Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

143 People found this comment helpful

I craved wine. I began drinking as a teenager. I quit while pregnant & raising my little ones. At 35, I used to drink it, or some liquor, almost daily. At 42, I didn't have liver disease (yet), but I would drink to excess often. An employee of GNC told me she took Milk Thistle 3 times a day because it cleans the liver. I began taking it 3 X day, religiously. Within a few weeks, all I noticed was...

Most voted negative review

18 People found this comment helpful

I was taken to the hospital for chest pains---making it short---- my liver was enlarged, Dr took me off milk thistle & an estrogen patch was a no no. Thanks to this site I understand now why.

Shared reviews and ratings

Tazicik | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/4/2021
Condition: Alcohol-related liver disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a result of excessive alcohol consumption, my liver was fattened and my enzymes increased. After using 2 tablets a day and 1 month, indigestion and pain in my liver disappeared. I'm looking forward to my blood results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
6/11/2019
Condition: Alcohol-related liver disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
neenee | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/8/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed a diarrhea type symptom. Having a lose, frothy stool everytime I went to the bathroom. I went 8 times a day and it caused severe cramping. Between trips to the bathroom, I had horrible, loud, rumbling gas that sounded that low, rumbling thunder which was constant, I do have IBS, so I wouldn't recommend it to a person with IBS with occasional diarrhea. Perhaps, it was clearing fat from my liver, but the bloating, horrible loud gas, and diarrhea was extremely uncomfortable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
7/24/2018
Condition: Alcohol-related liver disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I drink 1.5 L bottle of vodka every 2 days for about 18 years now..I SHOULD BE DEAD....most likely....since I am not...i must be very very lucky! but I WILL say that milk thistle MUST BE CONTRIBUTING to my super human liver ! I TAKE NATURES BOUNTY WHITE LABEL 1000 MG(250 MG OF 4:1 EXTRACT) product wasn't listed in brand drop down area.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Andy96 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/13/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My total cholesteroal and LDL numbers are down 10 to 15 points since I started taking Milk Thistle, even though my diet has been out of control since hurricane Harvey and the subsequent rebuilding of our home - no kitchen yet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Panayotis | Age: 45-54 |
11/7/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a chalazion in upper eyelid. Chalazion is something like a bigger stye, is a small cyst and the eyelid was quite swollen. I had it for several weeks; I found on internet that chalazion lasts for many months. As it didn't shrink and gone by itself, I tried some drug in paste form; it didn't work at all - zero. Then I decided to try dry Milk Thistle (I bought whole “flowers” in dry form), that I made it like tea and then, put some milk thistle in compress (with some cotton). I drank the rest of the decoction. The chalazion reduced a lot, maybe has shrunk about 50% in just 4-5 days, with hust one dose per day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sarina | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
10/16/2017
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BIG reacting! Ragweed is very bad for us hypoallergenic people. Bumps, rash and hives. Didn't know this until three months later. Took it to help lower my A1C.Not a Diabetic yet and would like to stay that way.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
milk thistle | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/14/2017
Condition: Liver disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mattel | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/23/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have spleen swelling and pain with high liver enzymes. It took about 3 days for the pain to ease up by about 95%. I still feel a little pain every now and then but it is well worth when the doctor has a wait and watch attitude. The only thing my doctor said about it was keep taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/24/2016
Condition: Alcohol-related liver disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had developed an allergic reaction to alcohol (hives). I started taking Milk Thistle twice a day and no longer have reaction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat Nelson | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
6/29/2016
Condition: Nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD)
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ridiculously high liver enzymes. Was diagnosed with NAFLD. In two months my numbers reduced by more than half. Nothing else worked as quickly to reduce the numbers. Still taking them and expect great results

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
miles | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/28/2016
Condition: Cirrhosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been experiencing severe itchiness all over my body and I am not sure if it is because of my Cirrhosis or because of the Milk Thistle I am taking

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
melvin | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
12/15/2015
Condition: Alcohol-related liver disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking it for 2 years and the jaundice is gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/12/2015
Condition: Cirrhosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DACARR | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
6/30/2015
Condition: Hepatitis A
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking this supplement since 1998 and its helped me quite a bit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
haresh | Age: 13-18 |
5/20/2015
Condition: Liver disease
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

nil

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LIVLEAN | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/13/2015
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

TRY IT YOU MIGHT LIKE IT!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
missysmom | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/14/2015
Condition: Liver disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
critical liver support | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
1/25/2015
Condition: Cirrhosis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it has energizer my system, my MELD score went from a-12 to a 6, It has helped my pain in my spleen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jada | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/22/2015
Condition: Alcohol-related liver disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

More tolerant to alcohol consumption, minimum hangover side effects. Definitely improved my mood swings. Minimised my menopause symptoms, especially sweating and hot flushes. I take Sandra Cabbot Liver Detox.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More