise, adequate sleep and avoiding STESS is key. Bi-polar is not a disease, it is a nutrient deficiency that causes imbalances in neurotransmitters! People dealing with "bi-polar" need ALL nutrients and it will go away. These meds are invaluable to bring a manic episode under control, however, they due not "cure the disease". The cure is nutrients...ALL of them! The key nutrients for the neurotransmitters for bi-polar are: FOLATE (Not, absolutely not folic acid! Never consume folic acid!!), CHOLINE, IRON, B6, B12 all amino acids, & MAGNESIUM. Research on the net food sources for them, and consider supplements. However, 99% of all "vitamin supplements" are not vitamins. Even the ones at health food stores! They are pharmaceutical grade analogs (PGA's). They are horrible for your body, cause cancer, and do not work in the same way as REAL vitamins from REAL food. If you research PGA's and how they make them and from what you will be horrified! Do not put them in your body! Instead, research "real food source vitamin supplements" and choose a good one. The one I selected is from Sunwarrior company because it had the adequate levels and correct ratios of B vitamins. I make a shake every morning with Gold Standard Whey protein powder, Twinlabs brewer's yeast, Spirulina, 1cup oatmeal softened in hog water, 1 frozen bannana, empty the herbs & supplements caps into it. I eat only whole, non-gmo, real food. That's all nutrients in a glass!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
8pliq3 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2014
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

its good ....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
donnymelanie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2014
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 250 mg of Valproic Acid TID and it has made me EXTREMELY sleepy and lazy. I haven't slept so much in years. I am weaning myself down to 1 pill at night to see if I can tolerate that. I will rate this at a later date.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/14/2014
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sideeffects of drug bothersome

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thenatural | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/8/2014
Condition: Tonic-Clonic Epilepsy
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 15 years on this medication, everything has been fine until the last year. The side effects have been extensive. Might have to change.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/20/2014
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good drug except for weight gain and heartburn. Doc says it's the Remeron that causes the weight gain. I think it is the Remeron and the Valproic Acid. I take 500 mgs in am and 500 mgs at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
j.cook | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/14/2013
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have been prescribed 5 250mg of valproic acid per day and it has worked for my seizures but i find it impossible to take the full amount. it is simply too painful for my stomach and diaphragm to handle. ive tried tecta, nexium, zantac for the acid reflux and heartburn and it all has been ineffective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shehawk | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/5/2013
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mwiseman | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/28/2013
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for the last 4 months for the chronic migraines. I was having migraines and headaches everyday. I started taking this, and I have only had 1 migraine since and only about 1-2 headaches a month. I have tried many different kinds of RX's and they didn't work. This one works great. Also, I have had no side effects from this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/5/2013
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son has autism and possible migraines. They put him on this 3 months ago. I don't like this drug. He has had personality changes, rashes, seemed depressed, but it does control his rages somewhat. He can't see when he takes this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marwa | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2013
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i hate being sick and i hate diseases this is my first experience with any disease.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/20/2012
Condition: Bipolar I Disorder with Most Recent Episode Mixed
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first i couldn't tell it was working. About a month later i started feeling a change

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
builderboy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/7/2012
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After years of fighting Depression the new Dr. tried this med and it started to work for the better. I didn't know I was bi-polar but my new wife did and she wasn't afraid to speak up as she too deals with depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/2/2012
Condition: Petit Mal Seizures
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter is 4 years old. She was prescribed 1.5 ml which did work for her in stopping the seizures. She also had absence seizures. It made her hair fall out and gave her terrible mood swings. She is being weined off this medicine and put on Topamax Sprinkles.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/30/2012
Condition: Epileptic Seizure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
maria | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
8/14/2012
Condition: Mania associated with Bipolar Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my husband has been on depakine 1500mg for about two months now. Two weeks after he started it he had a major panic attack which resulted in a suicidal attempt he has been hospitalised in intensive care and his doctors insist on taking it. so he does. But i am very uncertain and sceptical about it because i beleive that this medicine is totally blocking him.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More