Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

134 People found this comment helpful

Been trying many things over the years to treat my add which is of the overfocus type. Vinpocetine had been the best in increasing blood flow, memory, and attention without increasing blood pressure, adrenaline, anxiety or overfocus. It had improved mood, mental function, relationships and quality of life as a result. 20 to 30mg evenly spread across the day. Get a small capsule size and vary the d...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

I have used a softgel of Ginkgo 120 mg and Vinpocetine 5mg with good results; so good that I thought I would add a higher dose of vinpocetine to the mix. I was afraid I was going to die! Chest pain and atrial fib. MORE IS NOT BETTER

Shared reviews and ratings

Ridge | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/1/2020
Condition: Memory
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within a day my memory improved. Once, when travelling, I ran out of it. Within a week I noticed my ability to recall names was diminishing again. One day after re-supply, all good again. No side effects whatsoever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mele | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 10 years or more |
12/9/2019
Condition: General Health And Wellness
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Vinpocetine for at least 25 years at 10mg 3x daily. I originally obtained it through the Alzheimer's Buyers Club from Germany and provided through the Life Extension Foundation for its members. By the late 90's, the Life Extension Foundation began to manufacture it here in the USA (at a far lower price). I never had side effects from it. I am in my mid 70's now and consider it an essential supplement. It is one of a very few supplements that I would never want to be without. Interesting that the Life Extension Foundation is not listed below under "brand product used" as a USA producer of this pharmaceutically pure product and the first and ONLY USA supplier for many years. Typical ignorance of allopathic physicians. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/11/2019
Condition: Tinnitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It did not work for tinnitus, but it does help to improve my balance. I am very happy about that. I lost hearing, some balance, and got tinnitus in the last year from sudden trauma. Balance exercises help, but vinpocetine improved it more. I will guess that it improved blood flow to the area. My dreams are more detailed also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/10/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Chemotherapy Induced Memory Deficits . This supplement WORKS!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brk80 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
4/3/2018
Condition: Memory
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

mind is clearer and I can add groups of numbers more easily without errors

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joseph | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
3/10/2018
Condition: Memory
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Memory sharper and recall of recent event better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
6/10/2016
Condition: Tinnitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If vinpocetine does indeed act in a "reserpine-like" fashion in striatal dopaminergic neurons, one could legitimately raise concern over the use of vinpocetine in otherwise healthy individuals for "cognitive enhancement," as side effects may manifest consistent with reserpine-like side effects, including depression and cognitive dysfunction (7, 8). Because resperine inhibits VMAT-2, the protein primarily responsible for the transportation of monoamines from the cytosol to synaptic vesicles, the amount of dopamine, norepinephrine and serotonin stored in neurons may be substantially decreased pre-synaptically by vinpocetine, leading to a downregulation of monoaminergic tone. In other words, while vinpocetine may be neuroprotective under some experimental and clinical conditions, it may also interfere with monoamine storage, and affect the way in which the brain responds to drugs acting through dopaminergic, adrenergic, or serotonergic pathways (e.g. amphetamine, modafinil, methylphenidate, cocaine, SSRIs, bupropion, etc). Serious consideration should be given before taking vinpocetine, as it is a highly active pharmacological agent that interacts and interferes with a wide array of brain systems and functions. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
? | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/24/2015
Condition: Hearing loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

An incredible memory drug/herb!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/16/2015
Condition: Tinnitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been diagnosed with Vertigo, I do notice a huge difference with the dizziness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
4/8/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a 1.8 brain tumor which is pressing on the sixth nerve. I had double vision as a result. An opthamologist, neurosurgeon and oncologist radiologist told me once this nerve is damage it will never come back. After 5 days of radiosurgery my eye wouldn't move outward due to swellingness, double vision got worse. I took a combination of 5mg vinpocetine and 120mg ginko and 3 hours later there was big improvement. I have continued taking vinpocetine for over 1 month and my double vision is gone. I can drive again!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
3/23/2015
Condition: Memory
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Farzana | Age: 19-24 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/14/2015
Condition: Dementia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mizpay | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
1/21/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 19-24 |
5/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take vinpocetine for migraines, and it honestly works 99% of the time for me. Use at your own risk for this particular symptom. If you've had a migraine you know they are easy to make worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/29/2014
Condition: Memory
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I believe this is helping me. I'm less foggy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/16/2014
Condition: Stroke
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Drips for 4 hours a day fpr 10 days is a pain in the arm

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ADDoverfocused | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/30/2014
Condition: Memory
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been trying many things over the years to treat my add which is of the overfocus type. Vinpocetine had been the best in increasing blood flow, memory, and attention without increasing blood pressure, adrenaline, anxiety or overfocus. It had improved mood, mental function, relationships and quality of life as a result. 20 to 30mg evenly spread across the day. Get a small capsule size and vary the dose and timing to see what works for you; everyone is different.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
overfocusedADD | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/30/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been trying many things over the years to tray my add which is of the overfocus type. Vinpocetine had been the next in increasing blood flow, memory, attention without increasing blood pressure, adrenaline, anxiety or overfocus. It had improved mood, mental function, relationships and quality of life as a result.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pure | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
1/26/2014
Condition: Memory
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn't notice much at first, but i was only taking 5 mg. I read an article which found the effectiveness started at 20 -40 mg./day. After starting 20 mg 2x daily I did notice: clearer and longer lasting focus, improved memory. It was even more noticeable when I ran out for a few weeks, then started again, noticing the improvement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DTolle | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
1/15/2014
Condition: Memory
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Really helps me with memory and also vertigo.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More