Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

37 People found this comment helpful

Wow, what a difference! Soy Isoflavones were recommended to me by GYN Dr. to help with my peri-menopausal night sweats and hot flashes. Being a person who avoids getting on the 'prescription drug pill wagon' I decided, out of pure desperation, to give it a try. After about five days, the hot flashes and night sweats were gone and have not returned after 6 months of use! Also, I only take one ta...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

The soy I took (Spring Valley brand from Wal-Mart) was effective in reducing the intensity and number hot flashes I got during the day. However, I have been suffering with extreme irrablity and from the research I've been doing soy does not seem to help with this. So, I'm switching to Maca (I heard this is supposed to help with all perimenopausal/menopausal symptoms).

Shared reviews and ratings

WebMD | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/30/2016
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking soy isoflavones, 40 mg for hot flashes and insomnia due to menopause. I have always been a good sleeper and need my sleep to feel well. Going into menopause I became very distressed by insomnia coupled with hot flashes. It got to the point it was making me feel physically ill, and was zapping me of all my energy. After about 1 week taking soy I noticed a big decline in the troubling symptoms I was having. After 1 month on soy I am happy to report I sleep well again and am no longer having hot flashes; I feel great again! I would highly recommend soy isoflavones for other women who are having bothersome menopause symptoms. The brand I use is SpringValley 40 mg Soy Isoflavones, Walmart carries them I believe the usual dose is 80 mg, but I get great relief with just 1 40 mg tablet..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tie1978 | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/13/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The soy I took (Spring Valley brand from Wal-Mart) was effective in reducing the intensity and number hot flashes I got during the day. However, I have been suffering with extreme irrablity and from the research I've been doing soy does not seem to help with this. So, I'm switching to Maca (I heard this is supposed to help with all perimenopausal/menopausal symptoms).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chrissie | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
7/12/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wow, what a difference! Soy Isoflavones were recommended to me by GYN Dr. to help with my peri-menopausal night sweats and hot flashes. Being a person who avoids getting on the 'prescription drug pill wagon' I decided, out of pure desperation, to give it a try. After about five days, the hot flashes and night sweats were gone and have not returned after 6 months of use! Also, I only take one tablet at night, not the recommended four described on the bottle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
aromaremediesaol.cokm | Age: 35-44 |
6/24/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

soy is phytoestrogen hormone disruptor gained weight on it, caused bloating brain fog indigestion unwanted breast tenderness growth and pain heartburn fatigue this is the worst food additive/supplement it is everywhere in everything cheap filler in all vegetable blends lowers male testosterone libido makes people fat web md i used to respect it after this- not warning people about soy seek other website for better advice

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 10 years or more |
6/14/2014
Condition: Lactose intolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bergerde | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
6/13/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using vitamin supplement with 60mg of soy and I am very surprised and happy that my hot flashes have stopped. Notice a difference after 2 weeks and after a month they are complete gone. Very Happy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Santa Cruz dancing grandma | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
6/11/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been drinking soy milk daily for years, but when my menopausal hot flashes came on in a torrent for more than a year, I increased my soy intake with tofu and soy granules, I believe it gradually helped my flashes ease up and disappear for about a year, I reduced my soy intake, but they have come back again, so I'm increasing it. The drawback is that the increased estrogen from soy seems to increase my breast size, which is uncomfortable for me, since I'm already rather large, so I don't want to overdo it, I've also been trying black cohosh but I don't notice any difference from that, other than increased gas. I'm looking through the online evidence and both treatments only have mild indication of helping hot flashes, but it is impossible to get a solid nights sleep with constant flashes. I am also trying to reduce caffeine and alcohol, getting more exercise and some sunshineRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 |
5/24/2014
Condition: Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Soy causes CANCER!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marie | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
2/17/2014
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm able to rest at night and no more hot flashes my blood pressure is now in normal range after taking isolavones for 3 weeks.I am very satisfied with the result.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
reveiw--soy | Age: 25-34 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/20/2013
Condition: Cardiovascular disease (CVD)
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ihighly benefited my heart. As per cardiovascular diseases, am now free.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
8/8/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Soy ingestion CAUSED me to have breast cysts, skin rashes, ovarian cysts, weight gain, skin flushing, hair loss on head, weight gain, hair growth on face and in inappropriate locations, bone pain, 3 miscarriages, sleep disruption, blurry vision and a severe Vitamin D deficiency. I cut soy OUT of my diet for the last 6 months and all symptoms went away and have stayed away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
5/1/2013
Condition: Exercise-induced muscle soreness
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Recovery and before workout I use the soy with essential amino tabs gives endurance and power on bicycle rides

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
onepennyman | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 10 years or more |
3/29/2013
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was raised a vegetarian and at the age of 14 I started eating meats. From the very start of eating meats i can recall that they somehow made me have a strange feeling that was going on in me I had beleived back then that it was enzymes that were being modified in my stomach and in the other body parts such as the liver and that they were just making me feel diffrent somehow. Nowadays, i feel that the meats bring into the body posions that try to modifiy ones own bodys cells. But i have never had any bad reations to vegetarian soy products they always took away the need to eat so much and they satisfied too. I still eat meat occasionally though.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Glo | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
3/5/2013
Condition:
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i bought the Lambert brand from a health food shop,it has 40mg of isoflovene and i will say the hot flushes have defo lessened during the day and night. I actually take at least upto 3 a day instead of 2 recommended. i will ease down to 1 a day once i feel totally hot flush free.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
prisionchick | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
2/19/2013
Condition: Obesity
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
julie | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
1/14/2013
Condition:
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Until I started to take Soya Isoflavins, I was being woken approx 15 times a night with hot flushes. This left me shattered and unable to concentrate during the day. Throughout the day I lost count of the hot flushes and it became a chore trying to work out what to wear so I didnt get to hot. I am 48years old and have seen friends and mother go through this and never understood how awful it was until it happened to me. I now dont really have the hot flushes and it was (at the most) 2 weeks before I felt the difference. I would definately reccommend taking them (I review everything before I buy any products). I now use 'simply supplements' online to purchase these (400mg) buy one get one free. From JulieRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bstraka | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
5/23/2012
Condition: Hypertension
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking soy took away constant palpitations, constipation, anxiety - edgy feelings. Helped me to feel strong and relaxed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cristalle | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/26/2012
Condition:
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

completely not true for me! not even a little bit, used for 3 months, have lupus and cannot use estrogen. this has done absolutely nothing! still have 20 to 30 hot flashes a day

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sheiladarcy | Age: 55-64 |
1/17/2012
Condition: Breast cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a survivor of double breast-cancer, I am horrifed to see you encourage women who have had this disease, to take SOY. It does indeed act like estogen and for this reason, I avoid it like the plague. Any women who has had 'estrogen-positive' cancer has to deter the estrogen-receptors from absorbing that hormone in to the body. The body thinks SOY is estrogen and I was told by my oncologist that "...cancer feeds on estrogen....." (those with the 'estrogen-postive' tumor). So please - let Women know that they have to AVOID SOY at all costs - if they have had the same experience that I did. Thank You. (Mrs.) Sheila Coles.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sher7leg | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
11/3/2011
Condition:
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

gas and bloating

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More