Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Ease of Use

Satisfaction

Most voted positive review

56 People found this comment helpful

I have used xlear xylitol nasal spray for over a year and a half. I use it every night. For a chronic sinus infection sufferer, it has been heaven sent. Since using it I have not had one sinus infection and my seasonal allergies are almost non-existent. I would highly recommend this. So glad I found it.

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

IT ATE my gums!! Let large abscessed area on one side and red raw eaten up area on the other side. Something nasty is in them to eat my gums. This wasn't listed as a possible side effect yet I see others having issues as well. I just read here about several people developing a cough. I have that too! Didn't think it could be from the melts. Throat is sore as well on one side. Never again.

Shared reviews and ratings

GB | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/19/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PLEASE add DANGER TO DOGS to your description. Even the FDA recognizes this extreme toxicity--hypoglycemic seizures in dogs who ingest even small amounts!. Our family has happily used Spry gum for years, with no problems. But we stopped when we got a dog, to make sure we didn't accidentally poison her if she found some within reach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Artist cb | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/9/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began using xylitol due to wanting a sugar substitute that tasted a lot like sugar, & had no after taste, & had other healthy benefits. I did read about xylitol before using it. I paid attention to the part that a person should start off slowly using it. Example, to use one tsp in your coffee at first, then bit by bit introducing xylitol into one’s diet. I did not have any problems with using it to sweeten my ice tea, coffee or using it in a berry pie to replace all sugar. My sister on the other hand is much more gut sensitive and had to take baby steps in introducing her system to xylitol or she would have a lot of time in the bathroom. All in all xylitol is awesome, and I recommend your using it! Btw, it doesn’t take as much xylitol to sweeten my tea as sugar, and it doesn’t spike your blood sugar levels! Plus, after a few days I didn’t seem to crave sweet things as much! Since using it my rhinitis is not as often or as intense, & if I need to I take a wild oregano pill & bam, no problem with my allergies or sinus! I love xylitol, and grateful to understand how to use it! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 35-44 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
1/5/2021
Condition: Sinusitis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dropped my blood sugar levels!!!! Used three days!!! Weeks of seeing a endocrinologist smh!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 75 or over |
1/4/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter told me about Xylitol Birch sugar substitute for Keto type diet. I just use it for hot coffee and cream and hot tea. It is so good to the taste and much like sugar by the teaspoon. Readily available at Walmart type stores.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Island Mike | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
8/9/2019
Condition: Sinusitis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caution, if you have a sensitivity to artificial sweeteners like I do, stay away from this substance. I was violently sick for two days and continue to get nauseous every time I eat something sweet...now over a week since using a low dose to treat a sinus blockage. My instincts tell me this is a dangerous substance with long lasting side effects for those who are sensitive to artificial sweeteners.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Winky | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
7/20/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lozenges melt overnight stopping dry mouth

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
4/14/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I make a rinse with 25% xylitol with distilled water Rinse and spit 2-3 times s day Has prevented cavaties fir 5 years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pixieu | Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/17/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HHans2018 | Age: 45-54 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/1/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been suffering from Heart Palpitations over the last 5 days from several days of 2-minute long gargling with a mouthwash that had Xylitol in it. How do I know? Well Splenda (Sucralose), another artificial sweetener did the same thing. At that time when I had the Splenda reaction, I went to the Doctor and he said that some artificial sweeteners can throw off the electrical rhythm of your heart. Plus the mouthwash was the only new thing I introduced to my diet. I am sure this is a rare symptom - I have seen only a few reports of people associating it with this, but it really sucks when it happens to you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sphill1935aol.com | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for less than 1 month |
9/21/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a very dry mouth during the night which this corrects. Easy to use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
8/14/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It caused a large abscess on my gum, it happened pretty quickly. I have only used it about for about 3 months. I hope it can be reversed. I have top dental care and the abscess is huge. Please put a warning on this product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
help | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
7/21/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wake up by coughing badly, never happened to me before I starting using this product. I think that before it melts completely it turns smaller and smaller until the little chunks are barley attached to your gums. Those chunks can't hold to the gums anymore and break off, when they do, they go to your airways (not stomach). Probably more so, if you are snoring. That would explain the severity of the cough and the timing (5:30, 6:00 AM). I use disks before I go to bed. I love these tables otherwise, my mouth is not dry when I wake up, it feels moist and sweet. Yet, the cough is bothering me. A feeling of slightly heavy chest too. It goes away quickly, and they say on the box that is is OK to breath it in accidentally as it will melt away inside your lungs. Still, they don't say if it is harmless over a long period of time. Let's say you'd rather cough a bit than have a dry mouth, but what if it damages your lungs over 1-3 year of usage. That concerns me. What are your thoughts? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Disgruntled Dianne | Age: 35-44 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
3/15/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

IT ATE my gums!! Let large abscessed area on one side and red raw eaten up area on the other side. Something nasty is in them to eat my gums. This wasn't listed as a possible side effect yet I see others having issues as well. I just read here about several people developing a cough. I have that too! Didn't think it could be from the melts. Throat is sore as well on one side. Never again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gingin | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for less than 1 month |
12/2/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from dry mouth. I can't use this product it causes gastric upset.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
k | Age: 55-64 |
11/14/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

22DAILY CONSTIPATION FROM GASTRPRESIS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 3-6 |
7/21/2015
Condition: Otitis media
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emily | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 6 months to less than 1 year |
6/7/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use Xylimelts lozenges for dry mouth. They work wonderfully well but I have developed a cough since using. The cough sometimes lasts half the night. I have been taking meds for the cough but don't like doing that. So, I am in a quandary as to whether to continue use or not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
granny1 | Age: 75 or over | On supplement for 1 to less than 2 years |
3/12/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have developed an adverse action from xylitol in mouthwashes, dry mouth treatments, e.g., Xylimints, etc. Use of products with xylitol make my mouth very sore resulting in blister-like adhesions on the edge of my tongue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Age: 55-64 | On supplement for 1 to 6 months |
2/28/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for dry mouth. Worked well for that for about 2 months until I got a sore, inflamed mouth and swollen,dry lips. I quit taking it, things got worse and I went to an oral med. doc who gave me meds to clear things up. Since the Xylimelts worked so well, I tried them again just in case my mouth issue was a coincidence. Within two days, my mouth is sore again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
phuffhh | Age: 65-74 | On supplement for 2 to less than 5 years |
1/28/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More