Gluten Free Diet: Guide to Grains and Starches
Which grains and starches should you avoid—and which are safe?
For those who have celiac disease or are sensitive to gluten, following a gluten free diet means giving up many grains, pastas, cereals and processed foods. There are, however, tasty grain and starch alternatives to wheat and other sources of gluten. Here our nutrition experts offer a handy list of grains and starches for people trying to avoid gluten in their diet.
Finger millet (Ragi)
Montina (Indian rice grass)
Tef (or teff)
Beans (such as: black, navy, pinto, soy, lentils)
Nuts (almonds, walnuts, hazelnuts)
Unsafe Grains & Starches
All of the terms below refer to wheat products that contain gluten and must be avoided on a gluten-free diet: