Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

32 People found this comment helpful

Over the two years that I have been taking this Topral XL 50 I have gained 40 pds. I have been VERY CAREFUL about the food I eat and still have gained weight. I am very upset about this.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

My doctor prescribed metoprolol 50mg for high blood pressure. I took it the first time in the evening because I had heard that it caused dizziness in a lot of people. However, it did not make me dizzy at all. By the evening of the next day I began to feel bloating in my rib cage like I was just very full. The second day I felt even worse and by the third day after taking 4 doses I was so miserable...

Shared reviews and ratings

morgan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/30/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking the actavis generic brand for a decade with no problems but sadly walgreens isn't carrying it anymore. They filled it with generic Teva which is making me feel terrible. Any ideas on how to get Actavis?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Concerned | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/29/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My BP was stable while using Metoprolol Succinate XR 100 mg. mfg. Actavis round white pill 832 over a decade, only problem my heart seem to beat hard and some digestive problems. The last 90 day supply was oval shaped 677 Teva mfg. did not control my BP at all. Headache, irritable and tiredness alerted me something was wrong and readings were 200/150, remaining elevated for several days. I went to Urgent Care at my family doctor for a BP check and it was abnormally elevated verifying that my BP monitor was correct. As patients and consumers how can we be ensured access to medications that work for us? The drug companies buy each other and pharmacies buy from various suppliers; drugs are from other countries not made in the USA! Since we are paying the price monetarily and physically; we should have access to medications that work best for us as individuals. Generic drugs ingredients vary and obviously not the same efficacy across the board. Its like playing Russian Roulette being forced into trying various generic drugs. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Metoprolol EX | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/24/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on this medication for 24 days an blood pressure remains high

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tam | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am having severe eye swelling..so bad that I can barely open my eyes. Anyone else doing this. I feel really tired and it is pulling heart rate down to about 40 at times.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2 Rods with 40 Screws. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/1/2019
Condition: Heart Rate Between 100 and 130 Beats Per Minute
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Following a 14 hr. Spinal Fusion surgery with considerable blood loss, I began having a rapid heart beat, but ONLY when trying to stand up from my hospital bed. It had been an issue in the past as well, as I have undergone MANY (20+) spinal surgeries,and I felt dizzy & light-headed following those procedures also.I had NOT been treated with medication, in a few cases I simply required a transfusion to restore my lowered blood level and some additional rest. This time, the hospital's cardiac Dr on call put me on Toprol 25, which helped, but in general, my symptoms went away after about 3-4 days.Afterwards, at my follow-up with my Primary Dr., I was found to have hypothyroidism, and he started me on Levothyroxine, and continued the Toprol as he felt the thyroid replacement could cause rapid heart beat in the beginning. About 8 months later I began to have severely increased fluid retention in my legs despite being on a long term diuretic. They felt puffy and weak, my walking was extremely limited with barely enough energy to walk down my driveway. I have NEVER had to watch my weight,and I very rarely gain due to over eating. Suddenly I began to pack on pounds despite no change in my diet, though it seemed the additional weight was restricted to my legs and feet, while the rest of me remained the same. (I am on the smaller side, 5'1", and 100 lbs.) Reducing my intake was of no help at all, and I was tired, lacked stamina, and had little interest in my usual hobbies. I slowly began to take fewer and fewer Toprol tabs and immediately saw a reduction in the leg puffiness, and feeling of excess fluid in my legs and feet. My stamina is slowly returning to normal, and I am hopeful I will be back to normal soon in the near future.Sometimes all that's required is rest and letting nature take it's course to heal to return to my old self. Medications are not always required no matter what the issue is.Many times, less is best!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nurse 1967 | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/10/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a few months I noticed I was having edema in my feet. It got worse and worse. Difficult to walk. Also had shortness of breath after very slight exertion. It was added as a third med but my pressure with it was not much lower than on my other meds. Was taking 25 mg and did not want to increase.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been using Metroprolol (Toprol.XL) for less then 3 months. Experienced an immediate acceleration of Blood Pressure (which had previously been normal), extreme swelling in ankles and feet (painful and hard to put on shoes), itchy rash on stomach, excessive gas, weight gain of 22 lbs in just 5-1/2 weeks. Had been using Metroprolol (Lopressor) for nine years, with none of these side effects. Spoke to the doctor; he says my side effects only effect 1% of people (here I am â?? the obvious 1%), but he thinks there is another cause for problems. Still waiting, but patience is thin !!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/7/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had no idea my doctor switched me to this drug. I have had horrible headaches from months on this drug. They are now switching me to something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ina | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took a half of the prescribed 25mg. pill before bedtime as prescribed. Horrible side effects. Restless, severe stomach pain, nervousness. Will not take again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
grammy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/7/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking a couple months ago for HBP but it seemed that my blood pressure increased for awhile. I also have swollen ankles, feet and hands, always tired, weight gain and all around fatigue. I take 100 mg a day and 5 mg Norvasc. I have an appointment to see if these are side effects or not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sseals | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on atenolol for 10 plus years. loved it but now there is a shortage of it. Doctor switched me to 100 mg of the generic of toporol. Horrible drug I had extremely high blood pressure, brain fog and lightheadness. After a visit to ER got switched to another beta blocker and back to my self!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
theuniqueldy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/26/2017
Condition: Prevention of Recurrent Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on a bata blocker for 34 yrs. for MVP then AF. Now on 200 mg. BID (2 x day) for 2 yrs. it has has worked well keeping my heart rate down and regular. ONLY thing, for the last 2 days my normal BP is now high, my pulse is still low but I am having intermittent chest pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Randy | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/19/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed metoprolol 50mg for high blood pressure. I took it the first time in the evening because I had heard that it caused dizziness in a lot of people. However, it did not make me dizzy at all. By the evening of the next day I began to feel bloating in my rib cage like I was just very full. The second day I felt even worse and by the third day after taking 4 doses I was so miserable I could not eat or sleep. It was like I had gorged myself and could not burp or belch and just kept getting worse. I called my doctor and he pulled me off of it and is going to put me on something else. Within 48 hours the bloating went away completely.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cc | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/13/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After starting I starting getting a roar in ears that was life disturbing. 4 different MD'S said it couldn't be the Toprol. Finally found a MD to try another med Cartia the roaring stopped within 4 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Redstripe | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/4/2016
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken 12.5 mg/ day ( evening) for just 6 weeks. My average bp is 111/72, average pulse 63 on this. My Bp was never high. I have lost about 4- 5 lbs since starting. Side effects have been fatigue, severe for the first few weeks, occasional insomnia, but those have lessened as time has gone by, but still occasional.I'm female, 69, 125 lbs, in general good health.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LYNN45! | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/3/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on the 25mg of this for over 10 years. If your insurance won't pay for name brand the ONLY generic that is the same,also made by same company, is by Par. I have had pharmacy switch generics in the past and they same there all the same well there not. Bad side effects, racing heart, feeling unwell. Now I go to a pharmacy that doesn't play the switching game. Please try the generic by par!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Darren | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/26/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 53 years old and have been taking Toprol(metatoprol) .25mg for 7 years. I have had no side effects at all. I have no pain and have not gained an ounce of weight. I do however have a strict excercise program of 30 minutes of cardio 3 times per week and light weights 4 times per week (1 hour), so about one hour per day. I have actually enjoyed less anxiety in public speaking and have kept my BP at about 110/70 (down from 140/90)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2016
Condition: Myocardial Reinfarction Prevention
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Magally g | 55-64 | Female | Patient
5/1/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take toprol lx 50 mg for years working pretty good my blood pressure is under control now the insurance dont want to paid my medication feel so upset my blood pressure is crazy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mapinthepoconos | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/11/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this medicine about 2 months ago. The generic bran. Within days my joints were all killing me. I'm tired all the time, craving sweets which I don't want or need. I'm weaning off. My doctor says it's all in my head. I feel he is too quick to give meds and not finding the reason for the HP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More