Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

74 People found this comment helpful

I first heard of Paba pills from my chiropractor . I use to get sun blisters and cold sores all the time. After I started taking Paba pills I stopped getting them. I usually start taking Paba pills before the weather gets nice. They work great . I think there should be research done on this subject as they have worked for me. As long as I am taking Paba pills I do not get sun blisters or cold sore...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I used paba-sunscreens only to find out later that I experience severe itching on my neck and face, followed by swelling on those areas as well. I can only use paba-free sunscreen.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anything PABA | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
6/6/2021
Condition: Sunburn
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get a severe skin rash when using anything with PABA and requires medical intervention to clear it up. Can only use PABA free. Find that a lot of sunscreen products don't tell you if it is PABA free.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ginglit | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
3/23/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking PABA when 35. I it inhibits graying of hair. Started with 100 mg a day. Now take 700mg daily. I'm 68 now and have NO gray. Don't need to color my hair. Tried with a friend already gray and it took some out but won't work well unless started at the beginning of graying. I'm thrilled to have found it. Will take it till the end!! Using Country Life brand(not listed).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
12/28/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On boat in the Florida sun and rarely skin inflammation with the sustained release.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tobias12 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/29/2017
Condition: Peyronie disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I could see improvement of the condition, but unfortunately developed side effect of severe myalgia and had to stop treatment early.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 |
11/12/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took PABA for 2 weeks before going to HI, I took it the whole time I was there in addition to using sunscreen and limiting my time exposed. I am a fair skinned red head. I ran out of my supplement before my trip was over and even though I was using sunscreen, I fried!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
webMD1 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/29/2015
Condition: Sunburn
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marikita | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
12/26/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used paba-sunscreens only to find out later that I experience severe itching on my neck and face, followed by swelling on those areas as well. I can only use paba-free sunscreen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KC | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
3/28/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using PABA for about 20 years to prevent sunburn. I first found it at GNC and remembered it used to be a key ingredient in sunscreen. Being a burner, I would always miss a spot with the sunscreen and by taking PABA orally I never had that issue. I had sun poisoning a few times prior to taking PABA. It works!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AussieJoe | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/1/2013
Condition: Sunburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm not sure about the right amount to take (orally) to prevent sunburn, I've done a test on the weekend and took 2 grams every 2 hours and did not get burned even though I've been in the Midday sun on a hot day in Australia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Genevive | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/13/2013
Condition: Sunburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I came to America from Ireland in 1956 and would get sunburt easily because of my fair skin. I read about Paba-aminobenzoic acid to protect the skin from ultra-viole rays and I took some for a while. I was able to take the sun better. Why isn't there more about this vitamin. Maybe it would prevent skin cancer too?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
8/8/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking PABA in 1983 (44 years old) after reading Dr. Robert Aktkins' diet book. He suggested PABA would keep or slow (something to that effect) hair from turning gray. I am now 73 years old, and my hair is just now 1/3 gray. People do not believe I have not colored my hair in all these years. My hair color is still a pretty brown with streaks of gray. In his book, Dr. Atkins stated he could not make a scientific claim because no study had been done to back his theory up, but he explained why this works. I took a chance on his expertise and have never been sorry. I do not miss my daily PABA.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
littlebity | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
5/9/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I first heard of Paba pills from my chiropractor . I use to get sun blisters and cold sores all the time. After I started taking Paba pills I stopped getting them. I usually start taking Paba pills before the weather gets nice. They work great . I think there should be research done on this subject as they have worked for me. As long as I am taking Paba pills I do not get sun blisters or cold sores on my lips.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More