Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

37 People found this comment helpful

i get one shot of 80mg in the fall and it keeps seasonal allergies away.. using it for about 10 years have no side effects of any kind. anyone suffering from seasonal allergies should try this it really works

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

I had three intramuscular injections. As a result my periods didn't end for 75 days. I had diarrhea, suicidal thoughts, vitamin D deficiency, paresthesia, numbness in my limbs, scalp burning, severe scalp hair loss, eyebrows and eyelashes loss, itchiness all over my face and head, dermatitis, acne, headaches. It's been 5 months after injections and I'm still losing hair by handfuls! I've lost 50% ...

Shared reviews and ratings

TW | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Lining of a Joint
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HORRIFIC. SIJ injection/bilateral: Within one hour-hour of the injection I had: feet burning, leg burning, hand and body burning, blurred vision, headache, eye aches, nausea, dizziness. I immediately developed fatigue, body sensitivity, cognitive issues, burning pelvis, body itching, profuse sweating day and night, and paradoxical insomnia. My doctor denied any connection whatsoever to the injection. I ended up in the. ER. It has been 9 weeks and my symptoms are worsening.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KenalogDamage | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had keloid scars injected five times over the course of a year with kenalog and it did help flatten the scars a bit temporarily. After a few months they popped back up though. The worst part was the side effects. At first I didn’t tie it to the drug. With each shot it got worse- extreme irrational mood swings, rage, irritation, trouble thinking, argumentative, impatience, and panic. I became very suicidal and depressed. It also caused blurry vision and eye pressure. I suffered from acid reflux and gerd for about a month after. I also had irregular periods. The most embarrassing part aside from my crazy emotional wreck personality was my hair loss. I started shedding insane amounts of hair for months after. 6 months after stopping it’s FINALLY started to calm down with the hair loss. I would guess I’ve lost 30 percent of my hair. So sad. Do not use this drug. It’s not worth it. It damages your brain. The only suggestion I have and that genuinely helped me was to eat a lot of liver. A doctor recommended it to me. Sounds crazy but it did actually seem to work. I eat it almost daily now and it has really sped up my recovery. My moods are normal again and like I mentioned, my hair loss has chilled out. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marilyn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/4/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Lining of a Joint
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've read where some people have a horrible experience with this medication, but it's been amazing for me. I usually get 1-2 shots a year in my sacroiliac joint. The shots are a little painful, but the results are usually great for me. I travel a lot and it is really beneficial to me to get these shots especially when I fly because you have to sit for so long and don't get to stretch or move often. I've been getting these shots for years and have never had a bad experience with them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kyle | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2022
Condition: Allergic Reaction caused by a Drug
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a musician of 25 years old. My wife and I were going to celebrate our anniversary at Disneyland. My doctor gave me this injection of Kenalog and now I'm suffering all the side effects. Shaking, anxiety, dizziness, nausea, can't sleep. Kenalog kay have ruined my life. I got an IV to flush it out but I fear I am too late. It keeps coming back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | 45-54 | Female | Patient
9/22/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Sac Surrounding the Joint - Bursitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

AWFUL!! while it did its job with my shoulder pain, it has just about ruined the last 2 months of my life. The jitteriness is the WORST. Uterine bleeding for 6 weeks now and my arms and legs feel as heavy as bricks. Not to mention the shortness of breath and palpitations. I have been to 9 different doctors and 2 have agreed that it is the side effects of this shot with minimal they can do to treat the side effects of this poison. When does it end?? I cant function normally.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/15/2022
Condition: Joint Disease which may include Attacks of Acute Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In June of 2022 I was healthy and active except for some pain and stiffness from hip osteoarthritis. I received one intraarticular hip injection and 5 days later my life was turned upside down. 4 ER trips, numerous tests (all normal), scans etc. Missed work, unable to get out of bed. Debilitating nausea, elevated BP, anxiety off the charts, hot flashes, ears ringing, hair loss, weird pins and needles sensations, brain fog and the list goes on. The frustration is real....no doctor wants to admit Kenalog did this. Nothing else makes sense if you understand the timeliness of the symptoms and the shot. Stay away from this drug. 14 weeks and counting. Just now can slightly function. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
9/14/2022
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had Kenalog 40 injection 2 weeks ago for my shoulder pain. Since then I feel extremely tired, sleepy, unable to concentrate, nausea, lost my taste and appetite. The doctor did not share any of these side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sean, Scotland | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/13/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would recommend AGAINST this injection. I took the injection to combat bad seasonal allergies / hayfever but did not fully appreciate the potential side effects. 6 days after the injection I suffered for an episode where I was close to collapsing, extreme dizziness, weakness and muscle fatigue which turned to aggressive muscle twitching. Following this i have continued to have regular dizziness, difficulty concentration, heavyness in eyes / tiredness, low mood and lack of energy. Currently 10 weeks post injection hoping that these side effects end soonRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jim | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have osteoarthritis in both knees resulting in pain and stiffness. For the last 3 years, I have been getting knee injections every three months ( doctor will not give injections more often ) . The relief I get can be expressed using a bell curve graph. Over the first two - three weeks, my pain and stiffness improve greatly. I then hit a welcomed plateau for about six - eight weeks. The pain and stiffness then begin to return. I find that the more weight bearing activity I do during that time greatly effects how quickly the pain and stiffness return. During the plateau I can run on the treadmill - but don't. The immediate weeks before my injections, it is embarrassing to be scene trying to get up off the floor. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laynie D | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have gotten the drug for 3 years 2x a year to help with my allergies. I get one at the beginning of spring and one at the beginning of fall, it has worked wonders. BE CAREFUL who does your shot. I went to my primary care doctor and he had a nurse do the shot which was normal, they do it every time. I got my shot but she did it on the side of my hip and hit my bone. I did not think very much of it, but a couple months later I noticed a small dip in my hip forming. it was the size of a pea and I thought it was weird but brushed it off. My last shot was on 06/15/21. the shot expires 6 months after injection which is why I get 2 a year. The nurse that have me the injection, injected it into one of my tendons and it started eating away at the fat, muscle, and tendons around it. The dip is now showing through my clothes and is the size of a fist. I went back to my primary care doctor and he told me it would go away in 2 years. 4 months later is doubled in size so I went to see a plastic surgeon and he could not do anything until it stopped growing and waned to wait 2 months and have me come back in. I have chronic migraines and I got to talking to my neurologist and as soon as I showed him my hip, he immediately sent a referral over to a dermatologist. he said it was the worst case he has ever seen. I only weigh 95 lbs. So I went to a dermatologist and he injected saline into the area to open up some space and try to dilute the drug. It was extremely painful. I go back in, in a week, to get saline injections again and if nothing has changed, I have to get a biopsy done in the center which will cause my bone to be open. The dip is now right up against my hip bone with no fat or muscle in between. It is wrapping around my side towards my butt. This injections helps a ton with allergies but please be considerate of where they are injecting it. I have a ton of medical bills and appointments because a nurse gave me a shot wrong. be safe out there!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JP | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/3/2022
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hand surgeon gave it to me for carpal tunnel & arthritis in my hand. Within 30 minutes, my throat was swelling, starting with a little soreness, then when calling the Dr it was hard to talk because of my throat swelling. I called 911 & they said my face was also swelling, I had hives & blood pressure dropped drastically, saying I was in anaphylaxis, so I had to get epi & benedryl shot from paramedics, then had to get epi & benedryl at the hospital & remained in the ICU for at least 24 hours & I had never had any type of severe allergic reaction to anything, including food & neither has any of my family, but this one specific drug changed all that & now I have to carry an epi penRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
him&me | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/24/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

wasn't sure which category to enter this under but here's my thoughts on it anyway! my husband has had a frozen shoulder for six months with very little medical intervention in that time. he had an injection of Kenalog into his shoulder on a friday, by the following monday he was in the same amount of pain as he was before he had the injection,so it clearly it hasn't worked for him.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Watchout | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given kenelog injection for some skin issues I was having ,30 minutes later after shopping I ended up sneezing , itching and my nose had closed completely and throat was swelling up as well very hard to breathe , good thing I was close to my ER , oh and don’t forget HIVES covered my whole body . Was given a benedryl shot and ended up going home a few hours later with instructions to take Claritin, bendryl and Pepcid for a month straight . Was never told about possible side effects, never have been allergic to anything but I would say steroids are a no go for me . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cubbie79 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/2/2021
Condition: Joint Disease which may include Attacks of Acute Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 20+ years of knee pain, multiple surgeries, and a variety of arthritis medications including other injections, I received Kenalog injections a little over 2 years ago. The relief was significant and almost immediate, but not total. My knees feel better than they have in years. I receive injections in both knees and they have lasted 6-9 months each time. Wit previous injections I was lucky to get a week of relief. I have experienced no side effects other than a little tenderness at the injection site. Highly recommend and I will continue to get them until I finally break down and have my knees replaced. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hopeful | 45-54 | Female | Patient
7/28/2021
Condition: Inflammation of the Nose due to an Allergy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT TAKE THIS MEDICINE!! I had one shot every summer for allergies. Had no reaction at all for 5 years straight. Shot cleared my allergies up. To me at the time I thought my allergies where terrible and would do anything to make them go away.. Well until this year . Had the same shot as I do every year. 1 week later I had early period and cramps that felt like I was in labor. Never had cramps like this other then child birth. Had heavy heavy flow . Also heart was racing and had extreme anxiety , dizziness,body aches,tiredness After bunch of tests all they found was thickened uterus and anxiety. After reading other reviews I see many similar side effects. This lasted 3 weeks!! TERRIBLE 3 WEEKS I’m better now but I have lost a great deal of hair and still have anxiety which I now have medication for. Hopefully someone reads this and it will help save from going thru the TERRIBLE SIDE EFFECTS .. PLEASE DO URSELF A FAVOR AND DONT TAKE THIS MEDICATION Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Traumamomma | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/23/2021
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given kenalog by my doctor as I was walking out of the office my other knee/ leg broke out in hive itchy and very painful

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rkitchen | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/26/2020
Condition: Joint Disease which may include Attacks of Acute Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had two shots of kenalong, one in each knee due to osteoarthritis. I was a wee bit dizzy after the appointment and the injection sites extremely painful, I could barely walk on them. About four hours later, I had to call an ambulance because my heart rate was over 200bpm and wouldnâ??t go down. I was given Ativan and sent home after a few hours once my heart rate lowered. Then three days later, I ended up back in a different hospital due to a high heart rate, fever and rashes across my cheeks and chest. This was a horrible experience and highly recommend you do NOT get this injection! That was in August 2020, itâ??s December 2020 and I am still struggling with side effects like rapid heart rate, dizziness and vertigo.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/11/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take get this injection every spring and am miserable with seasonal allergies I receive. My symptoms vanish within hours of the injection. I still take Clariton throughout the summer to help with really high pollen count days. This drug is a miracle cure as far as I am concerned. Some years I have to get a second shot in August to get me through fall harvest (corn dust in the air).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Car | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/15/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible ..one time injection for wrist pain !! don’t use .. I had bad side effects..sweating profusely.. heaviness over eyes .. my hold body skin felt like sunburning inside out .. took my breathing away ..was having difficulty.. than got very moody .. almost mind altering .. my hair feels dried out .. the side effects are worse than using this injection.. WASNT TOLD or given paperwork of what injection was given .. possibly side EFFECTS !! When back to Doctors only thing they could tell me was to take to counter Antihistamines ..told me to take extra Zyrtec‘s still had bad effects .. went back still couldn’t help me .. 2 1/2 months of bad side effects.. my skin still feels burning inside out .. notice my beautiful hair drying brittle feeling .. side effects aren’t worth this injection ..like I said 2 months of hell than 1/2 month slightly calming .. THEY HAVE NOTHING TO COUNTER ACT THIS INJECTION!! if I could find lawyer I would go after this company!! I went in thinking was having heart problems..( sweating profusely.. breathing like locomotive pulling heavy load up hill .. mood .. heaviness above eyes the burning of my skin inside out ..) than told it triggered something.. seen Cardiologist.. so was advised to see pulmonary.. tested they couldn’t find anything .. all 3 specialists believe this shot triggered something.. but amazing they can’t find problems!! Still have symptoms ... Beware of this injection !! Still feel side effects .. Remember they have nothing to counter act this drug !! Antihistamine did not help much .. this drug should be removed !! Only had one injection in wrist .. Nightmare injection!! Never again will I take injections.. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
freeway | 65-74 | Female | Patient
9/6/2019
Condition: Joint Disease which may include Attacks of Acute Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will never take these shots again. The side effects have been terrible and ruined my life for the last month. Praying they will go away soon. Just wish I knew how long it takes them to go away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More