Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

112 People found this comment helpful

after the first 3 months on this medication, my good cholesterol has increased from 17 to 41 (above 40 is target), my bad cholesterol decreased from 206 to 140, and my triglycerides decreased from 473 to 160. I have experienced no side effects at this point.

Shared reviews and ratings

Bert | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2022
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doc changed my to Feno as statins caused me joint pain. After only 3 doses I'm dumping this lot in the trash. Made me light headed and unsteady. I'd rather take my chances with higher cholesterol!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2022
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Fenofibrate 160 mg 3 weeks. No more. I'm tired, constipated, feel weak and light headed and am not sleeping well. Supposed to take it for 90 days so don't know if it brought my Triglycerides down or not. Don't know if my age of 72 is a factor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2021
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m taking fenofibrate 145mg daily, I stopped taking a statin drug because of severe tiredness! I’ve been on the fenofibrate for 3 weeks it has lowered my triglycerides dramatically, but I noticed the tired issues started coming back. I’m going to re-evaluate, and will go off this new drug, because I will not tolerate how the statins made me feel.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chris | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2021
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I haven't had blood work since starting fenofibrate 54mg generic 8 wks ago. Triglic was 451! Ack! My PIEdemic had to end! I'm super strictly dieting, I'm sure I'll see a huge improvement, but I'm quitting this med. The amount of laxatives is ridiculous, amoung the other nonsense stated by others here. Diabetes + stress + pie = bad! Avoid drugs, take a lesson. ????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2020
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What an evil little pill. After 3 doses, I began violently throwing up, w/ excruciating stomach & back pain. Felt like a fool that had just ingested rat poison! Just say, "NO!"

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nonua | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/9/2020
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

They raised it from a tier 2 to a tier 3 drug and now I have to pay a 380.00 dollar deductible, NOT

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cvdixon29 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/12/2019
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has worked very well with my cholesterol levels. I've taken this medication for a few years and I have had great results and no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stephen412 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2019
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nothing I experienced as described by others in the form of side effects. Nothing helped me as this drug did compared to prior therapy attempts . I go for blood work every 3 months and no signs of anything from this drug effecting my body. Also diabetic and take metformine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Neikoanthony | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2018
Condition: High Amount of Fats in the Blood
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For me,after 12 days on a dose of 160 mgs,I had to quit it,the side effects we're very bad,made me feel VERY tired,no energy,headache,amplified pain,I'll take my chances on life over having this stuff in me,NOT FOR ME

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chuck | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/28/2017
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's worked wonders for blood fats, BUT I was wondering why food doesn't have much taste anymore. I keep eating stuff, thinking that it will eventually taste good, if I just eat enough!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/3/2017
Condition: High Amount of Triglyceride in the Blood
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helped to decrease my Triglycerides by half in conjunction with a statin drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AZ Cowboy | 75 or over | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/31/2017
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

tried all statins.Various bad side effects (muscle deterioration, memory loss, vertigo, etc.)with each one. Finally gave up statins. General health improved considerably. Started Fenofibrate, later combined with Zetia and numbers came down to same range as with statins- and no indicated side effects!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/26/2016
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

side effects of muscle pain, weakness, memory problems and weight gain...far outweigh the slight chance of developing heart disease which at 78 yrs old i have no signs of..don.t need diabetes either...no more drugs...doctor not happy, but i am

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
emg128 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2016
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Insomnia or restless sleep. I am already a fibromyalgia patient with struggles with sleep, I don't need more. Less sleep = more body pain = more pain medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
petshopgirl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/18/2015
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to stop fenofibrate due to muscle pain and weakness. My cholestrol was unreadable it's so high. The drug did more harm than good. Now that I'm off it, I feel better. Still on Zetia and Pravastatin. Thinking of dicontinuing those also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
reporter | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/20/2015
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

was prescribed statins which caused extreme muscle weakness and memory problems which I suffered with for three years. Doctor switched to Welchol which lowered it somewhat but not enough as statins. He added 145 mgs of finofibrate and numbers came down dramatically with no noticable side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Buddy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/17/2015
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking the Fenofribate and Atorvastatin caused arm and neck pains, and muscle weakness. Off and on taking the meds, and noticed the pain when I took them. I stopped, and neck and arm pains are gone. Hate that it caused muscle weakness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/15/2015
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started three medications on the same day so I wasn't sure what was happening. I broke out with a rash that covered my arms ,legs back. When I looked up side effects I found the culprit. Needless to say it's in the trash,hopefully this will clear up soon

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jlpel2 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2015
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication gives me headaches, constipation, weigh gain, and did absolutely nothing for my cholesterol levels. Not going to take it if its not doing anything!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/14/2014
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did have to have my gallbladder removed but I've been great sense

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More