Are you on a gluten-free diet? Regular breads, bagels, muffins, and many other store-bought baked goods are not allowed on gluten-free eating plans.
Here's what you need to know before you buy gluten-free grain products or bake them at home.
Avoiding all foods with wheat, barley, rye, triticale (a wheat-rye cross), or oats. Oats may later be gradually reintroduced into the diet.
Avoiding beer unless it is gluten-free. Beers with and without alcohol, including lagers, ales, and stouts, contain gluten unless the label specifically says that the beer is gluten-free.
Eating meals that include rice, corn, millet, and buckwheat.
You may also be advised to temporarily avoid milk or milk products until your intestine heals. Then you may be able to gradually reintroduce them.
For more information about following a gluten-free diet, see Home Treatment.
If you have nutritional deficiencies, you may need other treatments, such as vitamin, iron, and calciumsupplements.
Treatment for complications varies depending on the specific problems and their severity. For example, some adults may require long-term treatment for complications, such as osteoporosis.
When a gluten-free diet doesn't seem to help
If it seems that you or your child is not getting better, you may need:
A diet evaluation to ensure that it is gluten-free. Your doctor or dietitian can help you find out if you are eating foods with hidden gluten. Older children and teens may need to be reminded about the importance of staying with the diet.