It is possible that the main title of the report Celiac Disease is not the name you expected. Please check the synonyms listing to find the alternate name(s) and disorder subdivision(s) covered by this report.
Avoiding all foods that contain wheat, rye, and
barley gluten. Bread, bagels, pasta, pizza, malted breakfast cereals, and
crackers are all examples of foods that contain gluten. Although some foods are
labeled wheat-free, this does not mean that they are
Avoiding oats, at least initially. Oats may cause
symptoms in some people, perhaps as a result of contamination with wheat,
barley, or rye during processing. But many people who have celiac disease can
eat moderate amounts of oats without having symptoms.
Health professionals vary in their long-term recommendations regarding eating
foods with oats. But most agree it is best that people newly diagnosed with
celiac disease not eat oats until the condition is well controlled with a
gluten-free diet. Then, up to
2 oz (50 g) of oats may be
eaten daily as long as no new symptoms arise. You
should eat only oats known not to be contaminated by wheat, barley, or rye
Avoiding or limiting milk products in the
beginning of treatment if they cause or aggravate symptoms. After symptoms
improve and the small intestine heals (about 1 to 6 months), you may be able to
gradually reintroduce milk products into your diet.
Avoiding all beer products unless they say they are gluten-free. Beers
with and without alcohol, including lagers, ales, and stouts, contain gluten unless they specifically say they are gluten-free.
Reading ingredient labels carefully and being aware of
hidden gluten. Gluten can be in things like medicines,
vitamins and other nutritional supplements, lipstick and lip balm, and various
food additives. Products whose labels have the phrase "modified food starch" or
"hydrolyzed vegetable protein" may contain gluten.
On a gluten-free diet, you can still have:
Eggs and dairy products such as cheese. But you
may need to avoid milk and milk products at the beginning of
treatment. And some processed cheeses contain gluten.
Flours and foods made with amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn, flax, millet, potatoes, quinoa, rice, sorghum, soybeans, tapioca, or teff.
Fresh, frozen, and canned meats.
Read labels for additives that may contain gluten.
dried, or canned fruits and vegetables if they do not contain thickening agents
or other additives containing gluten.
Certain alcoholic beverages,
including wine, liquor (including whiskey and brandy), liqueurs, and ciders.
Primary Medical Reviewer
Susan C. Kim, MD - Pediatrics
Specialist Medical Reviewer
Jerry S. Trier, MD - Gastroenterology
June 18, 2010
WebMD Medical Reference from Healthwise
June 18, 2010
This information is not intended to replace the advice of a doctor.
Healthwise disclaims any liability for the decisions you make based on this