Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

100 People found this comment helpful

This is honestly the worst drug anyone could ever take. I took 60mg of Duloxetine for over 5 years and had to come off it for surgery. I was initially prescribed it by a psychiatrist and left on it for so long because my GPs didn’t know what it was or what it did. Admittedly, it did the job and helped a lot with my depression and anxiety, but it wasn’t worth it for the withdrawal symptoms I suff...

Shared reviews and ratings

Becky Edson | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/28/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am not sure if this medicine is causing feeling sick or not but it is one of the side effects. Wondering if anybody else has had this side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kate | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
9/23/2022
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Cymbalta (Dytrex equivalent) a couple of years ago for my Rheumatoid Arthritis ( in conjunction with another medication for my RA). My Doctor said that Cymbalta is a very safe drug with very little side-effects; he didn’t mention anything about the withdrawal side-effects (I’m not sure if he really even knew the full extent of the withdrawal symptoms). Now, in 2022, my Arthritis is under control so I am happy to gradually wean off the Cymbalta. A couple of weeks into weaning off this medication, I was already going through hell, and I haven’t even taken it for a long period like some of the poor people who have commented in the last few years. I suffered from constant diarrhoea, nausea, dizziness, brain-zaps, sleeping problems. A few months further on into weaning off the Cymbalta, things were starting to get worse - I was getting constant ‘Hyperhidrosis’ (severe sweating of the heels, palms, underarms) - to the point that I was losing a lot of electrolytes in my body, and went to Emergency because I didn’t know what was wrong with me and why I wasn’t feeling better (I also had a viral cold at the same time, to complicate things more); I also realised that I was getting serious ‘Anxiety attacks’. As a normal thing, I just get a ‘little’ bit of anxiety at times, but Cymbalta has made everything so bad! I get anxiety attacks especially at night when I’m alone, I feel so scared to be alone by myself, I suddenly have an uncontrollable fear of death, fear of everything that threatens my safety and my life, I can’t even explain why I fear, I just feel that I fear, without even knowing what exactly it is that I fear, things are just so literally crazy! I don’t feel like I am myself, my head always feels so cloudy, unclear, fuzzy; I feel a deep sense of hopelessness, depression, lacking motivation in doing anything, even the things that I use to enjoy doing before; I have memory loss, I use to be a very alert and switched-on type of person, now not anymore. I feel my life has been ruined, and my good future has been prematurely taken away from me. I don’t know if this anxiety attack will ever go away entirely, I don’t know if I will ever have a normal life like I did pre-Cymbalta. I pray for all those who have and will suffer from this drug, and can only hope that eventually the withdrawal effects may miraculously taper off. If I knew how bad the withdrawal side-effects were, I would ‘NEVER’ have taken Cymbalta, I would have tried some other drug for my RA. The withdrawal symptoms are so bad that it’s not worth taking Cymbalta because in the process you will gain more serious problems, some of them may even last for a long time, whether they may be permanent, I do not know. It is my hope, for the sake of us all, that they are not permanent withdrawal effects, such as my very scary and debilitating and paralysing ‘anxiety attacks’. May we all help and support each other through this hellish journey. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chloexx | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
9/22/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Please don’t be put off trying this medication by all the bad reviews. I’ve had chronic generalised anxiety and panic disorder all my adult life, and I’ve tried every ssri and also venlafaxine xr. This is the first drug I’ve tried that has not only helped massively but I don’t have any horrible side effects from. It’s literally saved my life. I still have slight anxiety but it’s manageable, and I don’t panic anymore. I actually feel I can live my life and feel normal now. It’s also the only drug that has given me a sort of sex drive back and normal orgasms again. Please don’t be afraid to try it. It’s worked amazingly for me. I wouldn’t be without it. Give it time, starting any new medication can be a bit rough, but it’s honestly a miracle worker. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vonnie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2022
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 74 year young female. I have suffered with muscular pain and extreme lower back and leg pain for years. Most of my lifetime. I have been on I do believe every antidepressant there is out there, including getting injections. After speaking to my pharmacist my doctor agreed for me to try Cymbalta. Tonight will only be my third pill. I was a little concerned about the side effects. So far none except tiredness. First pill took in the morning as I already have insomnia for years. That day very tired so the next was a nighttime try. Very restless sleep but going to try again tonight. As I said I had i Sleep deprivation before this med. so far excellent and I’m glad I tried. To not have this pain throughout my day will be heaven. I will update in a few weeks. So far minimal side effect . Please try this one. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jac.. | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was terrified to take this medication after reading the bad reviews. I’m so happy that I did. The first week I felt “high” as if I had taken cold medication. Terrible diarrhea and hot and cold chills. Although they were very frustrating none of the side effects were bad enough that I couldn’t make my way to work. I take 30mg at night before bed (with a gaba/melatonin/magnesium supplement and I have no problems sleeping at all. Come morning I feel a little tired still but nothing I can’t deal with. I for sure wouldn’t be able to take this medication during the day. Haven’t noticed any sexual side effects yet. Within a couple of days of taking this medication my anxiety and depression have almost completely gone. It has been an absolute life saver for me. About a week and a half after starting the medication I started to develop a rash on my face and neck. Unsure if the rash was related I stopped taking the medication for two days. It went away. I’ve been back on them for about a week and it hasn’t come back yet. I highly recommend this drug. I had tried so many other things and had such bad reactions but this drug literally saved my life. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ricky | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/21/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was lucky I started having bad side effects after the first dose of this horrendous medication . Hallucinating , loose bowel movement, feeling spicy like I wasn’t in the room.after calling my doctor he told me to keep on the medication so I took the second dose the next day & the side effects got worse I ended up in the emergency room 14 hours after I took the second dose Heart beating out off my chest ,hot & cold sweats,agitated, constipated ,low blood pressure, not knowing who or were I was ,struggling to breathe ,horrible uncontrollable body shaking I spent 1 day in hospital I stopped after that 2nd dose I called my doctor & told him no more medication like duloxotine I have been off them for a few days now I’m only taking Ibuprofen now.to manage the back pain The pain is still there . But I put up with the pain Instead of all the side effects from this hideous medication. Please I just want people to not take this medication It’s not worth it Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janet | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started to take Duloxetine 20mg for neuropathic nerve pain for about two months and so it worked fairly well. Then my mPCP suggested that I try 30 mg and my digestive system completely shut down and it caused chronic constipation. Plus it made me pee a gallon at night and my skin especially on my face felt like concrete. So I stopped it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sacha | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from bipolar disorder II, adhd, and fibromyalgia. I take 15 grains, not grams, but individual grains in the morning and 15 grains at night, 12 hours apart. I also take Vimergy MTHR which is a folate and a b12. I also take lemon balm and cat's claw. The duloxetine at this level has helped me so much with the depression. I take such a small amount due to the fact that my provider wanted me to make sure it wouldn't flip me into mania. It doesn't and it has taken me out of one of the worst depressions I have ever had last fall and I continue to not have depression. I have to take it 12 hours apart because it will start to wear off so I have to be sure to take it. It takes away my body pain and depression. Doctors always raise and eyebrow when they find out that I am taking such a small amount but for me it works, and I need to take it. Everyone is different. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hd2334 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/2/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Medication is impossible to stop. Interacts with so many medications. Pretty sure it has made my hypertension worse. Doctors should really warn people of how hard this medication is to stop. You literally feel the brain zaps when you are tapering down. It’s just horrible.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aaron | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/23/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Broke my back a couple years ago, have had a spinal fusion resulting in extreme nerve pain and nerve damage in my right leg. It was unbearable. Been taking 120mg for almost 2 years. Haven’t had any noticeable side effects. I definitely wouldn’t be able to survive with out it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adam | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/17/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug after 6+ years of taking sertraline hasn't done anything but made me more paranoid and very emotional. Also am dealing with a bout of PTSD and sleep problems. I have a hard time finding a way to take care of my problems without risking my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peg | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/10/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Duloxetine is by far the worst medicine I’ve taken. First I experienced major hair loss and then I broke out with hives and welts all over by body and had severe itching. Never take it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
XiuXiu | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/24/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for depression/anxiety/neuropathic pain about 5 years ago. On 60mg then up to 120mg, then down again. Did it work? Yes despite sexual side effects and excessive sweating, worked great. Even made neuropathic pain stop. Is it hard to come off? Yes - forgot to bring it while traveling a few years ago, and felt like I was going to die: brain zaps, impulsive behavior, emotional swings, weird uncontrollable bodily sensations. Currently, I am slowly reducing dose from 20 mg to zero, and even that feels tough. Doctors really should be obliged to warn patients about withdrawal symptoms before prescribing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicole pizzi | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/24/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gave me suicidal thoughts, increased depression

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nickole | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/21/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med has transformed my life, with benefits greater than anything else prescribed to me in terms of reducing pain and improving how I feel. Most especially, my level of alertness. A wonder drug. I have never felt better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Erin | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/7/2022
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine has literally changed my life. Major reduction in my fibro pain. Significant reduction in anxiety and nervousness. Huge change in my quality of life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mcg766 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/30/2022
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was given to because I mentioned suicide if my back pain was not fixed. It leveled out my moods BUT it killed my appetite. I went from 230-170 in a few months. I completely lost the urge to eat at all. My sex drive also took a huge dive.i didn't even think about sex. I stopped the medication and my sex drive also wanting to eat again returned.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cathy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2022
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have tried everything to help with nerve pain, joint pain, fatigue, depression and anxiety related to CFS/ME and Long Covid. Cymbalta gave me the best relief within a week of using. I can finally go back to my job and my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abdel | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/15/2022
Condition: Chronic Muscle or Bone Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 19 tablets a day for various health issues and as with any new medication you must wait for few months for your body to test it, if you expect a long term drug to work right away you must be dreaming. the only drugs that works instantly are pain killer and Morphine because their job is to block pain receptors, the rest are very complex to explain in few sentences. Your body is created by God and God has put a mechanism that is adaptable to stresses, just like when you cut your hand and cut a vein your body would find alternative route. The reason why drugs do not work is because of expectation is high. a simple relaxation can do wonder to the mind and body. So always work with your Doctor and stop reading people's opinions as we are made differently.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
blackbeartooth | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/2/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to take escitalopram and pregabalin but cannot take them anymore because they interact with my ivabradine heart medication. My psychiatrist prescribed duloxetine for depression and PTSD. It was absolutely horrible. The first time I took it I threw up. Then the next day I was nauseous all day, could not eat, I was fatigued and after about 15 hours since taking it, I started to feel drugged up, I was confused, could not speak or think. I only took it for 3 days, it was horrendous and my body could not tolerate it. Quit cold turkey, 3 days later I am very agitated and angry all the time. Started taking 20mg Paroxetine, hopefully that will be fine, the side effects are minuscule so far compared to how bad duloxetine was. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More