Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

437 People found this comment helpful

I want ot say that the treatment is wonderful, but the data given at the end is false information and is misleading to the consumer. Coco nut oil is a saturated fat yes, but it is a medium chain fatty acid that goes straight to the liver to be metabolized and is used as a form of energy. It does not increase cholesterol and reduces the progression of heart disease. It is actually good for your vie...

Most voted negative review

34 People found this comment helpful

after consuming to teaspoons per day for 7 days, i was in the hospital and now have heart troubles. stay away from eating this stuff, BEWARE

Shared reviews and ratings

jeerry warriner | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/2/2019
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take coconut oil to promote ketosis. I'm doing intermittent and extended fasts as well as the ketogenic diet. I put the oil in my coffee. I used to take MCT oil every day but I think coconut oil is better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dheemanth | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
9/4/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Coconut oil is being used for years in India without any health problems. All the posts about coconut oil being bad are fake and was started by the sunflower oil brands. Similar to toothpaste. Colgate came into India insisting people not to use salt, charcoal and Neem sticks to brush. And it took them so many years to realize its benefits and now they launch Colgate with charcoal, salt, cloves. So stupid, well played colgate

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joe | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/18/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My overall cholesterol was at 219 and my LDL came in at 160.8. for my last blood done in Aug. 2017. I began taking coconut oil supplements beginning of Oct. 2017 and had more blood work done in Nov. 2017. The results came back that my overall cholesterol had dropped down to 200, a lowering of 19 points and my LDL went from 160.8 down to 140, a difference of nearly 21 points. I'd say that the fat in coconuts did not increase my cholesterol but in fact lowered it quite a bit. I did not change my eating habits at all and all I did different was add coconut oil to my daily routine. Over the last three years, my cholesterol never got below 207 overall, so I'd say taking coconut oil has benefited me very much...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NOkiller23 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/6/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As caregiver to an 89 year old Dementia/Ahlzeimer's patient I gave 2 1000 mg softgel's each day for less than a week. (Maybe 3-4 days.) The patient also had a personal history of diabetes (but no meds), high blood pressure, taking lovastatin for her heart, bleeding stomach ulcers and 3rd stage kidney disease. Her blood pressure fell dramatically. She became so weak and fatigued and dehydrated. We took her to emergency room where she was admitted. She was released days later to my care for HOSPICE. This basically killed her. She was my mother in law. One of her sons was the one who mentioned Coconut Oil for Ahlzeimer's. I used it in my cooking in moderation for about a week and then took it a step further and gave her the supplements. I am now being called a killer by her one son (my ex-husband). This stuff can be very dangerous by lowering blood pressure way too low and causing dehydration! I would never recommend it to anyone on any medication at all. Perhaps it should not be sold as a oral supplement at all! It was Meijer's brand supplement however I'm sure that the brand had nothing to do with the outcome.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leacalais | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/27/2017
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use fractionated coconut oil to treat DSAP which is a form of psoriasis. Once the spots form they are permanent. There is no clinically proven treatment for this condition so sufferer support groups share what seems to work. The oil reduces redness and scaliness on some spots to the point i could almost forget they were there.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lyn | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
4/14/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I been using it for about less than a year. I started using it to rise my HDL . for YEARS IT was stuck AT 50.Then using unrefined coconut oil for only 4 months it was checked.It rose to 66 !My doctor was amazed ! I use it on my face, neck and hair.I use the refined type for cooking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
consumer | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/26/2017
Condition: Obesity
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

constipation - immediate relief

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 |
1/2/2017
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Extra virgin oil | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/13/2016
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The treatment is workin for me helping my skin get clear my hair more bouncer and helpin me wth the most important my weight loss- Energy .... Thanks coconut oil organic extra virgin

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Louana Pure Coconut oil | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/16/2016
Condition: Dry skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Age 69,Took this for dry skin (diabetic) It olimanated the dry skin and I noticed the red splotches and scratches I had were fading. I continued to use it daily. Ordinarily it takes about a month to go away and I promise, by the third day it was almost gone. Very light red and the scratches almost gone. So now I use it on my face/neck. It does appear to smooth out the wrinkles on my neck. I have'nt used it long enough to really tell. My father-n-law told me---Why do you think the ladies in the Phillipines have such beautiful skin. Cocout oil. Miracle cream.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
5/4/2016
Condition: Weight loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My insulin is wacked, but I have been taking 5 tbsp. of Coconut oil before my meals (2,2,1) I have had more energy and losing inches and I lost 27 lbs. in the first 90 days. I feel better than before and my swings are more stable and almost completely eliminated. It has worked wonders for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margaret Jones | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/4/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband used this as he suffered from Anal thrush. He applied a moderate amount to a tampon and left to apply overnight. His itchiness had gone and he was able to urinate without me helping him the next day. Mum also used the same bottle to cook some chicken and it tasted delicious. I smear the oil all over for relief from itching and in hot summer days I apply generously to avoid a strong stench in my regions which become infected with yeast just before my period.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tilly | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/20/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
darlene | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/16/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
christopherduguid | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/17/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seborrheic keratoses face. OIL IN EYES STINGS!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/13/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was recommended to me to help memory and I was told it helped lower Triglycerides. After several months on it, I'm not sure it helped my memory. My triglycerides and good cholesterol were the same and my bad cholesterol raised significantly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PB-NYC | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/23/2015
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got scaly patches of stress psoriasis on my face that I keep peeling the dry skin off, exposing raw, red skin underneath. The patches appeared about two weeks ago. They may have been prompted by a sun-screen allergic reaction, and sun exposure, as well. I applied both a topical, over-the-counter antibiotic ointment, and organic raw coconut oil on separate occasions, alternately. The ointment did not relieve the scaly, dry patch, which kept returning. The coconut oil has been. The scaly top keeps reforming, but not as it had with the ointment. There is less for me to "scratch and peel" after the coconut oil works, so less raw skin from beneath results. I'll see a dermatologist to make sure I don't have actinic keratosis, but the coconut oil is working magic. I should also probably see a psychotherapist about my absolute inability to keep from picking off the dry, dead epidermis from the patches, knowing full well that raw, red, painful skin will result. :) In the meantime, the coconut oil is doing a good job of giving me relief.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SanJoseCAJack | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/2/2015
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Father was diagnosed with psoriasis from the time he was about 50 until his death. I have had scaliness, which looks like his psoriasis behind my ears and beside my nose for at least the past 2 or 3 decades. I have not had a medical diagnosis of it. I, recently, started treating half of the spots with 2.5% hydrocodone and half with coconut oil. I apply both at night. I have found that coconut oil is equally as effective as the hydrocodone ointment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tdeclue | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
8/25/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking about 4 grams (pills) of 'virgin' coconut oil about a year ago to see if it would improve my memory (I'm 62). In my subjective opinion, it has definitely helped my memory, so I plan to continue taking it daily.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Serious Question | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/25/2015
Condition: Dry skin
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a serious question. Is coconut oil that you would buy to eat okay to apply on extremities? I heard coconut oil moisturized the skin so I apply it every week or so generously after showering. As far as I know coconut oil contains a high level of saturated fat. Would that be unsafe in relation to libido health? I think saturated fat causes high cholesterol which may be bad for the male extremities...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More