Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

Oat bran cereal lowered my cholesterol when diet and exercise did not.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

can give you 'gas' wind

Shared reviews and ratings

danaj | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/1/2014
Condition: High blood pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a dramatic effect in reducing blood pressure from 135/74 to 115/74

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
3/4/2014
Condition: High cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I eat oatmeal almost every morning and my cholesterol has only gone up a little, but has not gone down at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mich | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
10/6/2013
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used as cereal while pregnat. Used as my evening snack found my morning sugars were lower.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/7/2013
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband ate oatmeal every morning for a year and lowered his cholesterol. So I started doing the same with the same result.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dipsy | Age: 65-74 |
3/5/2013
Condition:
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

can give you 'gas' wind

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/9/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used the liquid oats to help with nicotine withdrawal and it worked great. I have smoked for 10 years and when I quit I was smoking one pack a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chris | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
12/17/2011
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

oats? sounds crazy but believe me it works, if taken every morning

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
timmartin2004 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/27/2010
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after adding (100% oat bran) to my apple, carrot and soy milk blended smoothie daily my glucose and general health has been improving steadily

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
3/8/2010
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Oat bran cereal lowered my cholesterol when diet and exercise did not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rceme | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
11/17/2009
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In just a few weeks my blood sugar dropped from 15-7. Thats with no major diet change other than removing raw sugar from my diet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lilee | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
9/11/2009
Condition: High blood pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used 2 parts wild oats, 2 pts Hawthorne,1 pt dandelion, 1 pt garlic and 3 caps scullcap along with healthier diet and moderate exercise. Slowly stopped taking HBP medicine, Micardis 40. My blood pressure is 120 over 75 or lower consistently. Never thought I'd ever get off Micardis. Lost job and insurance. Was forced to take action. Cost of herbs was $32.00 which has lasted for several months versus $81.00 month for Rx. Wild Oats is a part of my treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rolled oats | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/27/2009
Condition: High blood pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 57 yrs old and started taking rolled oats daily in the morning for about 6 weeks (5 tbls soaked in water overnight) and experienced the following symptoms: bowel movement incresed to 3x daily after 2 weeks have slight pain at the bone joint in the buttock on one side later develop phalange pain in the left thumb followed by tenderness in the right outer foot. I have stopped taking the oats for 4 days and the effects are subsiding. Personal observation: While oats is good, best not to over consume people above 55 yrs I am not sure if the overnight soaking in water created more gas in the stomach or an establish side effect of oats, I will go back to it perhaps not daily but every other day blood pressure has been better but not sure if it is due to oats as I am taking low dosage of statin( 1/2 tab crestor) and hypertension drug (olmetec 10 mg) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More