Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

32 People found this comment helpful

This does help with OCD. I do not ruminate or obsess persistently about the same annoying distracting and useless thoughts. It also helps with my anxiety and a little with ADD. Mainly, it makes me a little less anxious, so I don't worry (obsess) as much, and my attention is a little better (I don't forget my keys or wallet as much) b/c again, I am less anxious. But I need more, so I am taking VE...

Shared reviews and ratings

Nancy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/27/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Verrry important …drink a full glass of water with this or you will get bad indigestion

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tammy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/22/2022
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking it for OCD since 1994 and it has been a life saver. I had been plagued with horrible, intrusive thoughts since I was 10 years old, which would have been 1971, and this drug gave me my life back. I wish I could meet the people who developed it so I could thank them in person. I would have probably ended up in a mental institution if not for this drug. I shudder to think what my life would have been like without it. About the only limitations is that I can't take Pepto Bismal because it makes it so I can't absorb the medicine and I have to wait several hours to take diatomaceous earth as it also absorbs it and makes me feel like I missed a dose. Other than that it's been great and I have not had any serious side effects. I highly recommend it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Laura D | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/18/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has worked wonders for me. I learned the hard way that I can’t take it after I eat tho or I get the vinegar and baking soda volcano effect. Just a head up for anyone who experiences what feels like intense heartburn followed by vomiting after taking this medication but can’t figure out why

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
noname85375543 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/16/2022
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this medicine 3 years ago, I was put on it for OCD I thought it was helping me and it was the best thing for me. I felt the same as I did before but I thought it was helping me internally even if I didn't notice it. I also have been having daily headaches for 6-7 years and have been to a neurologist and had every test in the book and nothing ever shows up. Suddenly, It hit me that it might be this medication. I realized that I had almost all of the side effects especially the decreased sleeping, loss of appetite, no sexual desire, not being able to reach an orgasm or maintain it, the HEADACHES, depression, and the list just goes on and on. at this point, I was done I was angry and I just quit taking the medication completely, within 1 week I feel better than I ever have before. no depression, barely any headaches, way better sleep, sexual desire is through the roof, I feel amazing. I feel like I have my life back, this medicine has stolen 3 years of my life from me where I felt nothing but numbnes and I feel amazing now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lizzy | 55-64 | Other | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/3/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been having migraines daily X 5-6 months. I've been taking this med for the same length of time. Now I'm beginning to think it's the medication itself. I am beginning to taper off. I'll keep you posted.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JessC | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/15/2022
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication gave me my life back after severe postpartum depression, and has continued to help me manage my OCD. It's not magical... the obsessions and intrusive thoughts are still there. But they're greatly reduced in frequency and intensity, so that I can actually function. I'm so grateful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
coral | 55-64 | Female | Patient
3/8/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within 20 minutes of taking my first pill of this I felt as if I had been poisoned. It's now several hours later and I'm feeling desperately sick in my stomach and intestines. I can barely move and almost feel paralyzed. I pray this leaves my system soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gold | 35-44 | Other | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/6/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bad side effects ended up in hospital, broke out in a rash on my armpits, knees and groin. I was hallucinating, thought I could fly. Thought I was flying. Terrible nightmares, sweats.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mahmoud | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2021
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's very effective for treating OCD

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/21/2020
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on this medication to help with my anxiety and panic attacks and I noticed no change at all. I guess it's a comfort to know I'm taking something that's SUPPOSED to help, but at the end of the day it doesn't.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/11/2020
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered from OCD my whole life and never went on medication because it wasn't ever very bad. Suddenly it became very intense and I was unable to leave the house. I went on just a little of this medication and not only was back to myself before the medication, but better than I have been in my whole life (I think). Within weeks, I felt motivated to work, able to leave my house, and my intrusive thoughts eased up enough to be able to discuss them in therapy. It was not a cure-all and I still had to do a lot of work in therapy, but this medication allowed me to do so. I had severe nausea for about six weeks, though. But I would do it again for the benefits that this medication has given me. I have my life back!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ra | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/24/2019
Condition: Binge Eating Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After starting treatment with Fluvoxamine my condition got better. My appetite became stable and my obsessive condition became manageable.After starting treatment with Fluvoxamine my condition got better. My appetite became stable and my obsessive condition became manageable. I would definitely recommend this to other people plagued with psychological disorders.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mag | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/4/2019
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Shortly after being put on Luvox, I had some side effects which included wild mood swings, paranoia, suicidal thoughts. I would just start crying for no reason. Or I would get really hyper, boiling with rage, and sometimes a bit paranoid. It's probably one of those rare side effects, but this stuff didn't agree with me at all. Works great for my brother though. Thankfully, after a visit to the psych ward, I am off this poison and on some meds that actually agree with me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
XxA | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/19/2018
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within 1 day I feel my depression/anxiety gone. Felt nausea and loss of appetite at first but now I am eating so much more! Food is more tasty. Some emotional blunting though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bshamp | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/5/2018
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from depression, axiety, ocd and picking. Since taking this medicine (13 yrs) it has helped tremendously. This year I had to up my dose by 50 mg and OMG could notice the difference by day 2. The reason for the extra dose was because I was tired all the time no matter how much sleep I got. So my Doctor and I decided to try a little more and it has worked. So thankful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WSam | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/13/2018
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for over 20 years for OCD. I've tried one other medication postpartum, but once I was able to get back on this I did immediately. This is a tried-and-true for me! If they ever stop making it I will have to stockpile it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/4/2017
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/29/2017
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Most effective medication I have tried so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vestar | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/20/2016
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking it for around 4years. There hasn't been a slight change in my lips/cuticles picking disorder.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Repeat | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/9/2016
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works very well for almost everything related to OCD.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More