Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

299 People found this comment helpful

I was taking a lutein supplement until my doctor set me straight. He told me that lutein is one of three macular pigments, the other two being zeaxanthin and meso-zeaxanthin. He told me that people get AMD by sunlight entering the eye and causing free radicals that over time lead to the disease. The macula pigments are in the surface tissue, and protect the underlying tissue from damage from li...

Most voted negative review

31 People found this comment helpful

A friend of mine told me that he is consuming food supplement made in Japan which called Super Lutein. It is the no.1 product in Japan. the company's name..as far as i remember, maybe Naturally Plus. In my opinoin, if the product is from Japan, it must be more quality because of their technologies. Just sharing thank you.

Shared reviews and ratings

ChuckR | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/29/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very bad reaction to Ocuvite, containing Lutein. Had to stop taking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chrissy | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/19/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have early signs of AMD. Drusen were expanding closer to my macula. My eye doctor recommended a supplement with lutein and zeaxanthin. I had follow up appointments every 3 months for a year without any increase in the size or number of drusen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ruki | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/27/2020
Condition:
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm taking it as a preventive measure. My Father and Aunt had AMD. My vision has always been poor. Cataracts are coming in but not too bad yet. Type 2 Diabetes. At this point my eye exams are positive. I hope at least to slow anything down.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/22/2019
Condition:
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking Luitein 20mg for 1 month, vision slightly imporved but I developed chronic diarrhea and stoppped this dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hrb | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
12/11/2018
Condition:
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking Bausch + Lomb'S ARED 2 formula regularly for several years. First year or so I used it intermittently and there was slight progression (slowly getting worse) noticed at the following exam. That scared me so I stepped up to the daily use 2x/day recommended. Subsequent check ups had me happy to hear it wasn't getting worse; I maintained the 2x/daily regiment for at least 2-3 yrs without being told there was progression. Unfortunately the last checkup (this week) had the doctor concerned, he determined something a little too complicated to explain here, this was discouraging after it had been slowed for those years with regular use. He stepped up the supplement to ICAPS MV, (2) 2x/day. As far as side effects, I don''t believe I've experienced any over the years I've used it although I started in my 50's and as a very healthy person. The recent progression may be attributed to a couple of life style changes that I'M trying to curb. I've been missing lunch and there's one other change and the general recommendation along with these nutrients is to maximize protein consumption. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
11/22/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had one dose of Total Vision care (20 mg of Lutein) and noticed heart palpitations right away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MAP | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/21/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lutein with Optilut appears to have exacerbated my lymphocytic colitis (I notice another reviewer found this too). The Brand is Doctor's Best - which I do not find on your list.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Intercessor53 | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
5/10/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started 20mg lutein because of tired eyes reading blurriness in the later part of day an because of type2 diabetes. I seen such a quick improvement eye vision that on days that 20mg seems not enough I take 20mg with breakfast then again with evening meal. I daily also take adrenaline response, q10 200, Adult B Complex, Adult multi vitamin, b-12 STANDARD mg 2 times, eat raw avocado small size 4-5 times weekly, in summer drink I 64oz JUG vegetable juice w/water A week more is better takes away thirst removes feelings of not enough water during day in the heat works better than gatorade or similar. Sum this up as over all adding lutein 20-40mg daily to my diet is smart for diabetics type2. I also see improvement in skin on body an lower legs less vein apperance because of adding advacadoes an lutein to diet. This is only change in diet except for smaller portion meals more child like not adult size. You want to see a change of you an your body, do The above vitamins and adrenaline response 2, with veg juice an advacadoes an lutein 20, is smart for type2 diabetes. My blood test shows consistent mid level range of vitamins an required nutients, bladder,kidneys more in likeness of 38yr old man in my 60s. Been on most vitamins above an q10 for over 10yrs an longer. Added adrenaline response an lutein 20 only past 6 months... Adrenaline response twice daily helps me . Get on a regimen and stay with it. I also walk many times a week at least one mile per walk usually 2 miles or more. YOU CAN DO IT..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/4/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made eyes itch and general grittiness. I then discovered Lutein is derived from Marigold flower petals. I am very allergic to flowers in general. So I now know I can not use this product and also some multi vitamins!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anonymous | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
12/6/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

With a rare auto-immune disease of LYMPHOCYTIC COLITIS, Lutein in the supplement MacuHealth exacerabates the diarrhea, causing nausea, black tarry stools, upset stomach wheezing, hoarseness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/19/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

EyePromise was suggested by my eye doctor for low pigment but it causes strong heart palpitations. It took me a while to figure out what was causing it but as soon as I quit the supplement the palpitations quit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PreserVision by Bausch Lomb | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/3/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 1 5mg PreserVision for the beginning evidence of left eye dry AMD. It also contains 1 mg of Zeaxanthin. I notice an increasing left neck muscle soreness when I take this. Is there any connection?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
suzie | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/23/2017
Condition:
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

lutein and zeaxanthin caused my scalp to break out, along with my eyebrows, along my mouth and eyelids. I felt itchy on my body also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
skipper | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/2/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

What is the best daily dosage of Lutein?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EJ | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/13/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking this for 2 months got chronic diarrhea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/22/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very bad reaction to Ocuvite, containing Lutein. Had to stop taking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chuck Garnl | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 5 to less than 10 years |
3/28/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken 40mg daily for several years. My Macular Degeneration has not progressed. My eye Doctor highly recommended it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over |
1/16/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had chronic diarrhea and some weight loss/has anyone else had this?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
areds-2 | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/1/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it is for prevention. i have not seen any changes

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beau | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/19/2015
Condition:
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The problem is diarrhea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More