Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

I only use it when I have an episode of A-Fib. In comparison to other medications I have used it reduces the length of the A-Fib episode considerably. I have no apparent side effects. I have had some serious side effects with other medications used to treat A-Fib.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Causes more issues with my heart. When I told this to my Doctor he stated that there are trade offs. I expressed concern he stated that my insurance coverage is lacking and he was hesitiant to do any more tests because the cost would impact the RNPO provider.The fund is small and poorly managed and not enough funds to allow for testing until the first of 2008.

Shared reviews and ratings

LBQ | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/10/2013
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had wonderful results with the 225mg dose of this drug. No side effects, very few stray beats, and it's very forgiving if I'm late on a dose. I'm not a candidate for ablation, so this is it for me. Happy to know it's there and works so well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JLB | 75 or over | Male | Patient
3/13/2013
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

8 years on this drug. Have had serious a-fib episodes three or four times. Just had a-fib ablation. So far it seems to be working 3 weeks later.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/14/2013
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lady B | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/6/2012
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

once the dosage was increased to 425 SR twice daily, it was almost as if someone had flipped a switched (almost overnight) and my symptoms were gone. Takes a little getting used to the metallic taste, but I'll take that anyday over AFib symptoms. Symptom free since 2009.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/12/2012
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

controls atrial but does make me feel more tired than propafenone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/9/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 60 years old. I was prescribed 4x150mg of Rythmol to be taken during atrial fib occurences, but no more than once a week. I have been ablated and have had 4 episodes in the last 2.5 years. I go back into rythum after about 2 hours. I get a very metallic taste, tiredness, dizziness, headache, and some nausea. Beats the heck out of the a-fib though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/30/2011
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with AFib in November 2007 and began taking 325MG. Honestly after reading the problems people were having in the reviews on here, I was a bit reluctant. But after being on it for 4 years, I can honestly say I have had no side effects at all. Not one. Nothing. And I have not had a single AFib attack since taking it. So don't let these reviews scare you too much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
headman | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/28/2011
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Afib eight years ago. I started with Rythmol 325 MG twice a day, but about a year ago I was increased to 425 MG twice a day to help better stabilize my Afib episodes. At the same time I started using the generic equivalent. Now, after I first take it, my heart beat seems to become irregular for an hour or so. Mye biggest problem, however, is muscle cramping especially in my ham strings which makes walking more difficult and in my neck. In addition the medication leaves me without energy; I sleep irregularly, have a lack of appetite, dry mouth, and loss of balance at times. I stopped taking it for a few days and these symptoms almost immediately started receding, but my Afib returned. Starting back the symptoms all returned. I’m not sure if these are due to the increased dosage or the generic version of the drug. I have an appointment with my cardiologist next week to talk about an alternative medication.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
doris rose | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/26/2011
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great for my Afib. I had irritating side effects WITHIN hours of my first dose. They included dry mouth (Xerostoma)which also makes it hard to swallow; difficulty sleeping (I am awakened 3-4 times at night just to wet my mouth), and bad taste in my mouth. Even my saliva taste as bad as the left over taste from taking Predisone. I have to constantly have something in my mouth,(hard candies or gum)because of the bad taste and dryness. It changed my taste buds where only very sweet or salty foods resemble what you tought you were tasting. Milk and water has to be room temp or warmed.(I use to put ice in my milk, but never more.) I lost 19 pounds the first year on the medication because the food didn't taste right. It has been hard to cook because I can't tell if food is seasoned correctly. I developed Thrush due to the dryness and a sore, stinging tongue. The over the counter medications for dry mouth only last 10-15 minutes. Even with these life changing side effects, I have resolved to take this medication so that my heart beat correctly.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tim | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/3/2011
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

SVT three times, Cardioversion twice, once with drugs and once with paddles, finally diagnosed with Arythmia (AFib). Doctor tried cathater ablation, no joy. He hit four spots (Synaps) and could not get it to go away. He put me on Rythmol SR 325 and I stayed on for four years with no issues. He took me off this past February/March and I had my first relaps today 8/3/11. This drug helped me enormously and I now want him to put me back on it, tomorrow.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Noney2 | 65-74 | Female | Patient
2/24/2011
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has been wonderful for me. They now have a generic for Rythmol. I have tried it cannot take it. Its makes me sick in lots of ways.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
candybar | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/17/2011
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Afib three months ago, although I know it had been going on for much longer than that. I was put on Rythmol 225mg 2xday along with Pradaxa. I experienced no relief from the afib and actually felt much worse with shortness of breath, a band like feeling around my chest and muscle soreness. The doctor increased the dose to 425mg 2xday a month later and things just got worse. After a week of that I had a holter monitor that showed brady-tachy syndrome. My meds were changed to Mutaq and Metoprolol. I had almost immediate relief from the afib and the other symptoms I was having. After the first week of getting thru side effects (lightheadedness and headaches) I'm finally starting to feel better. I've only had one afib episode in a week and a half, I'm finally hopefull that I will be able to function! See the doctor again in a couple weeks and as long as I continue to feel okay and my heart rate doesn't go to low all should be good. If not may need to have a pacemaker due to the brady-tachy syndrome.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/21/2010
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 39 yrs old and have Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome and PVCs. I was on beta blockers for years to control the tachyardia. Last year I developed A-FIB - Had 2 episodes - I converted with meds the first time but had to be cardioconverted the second time. They started me on Rythmol SR 325 after the conversion but they had to increase my dose to 425 mg twice daily after about a month. So far so good!!! PVCs are gone and no atrial fib since August, 2010. Some constipation but that is a side effect I can handle in exchange for heart rate and rhythm control!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patty | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/28/2010
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for over 6 years. It has kept my heart in regular rate and rhythm, BUT I am always nauseous and dizzy for a few hours after each dose. I would like to get off this medication eventually. Anyone else like to share their story with me. I was only 55 years old when I developed a-fib.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/15/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JerryJ | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/6/2010
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within 4 days of taking Rythmol SR 225 Mg, I became jittery, and could not sit still. I became constipated, and had low energy. I stopped using the medicine, and called my cardiologist to report side effects. While on the medicine, however, I did not get Arrythmia. At least one good thing came out of using this medicine. This medicine is very, very pricy. I am awaiting my cardiologist's next move. I may have to have the ablition procedure, after all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/1/2010
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having reocurring atrial fiblalation for over a year sometimes requiring me to go to the emergency room. Tried several different drugs and this has been the only one that seems to work. I get a slight fiblalation once in a while lasting only a few seconds. Otherwise the rythmol has been taking care of my problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
prettiepam | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/23/2009
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Rythmol 220 for almost a year....it does not completely keep me from AFIB, but it does work....with my insurance it cost $60, but my Cardiologist will give me samples and will give me coupons as well....I attempted the ablation procedure and my lung was punctured, so I am very afraid to try again....I just pray that God will continue to watch over me...in addition to the Rythmol SR 220 2x a day I also take coumadin and cardizem...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rosie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/8/2009
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just got my first prescription filled, with a coupon and my insurance, it was $316.00. I believe this is outrageous. It is not a new drug and I am sure the drug company is making a fortune on it. I will see if my doctor can find something as good and less expensive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/30/2009
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this drug seems to keep my heart from atrial fib.... i do worry about the expense and the toxic possibility of use.... I mayhave to go to generic dose as to cost..... it is not SR....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More