Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

56 People found this comment helpful

I have Insomnia for over a year now (could not sleep at all). Offcourse used sleeping pills and my doctor discribed anti-depressiva. But i don't have a depression so i don't want to take them..Only one thing helps and that is L Tryptophan (800 - 1000mg). (Tried 5HTP as well). It puts me to sleep! 6 hours sleep for me know! Little bit side effects like: sometimes a little sleepy during the day, hea...

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

I took this to help with sleep and after a few days, became incredibly dizzy-never experienced anything like this. There are known very dangerous side effects and I don't believe it's as harmless as they claim

Shared reviews and ratings

JudyE | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/20/2021
Condition: Insomnia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First, I'm really sick of hearing about the glitch from Japan tryptophan in the 80's. That infor is all you find on this supplement and it's frustrating. I used this until they pulled it back then for sleep, and i've been using it again lately. I never had issued before, but for some reason, it now causes an 'allergic reaction' for me and I can't find anything, anywhere mentioning this. I'm getting a reaction like a sinus infection. First night, no problems when I wake up. The next night, OK, but by morning I start getting a sinus reaction that settles in my throat, and it continues like this to by the fifth day after taking, my throat is swollen and it's hard to swallow. Feels like the food gets stuck in my throat. While my throat doesn't hurt, this side effect is frustrating, and worrisome enough to cause me to stop taking it. Two days later symptoms are gone. I've tried restarting 3 times, thinking maybe I really was just having allergies, but it's definitely some odd reaction to the L-tryptophan. I've tried 3 different brands because sometimes, it's just whatever a company uses, but I must be the one person having the reaction to this. Could be the dosage of 500 mg, because back in the day, 40 mg was normal. I've been using this stacked with a OTC nootropic and the combination was perfect. I have never been a long sleeper and with tryptophan, I can get sometimes 6 hours of sleep where I normally sleep 4 to 5 hours a night. OTC sleeping pills leave me groggy and grouchy.Looks like it's back to groggy and grouch as opposed to my throat closing up!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
StPJL | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/27/2020
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a seasonal sleep disorder. For 2-6 weeks, starting early to mid spring, I suffer severe sleep deprivation.Although I am a candidate for prescription sleep medication, itâ??s not an avenue Iâ??m comfortable with. I develop a tolerance for Melatonin quickly. 5mg Melatonin 1500mg L-Tryptophan has been a game changer for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Proofreader | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/7/2019
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The writer of this article made an error. Vitamin B-6 is not niacinamide. It's pyridoxine. ...Vitamin B-3 is niacinamide.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dan1988 | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/29/2018
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 1000 mg three times a day, mornings, afternoon, and just before bed. It is important to note that you should always take it on an empty stomach and not with other amino acid supplements as this will reduce absorption. I have never slept better and felt better in my entire life. My anxiety (which I had for over a decade) has finally lifted. I have never touched an antidepressant so cannot compare the effectiveness but if it works that well for me why wouldnâ??t it for you too? No wonder they donâ??t rave about it- itâ??s just too cheap and too effective for big pharma to make millions out of it lol. Please watch out for serotonin syndrome though, I am not a doc but I know someone who had a bad reaction take this with his SSRI. I cannot find it on the list but I used the Best naturals L-Tryptophan 500 mg tablets.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/14/2018
Condition: Seasonal affective disorder (SAD)
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking 500mg of L-Tryptophan seems to improve symptoms of seasonal affective disorder but does not seam to have any effect on major depression. Take at bedtime as this product causes mild drowsiness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
west2east | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/10/2017
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 500mg of L-tryptophan every night for the last 3 months about an hour before I go to bed. Within the first week, I noticed that I was able to go to sleep more quickly. In the last few months, my sleep experience has dramatically improved. I usually sleep through the night (7 to 8 hours) fairly well. I'm dreaming longer it seems. Very pleased with this, after having tried many other sleep remedies, including Rx. Works for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/1/2017
Condition: Insomnia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stormienj | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
5/9/2017
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This supplement has gotten me off chemical anti-depressants and has literally no side affects. They love to scare us to talking about how little supplements are studies - well study them! Naw that's not happening with the big phara's running the show. This has been a life saver! I take 2 at bedtime, sleep like a never before, wake rested and happy. No more depression and no more restless sleep! Obviously my body doesn't have enough of what's needed to keep my serotonin levels where they should be but this supplement does it for you. No need to take 5HTP or Melatonin - Tryptophan turns into 5 HTP and then Melatonin without the cardiac concerns related to the quick increase with 5 HTP. Read up - this is the way to go!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
2/11/2017
Condition: Insomnia
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed a severe rash after a few nights after taking optimized Tryptophan Plus.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
1/24/2017
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this treatment over a period of 6 to8 months and it greatly improved the quality of my sleep. I would take one 500 mg about one hour bedfore bedtime and one 500 mg at bedtime.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zorritaj | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/10/2016
Condition: Insomnia
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took one 500 mg tab last night. Felt wired bu slept anyway. Then very depressed this morning and wired.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
8/13/2016
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had developed fitful sleep with multiple wakings for 2-3 years. Started to take 500mg before bed (along with 200mg Magnesium Citrate). Greatly improved the length of time I stay asleep. Now I take 1000mg before bed and have started dreaming again! Sometimes I sleep all night without waking up even once. But I don't take it every night. 1000mg will make me sleep 9 hours and still wake up a little groggy. Sleep enhancement effect seems to last a couple of days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/29/2016
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Most nights it works like a charm to help me to sleep unless my brain is very active. Lately I started getting light-headedness and dizziness upon taking it. I am going to stop taking it for the time being and will be following up with my doctor to determine next steps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joy | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
2/5/2016
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started out taking 500mg L Tryptophan and 500mg L Tyrosine. I still had slight symptoms. I read an article that said you should take just enough for it to work. I tried increasing the dosage to 1000mg a day and the symptoms got slightly worse so I decreased the dosage(I had to skip a day because the brand I use only comes in 500mg, nothing smaller.)It worked great and I felt normal with no symptoms so just to be sure I was taking just as much as I needed, I skipped two days and it still worked great. I am thinking I will skip three days soon and if it don't work I will go back to skipping two days. I need both L Tryptophan and L Tyrosine for it to work. It gave me my life back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
10/6/2015
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Slowly increased from 100mg/day to 300mg. Helped sleep and improved mood slightly, hence my increased dosage to see how much mood would improve. 1 hour after last dose I developed a severe rash all over my body that lasted 30 hours. So much for something 'natural' that can't harm you. Have thrown the bottle out, and will return to slow release melatonin and tart cherry for sleep. So much for the theory that only 1 batch of tainted tryptophan caused serious side effects. I am lucky I was cautious and did not take 3 * 500mg tablets as the bottle suggested. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/11/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Trying to avoid using Ambien so I've tried many natural supplements including Gaba,Valerian, Melatonin for insomnia/apnea but have not worked for me, just started L Tryptophan and it worked immediately for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
andy | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/30/2015
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only took 100 mg and I was ill......i didnt have side effects.....I had all the symptoms of EMS....i had muscle cramps mainly in my thighs....tremors.....pain in my shoulder, neck and upper arm.....blood pressure changes....respitory changes...palpitations...sweating...rash on my arms and neck......extreme drowsiness and agitation.....altogether a very uncomfortable experience.....I would seriously not recommend this to anyone looking for serotonin......it actually made me more depressed and its long half life of 12 meant it took a long time to clear my system.....I actually felt as though I had been poisoned.....it is the best way I can describe my experience with Tryptophan......MY ADVICE IS STEER CLEAR OF TRYTOPHANRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/23/2015
Condition: Sleep
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KarenTSL | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
6/9/2015
Condition: Insomnia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took a dose of 1g a night although my MD stated I could take as much as 4g/night, if required. About 40 minutes prior to my bedtime, I would take it. Then, I would gradually feel drowsy, as if someone was pulling my eyelids closed. The best part about this treatment is that if you have to wake up and be functional, you can be, unlike other sleeping pills which cause a sleep hangover and inability to drive, if needed. This was also useful to some extent in controlling chronic pain. I found it worked best for me when I took it with a light carb snack, such as a piece of fruit. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
4/16/2015
Condition: Insomnia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started using it to help me sleep, and also to combat depression and sugar cravings. It seems to have helped for the most part.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More