Skip to content

    Allergies Health Center

    Select An Article

    6 Tips to Tame Your Wheat Allergy

    Font Size
    A
    A
    A

    It can be a challenge to avoid wheat because it’s in so many things. The first step is to know where you're likely to find wheat and what you can substitute for it.

    1. Check Your Pantry

    Foods with wheat protein include:

    • Bran
    • Bread crumbs
    • Bulgur
    • Couscous
    • Durum, durum flour, and durum wheat
    • Einkorn
    • Farina
    • Farro (also known as emmer)
    • Kamut
    • Semolina
    • Sprouted wheat
    • Triticale
    • Wheat (bran, germ, gluten, grass, malt, starch)
    • Wheat berries
    • Wheat flour (all types, including all-purpose, cake, enriched, graham, high protein or high gluten, and pastry)

    2. Ask Your Waiter

    At restaurants, ask your server whether a dish has wheat or wheat products in it. These foods often do:

    • Acker meal
    • Ale and beer
    • Baking mixes
    • Baked goods, including cookies, cakes, and crackers
    • Breaded and batter-fried foods
    • Cereals
    • Hot dogs and processed meats
    • Ice cream
    • Salad dressing
    • Pasta
    • Sauces and soups
    • Soy sauce
    • Surimi (mock crab meat)

    3. Decode Labels for Ingredients With Wheat

    If you see any of these listed on a label, the food may have wheat in it:

    • Gelatinized starch
    • Gluten or vital gluten
    • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein
    • Natural flavoring
    • Starch, modified starch, modified food starch
    • Vegetable gum or starch

    4. Ask your doctor about other grains.

    You may be allergic to some other grains, too. Gluten, one of the wheat proteins that can cause a reaction, is also in barley, rye, and oats. Your doctor can let you know if they are safe for you to eat.

    5. Bake with other flours.

    Try rice flour, potato starch flour, corn flour, or soy flour instead. Check online to see what flours work well as substitutes. Experiment to find the one that gives you the best texture.

    6. Think outside the kitchen.

    Wreaths and garlands may include wheat or wheat products as decorations. Some children's play dough also has wheat in it. Other non-food items may, too. You’re not going to eat them, obviously, but ask your doctor if you need to avoid touching them.

    WebMD Medical Reference

    Reviewed by David T. Derrer, MD on December 05, 2014
    Next Article:

    Today on WebMD

    man blowing nose
    Make these tweaks to your diet, home, and lifestyle.
    Allergy capsule
    Breathe easier with these products.
     
    cat on couch
    Live in harmony with your cat or dog.
    Woman sneezing with tissue in meadow
    Which ones affect you?
     

    blowing nose
    Article
    woman with sore throat
    Article
     
    lone star tick
    Slideshow
    Woman blowing nose
    Slideshow
     

    Send yourself a link to download the app.

    Loading ...

    Please wait...

    This feature is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later.

    Thanks!

    Now check your email account on your mobile phone to download your new app.

    cat lying on shelf
    Article
    Allergy prick test
    VIDEO
     
    Man sneezing into tissue
    Assessment
    Woman holding feather duster up to face, twitching
    Quiz