Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

I take this for severe muscle spasm of the neck (back of neck) which causes severe pain, severe head pain. I was told it can take a couple of weeks to work it took almost a month. So when you see those programs on tv where people walk into a cosmetic surgeons office, get injections and then the wrinkles magically disappear don't be fooled, it takes weeks to work. My first set of injections was in ...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I was enjected 6 times at onced - three on each side of my neck 2 years ago. starting Dec I started having lumps appear under the scalpof my head and down the back of my neck. they would become infected and had to be lanced. I had a 12 to 15 of these lumps to date. Been to several MD's with no answers. Botox is the only thing I've had in this area. I had one show up in lobe of ear a few ...

Shared reviews and ratings

lisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/1/2012
Condition: Deep Lines Between Eyebrows
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I voluntarily had injections of Botox to 'erase' lines between the eyebrows (I'm 52). They weren't very deep, but I didn't really notice any difference at all after the injections, and I was out considerable $$. Plus, a few weeks later, rather deep layers of skin started peeling off some of the injection sites, as if there was some tissue death there. The injections themselves were not painful at all, and there were no other side effects, but no benefits either. Although the consultant said I just needed a larger dose, they wouldn't provide any sort of 'touch up' and said I had to wait 3 months and have the whole thing re-done all at once, and that they would 'bump up' the dose a little each time, so it might be months and months until I received a satisfactory result. I wish it would have worked, but I was also afraid it would work too well and I would wind up spending too much money on it. I will save the rest of my money for something more worthwhile. If I was rich I might try it again, but I'm not - so I won't.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WhitePeace | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/19/2011
Condition: Eyelid Twitch
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have blepharospasm [eyes blink rapidly and / or eyelids close] Botox is essential to control this. The snag is I have now developed head nodding and facial grimacing so a 2nd lot of botox needed. The injection pain is minimal. I like many others get Botox Flu regulary. Warning: With your first injection you can have a severe "I feel like I'm dying reaction". I'm told this is quite rare but it did happen to me and caused a one day severe illness with a further 3-4 rest days to fully recover. It only happened the once and I have had no repeat of this frightening episode. Botox is wonderful and I thank the makers and finders for discovering it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kaki | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/20/2011
Condition: Twisting Neck Spasms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First treated in 1998 with Botox Type A for CD; continuing this treatment every 3-4 months. Side effects: always have flu-like symptoms which last about two weeks. Effectiveness of injections: pain lessened; spasms lessened; daily living has been improved since I began treatment. Pain and tremors will begin when botox is wearing off, then I eagerly look forward to next scheduled injections. Will continue treatment. Am very pleased with my body's acceptance of this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mm | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/22/2010
Condition: Eyelid Twitch
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
2/2/2010
Condition: Muscle Spasms due to a Brain Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Grandson has cerebral palsey, botox was given for muscle spasms. Since he has been on the botox he has had major problem with swallowing resulting in choking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rex00 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/28/2010
Condition: Twisting Neck Spasms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
littletwister1963 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/18/2010
Condition: Twisting Neck Spasms
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have ST and have had 2 sets of injections. the 1st time she only used 100 un and 2nd time 200 units. I have been in more pain now than ever!! Still cannot turn my head. will not do again!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mrsbill | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/26/2009
Condition: Twisting Neck Spasms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After auto accident, had surgury,tried all procedures for relief..started botox injections in neck, shoulder,upper back...finally helped! Get them every 3 months..My only concern,any health problems with long term use?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paul | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/30/2009
Condition: Muscle Spasms due to a Brain Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this drug as a supliment to my use of a baclofen pump.i use it for major leg uncontroled leg spasticity.i have been pleased with the results so far.i have had sick stomache,headaches and shakieness.also my leg got a lot weaker during the process but i knew that was a possibility but well worth it to ease the pain and spacticity.i would recomend this treatment for somebody with uncontroled spacticity due to neurological issues.the benefits outway the small side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dawnaheppe44 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/30/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have spasmatic torticolis with dystonia get injections every 3 months since 1994,still have pain but is bearable.most important I CAN MOVE MY HEAD LEFT TO RIGHT. MY head was locked looking to the right for ten years. Botox last 2 and a half months , and I can't wait for my next injections.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/30/2009
Condition: Twisting Neck Spasms
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get 12 shots in my neck area every 3 months. It is very painful and for a couple weeks after, but it is the only thing that has helped. Been getting them for 7 yrs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
me27513 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/10/2009
Condition: Deep Lines Between Eyebrows
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I tried botox twice to remove the angry-looking lines on my forehead. My sister raved about how it helped her headaches. Despite the outrageously high price, I decided to try it. It totally worked as promised. It seems to cost the same regardless of who injects it, so why not have a dermatologist do it? That's what I did. Both times I was happy with the wrinkle reduction, but both times my forehead muscles started to have spasms as the drug wore off, so for weeks I'd have a grimacing look on my face on and off throughout the day, which I could not control. Not only did it feel strange, it was embarrassing. I tried it a second time because my doc told me it was because my muscles were so strong, they were rebelling. :-) In the future, I will look more carefully at other longer-lasting solutions. For the same price, I can get line fillers which will last longer without the spasms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

used for neck pain and now cannot raise my neck up. Very sorry I took it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
isa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2009
Condition: Deep Lines Between Eyebrows
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was injected with botox in my face and around my mouth. I started feeling sick two days after, shorten of breath, flu like symptoms, headaches, swallonen face, droop eyelids, swoollen under the eyes, tilted moth, my face felt like a mask, liquids drools from my mouth . It seems I am allergic to botox. two weeks latter beter but still dont look like me. Never again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
casey | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/30/2008
Condition: Twisting Neck Spasms
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

L received injections to treat chronic muscle spasms of the neck and shoulders. I had severe pain in my neck and flu-like symptoms for a week. My neck is now weak, so I have trouble turning or raising my head. I have also had some dizziness at times. I don't plan on repeating this treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jtverberg | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2008
Condition: Muscle Spasms due to a Brain Disease
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i HAVE HAD MUSCLE SPASMS N MY TOES AN D HAND DUE TO A BRAIN IJURY. I HAD BEEN GOING IN FOR BOTOX SHOTS FOR 3 YUEARS AND HAD NO GOOD RESULTS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
artcwhit | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/28/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
james | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2008
Condition: Muscle Spasms due to a Brain Disease
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vilma | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/9/2008
Condition: Twisting Neck Spasms
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For me it is like a miracle drug, I get it on my neck, shoulders, upper back muscles, forehead, temples and jaw. I have the worse spasm cause by my cervical spine also really bad headaches and botox is given me few months of almost pain free life, it doesnt go away completely, but I can live with it. For me the injections are painful, and I get very tense, but it is worth it. They last about 4 months for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
6/17/2008
Condition: Muscle Spasms due to a Brain Disease
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My sister recently received BOTOX for stiffnes in left arm due to a stroke. Can BOTOX cause low blood pressures?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More