Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

25 People found this comment helpful

Prior to being prescribed the Asmanex twisthaler, I was using my rescue inhaler much more than prescribed...before bed, during the night, in the morning, etc. Since I began using Asmanex (almost 3 weeks ago), I have yet to have to use my rescue inhaler and I sleep through the whole night without issue. The only problem I have had with this product is that when you first use it, even with the dir...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

How much did the "doctor" get paid by the drug maker to switch me from Advair??? According to the informational insert, this is a potentially dangerous "medicine"!

Shared reviews and ratings

levi | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/29/2021
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lifelong severe asthma. NOTHING worked to control it, doctors all thought I was nuts. After a month of Asmanex it's like my asthma was GONE. You can't miss a dose but that's well worth it to gwt some sleep!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/7/2020
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aprildk87 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/13/2018
Condition: Controller Medication for Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for years. At one point about 3 years ago I did switch to Singulair because of insurance/price and I regretted it within a couple of weeks, I got pneumonia. So I went right back to it. It is the only one that works for me. Without it I have no doubt I would either be dead or be very disabled.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ChewyFrog | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/10/2018
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Refused to take this medication 2 years ago because I don't suffer from asthma and I exercise 4 times a week. But pneumologist insists I could be breathing better based on my test results. After less than 1 week of taking this poison, I started feeling chest tightness, overall weakness, nausea and insomnia. So I took this so-called medecine and threw in the trash. Thanks for everything doc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/17/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Weird,Vivid Dreams, joint pain in hands, lower back pain, irrirable

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CP | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/27/2015
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked well for my 12 year old's asthma, but he got anxiety after about 3 months. (Prior use of singular had given him anxiety too.) Had to stop because he got so emotional.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/29/2015
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after trying other inhalers without success my doctor put me on asmanex. within 5 days it started to work. Could not believe the relief I got.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tony | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/14/2015
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found that the meds by themselves didn't always work so i had heard that different veggies worked if you ate regularly so I start drinking smoothies two to three times a week with veggies I did't like but worked well in smoothies and my attack almost stop completely

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vanman | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/6/2014
Condition: Severe Chronic Obstructed Lung Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Symbacort, but was plagued with cronic bouts of thrush. I have been using Asmanex for a little over a month, and it has helped improve my breathing with less need of my rescue inhaler. On the negative side, I'm pretty sure my vision is getting a little blurry and this past week, and for no apparent reason, my lower back and hip joints have been causing me discomfort, and I have been experiencing abdominal discomfort. I can't say for sure that this med has caused these issues, but I include that info since those are side effects listed for this med.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Richard | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/27/2014
Condition: Severe Chronic Obstructed Lung Disease
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Opened the container after it was completely used...down to zero. Found lots of powder left in container. Certainly not good. This method of having bulk product, not measured shows a very poor dispensing method.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KingBee | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/15/2014
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

How much did the "doctor" get paid by the drug maker to switch me from Advair??? According to the informational insert, this is a potentially dangerous "medicine"!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kneap | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/14/2014
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took a while to get used to the unique inhalation steps but Symbacort and Advair only helped me a little bit. Real reason I changed was price. This is still way over-priced and I feel sorry for people without insurance but it has been effective in reducing bouts and severity of asthma attacks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marye | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2014
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

developed severe itching on scalp and ears;itching and rash on legs & feet continued to worsen even after I stopped taking. No relief until I took a steroid dose pak. Ins. let me go back to Flovent

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pops | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/6/2014
Condition: Asthma Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used asmanex and Spiriva to control chronic coughing and wheezing. I did very well for 2 months but was hospitalized with sinus infection and uncontrollable coughing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DEELO26 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2014
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

NO MEDS THAT MY DOCTOR(S) PRESCRIBED FOR ME HELPED. EVEN WITH PREDNISONE. I HAD TO USE MY RESCUE INHALER MORE & MORE. I HAD TO GO TO THE URGENT CARE WHO THEN CALLED THE PARAMEDICS TO TAKE ME TO THE HOSPITAL BECAUSE I COULDN'T BREATHE & I'D BE THERE FOR 4-5 DAYS.EVERY TWO MONTHS. THEY GAVE ME THE TREATMENTS I HAVE AT HOME. ALBUTERAL, NEBULIZER, OXYGEN, I GOT A SCRIPT FOR ASMANEX FROM MY DOCTOR & IT WAS LIKE A MIRACLE. NO WHEEZING, COUGHING, NO SHORTNESS OF BREATH. I COULD SLEEP ON MY BACK. IT FELT LIKE HEAVEN UNTIL THE 3RD WEEK. I ACHED ALL OVER MY BODY, WAS DIZZY, LEGS WERE WEAK, MY HAIR WAS THINNING & I STAGGERED. OF COURSE THESE SIDE EFFECTS ARE NOT TOLERABLE BUT I WAS SO HAPPY THAT I WAS ABLE TO BREATH NORMALLY. THAT'S IMPORTANT!!!! MUST I GO BACK ON PREDNISONE ? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Augusto | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2014
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Kept my asthma at bay, and reduced use of emergency inhaler. Side effects come along with it, for me at least. Insomnia, Intense dreams, joint pain, sinus congestion, slight sore throat (if you don't rinse after use) and irritability (angry). Cannabis is way better. I could smoke cannabis at night, and be fine throughout the next day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/15/2014
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a significant amount of time on this medication, I had significant heartburn and developed very paranoid thoughts. This is totally unlike my normal nature. In addition, I had been struggling with short term memory loss. I had not connected it to asmanex, however, within 2 weeks of stopping it, I regained my short term memory capacity.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Piper9213 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/19/2013
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did notice an improvement in lung function while I was on it, but I also started getting terrible bouts of nausea, several times a day (definitely not pregnate). I haven't taken the medication regularly, but within a couple days of starting the medication again I get terribly nauseous (sp?). My biggest complaints with this drugs is nausea and slight insomnia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mimi | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/11/2013
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ASKBiblitz6 | Patient
11/4/2013
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The most complicated puffer ever - designed by imbeciles! Terrible instructions, impossible to tell whether it's working. NO instructions on use with spacer. TOTAL waste of money. Ask for alternative until the brain-dead at Merck come up with something better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More